We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must be on everyone's wish-list”
Review of Hotel Miramare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Miramare
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Must be on everyone's wish-list”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It's the first time my daughters & I visited Positano. When we arrived, it was like being transported into a story book it is so beautiful!! Although our stay was short, we were so well looked after by Rosita and the rest of the staff who were so warm & friendly & made sure we wanted for nothing. Enough can't be said of Rosita - she is the warmest, most giving lady I've ever met in an hotel. The hotel has this kind of laid back, uncomplicated feel to it, very fitting for the town. We had the most amazing triple room with balcony & gorgeous panoramic views over the cove & Med (room 209) - the 3 of us did not feel at all cramped. Wifi is free & can be a bit weak but works if you sit out on the balcony. Enough has been said about the stairs, just be prepared!! I would definitely recommend Miramare hotel & cant wait to get the opportunity to go back with my husband.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    90
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
64
477
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Positano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The whole of Positano seems to be switched on, it is clean and tidy, all the people are 110% professional, it is like they must have a great coach as they are certainly playing on the winning team.
Who in there right mind would build on steep hill almost as steep as a cliff, yes there are a lot of steps but this pert of the. Town.
Hotel Miramere is a big part of this town, beautifully presented, exceptionally clean and the minute you walk through the front door Rosieta's smile and loving nature makes you feel like you have just arrived home.

Classy Hotel in a Classy Town.

Great time, great weather, great food, great Hotel, great experience.

Just plain great!

Room Tip: Ensure you ring just before you arrive so the Porter can help you with your bags down the ???? Steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positano, Itlay
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I cannot brag enough on our experience in Positano June 26 - July 2, 2012. Hotel Miramare was absolutely breathtaking. Rosita wasn't working the afternoon we arrived but when we met her the next day, she welcomed us with open arms, as if we were family! She immediately arranged our day trip to Capri and another 2 hour boat trip on their private boat. I highly recommend this hotel. The entire management team was so hospitable and helpful.
It was very hot during our stay and luckily, Miramare's sister hotel La Pallazzo had a pool we were able to use. We met many great people and enjoyed my favorite local white wine each evening. Thanks to all for a memorable vacation. Please though...be ready for many, many, many steps!!!! :))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallySC310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed in an amazing room for three on the main floor of the hotel. The room had a large living area (with an alcove that had a sofa/bed for our daughter), a beautiful room with a large bed for my husband and I, and a wonderful balcony that fits four comfortably and has spectacular views. When the staff member showed us our room and opened the door for the first time we all gasped. It was huge, beautiful and had a view straight through to the balcony. Amazing! The staff was great, especially Rosita, breakfasts were bountiful and served in a sunroom with more spectacular views and lots of beautiful Boganvilla, and the hotel location was central - about halfway up the hill between the main road and the main part of Positano. There are a lot of steep stairs everywhere in this town, so it is not for the weak or tired. We had a hard time even finding the hotel and finally stopped at the Hotel Posiden to ask for help. The man there said we were at the right place, to park our car across the street, and he would call someone from Miramare to meet us. It turns out the hotel is down a narrow set of stairs and then a pathway across from the Posiden, and a staff memeber came and helped us park (very limited parking area) and bring our luggage down. A slightly odd beginning to an absolutely fabulous stay. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The moment you step into this special boutique hotel in wonderful Positano you don't want to leave. We were upgraded to "room 210" which had a large private terrace with unbelievable views over the Amalfi coast. The bathroom even had a shower with floor to ceiling window so that you can soak in more views. The hotel is ideally situated between the city street above and the beach below. Sure there are a few steps, but how else do expect to be rewarded with such views. However, the best part about this hotel has to be Rosita and her team who are warm and welcoming. They provided free beach towels, complimentary boat trip along the coast where you get to swim inside a cave, as well as great local recommendations. Among our favourite eateries are Guarracino along the way to Spiaggia di Fornillo beach, Cafe Positano and La Tagliata. Oh, and another tip. Hire a convertible car from Naples and set yourself for one of the best coastal rides in the world to Positano. If you are thirsty, just stop at the many Limoncella stands along the way.

Room Tip: room 210 has the biggest private terrace, best views, as well as shower with floor to ceiling window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in room 207. This is next to the reception but there was no issue with noise. Many reviewers mention the view and it is hard to do it justice in words. What I loved was not just how beautiful it was but because it is the beach and the harbour there is so much going on all the time. Our balcony was wonderfully spacious so fantastic for relaxing and enjoying the view. The hotel location is great not just for the view but also for convenience to everything in Positano (everything about the steps has already been said).

I wouldn't call this a boutique hotel as some other reviewers have. It is more traditional than your typical boutique hotel. Our bedroom was spacious and lovely. Other reviewers have commented on the great bathrooms. I would say only that ours was adequate. It was an internal bathroom which I am never a fan of and it was also a shower over the bath with a shower curtain which didn't feel very "boutique".

The free boat trip was great so I would recommend doing that.

The breakfast was good but not exceptional.

The service provided by the hotel staff (Nicola and Rosita) was exceptionally good. It is true that Rosita seems to be able to get the best table anywhere. We had two very good meals at Caffe Positano. We also ate at the restaurant at Palazzo Murat. This was an exceptional experience in terms of the location, the food and the service. It was our best meal by far (and we ate well all week!). It was also our most expensive but I still considered it good value especially with 10% off the bill because it is sister hotel to the Miramare.

I would consider this hotel expensive for what it is if it didn't have the view but it does and that is what you are paying for. As far as I was concerned it was worth it. I found it very hard to leave this place (Positano and the Miramare) - I don't normally feel like that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel Miramare was perfect. Positano was amazing. The only time we needed a vehicle was from the airport. Walked to all restaurants, all delicious. Our luggage didn't make our connection to Italy for a few days, but the hotel was so helpful in tracking it down for us and getting whatever we needed in the meantime. It was eventually delivered to our room through our personal persistance with the airline, as well as hotel cooperation. Tons of local stores were in walking distance for shopping, lots of lemoncillo around!

The hotel reserves seats on a small boat for guests to get a tour of the area, I recommend taking advantage of this opportunity.

The front desk at Miramare is unlike any other service I have experienced. The hotel is smaller, so the service is more intimate. Please take advantage of their help, expertise and friendliness, especially on where to eat or not to eat. (most of the better food we ate tended to not be right on the water, but rather over looking the water)

Our room was beautiful. It had a small balcony overlooking the water with gorgeous flowers all around and seating on the balcony. I miss that room.

The morning breakfast was delicious in a beautiful atmosphere over looking the sea and coast.

**We also booked at day at "Mama Agata's Cooking School - Amalfi Coast" located in Ravello. If you ever take any trip advice from anyone, PLEASE take this.. Book it!! This cooking experience was one of those memories I will hold forever. The people are amazing and so entertaining.. You get to help cook, learn new tips, and eat and drink for hours! The price is worth it, as is the cab or ferry fares to get there!

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramare

Property: Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Trara Genoino 29, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#8 Family Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Miramare (rated four stars) is located in one of the world's most beautiful bays,which offers a combination of undisturbed relax and incomparable scenery.The historic centre of Positano and the main beach are just a short walk away. Hotel Miramare is well known for its excellent staff and for its panoramic breakfast room overlooking the bay. The spacious and comfortable drawing rooms and bar assure an enchanting and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing