We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gorgeous view ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location & just a short walk from all the restaurants & shops.
Staff were really friendly & helpful.
Parking on site.
Nice breakfast - delicious fresh fruit salad.
Good AC & shower but the hair dryer was rubbish & took ages to dry my hair - I know this is a first world problem but I was wasting valuable drinking time!
We stayed in room 203 - stunning view & got to enjoy the evening sun on the balcony & didn't over look anyone & we were over looked by anyone else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank kemartin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    55
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
novato, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I chose this hotel based upon the mostly excellent reviews on tripadvisor along with the sharing of facilities that it touts with it's sister hotel, covo dei saraceni. I contacted the hotel a number of times by email before arriving asking (i) was a suite available (No), and (ii) noting it was our anniversary so it would be a special stay and could we please have our deluxe room on a higher floor. when we arrived at the hotel, the person at the front desk came running out of the hotel telling us we couldn't park in the parking lot not realizing we were newly arriving guests (the door/entranceway to the hotel is very small and non-obvious when you first get there). strike 1 against l'ancora. once I explained I was a guest there we were checked in but there was no mention of the anniversary which was disappointing. imagine how completely thrilled we would have been by the hotel having put a complimentary bottle of prosecco or white wine in our room. but there was nothing there. so strike 2 against l'ancora. then the room we were given was exactly the opposite of what I had asked for. it was all the way down at the bottom of the hotel. if the person at the desk had done their homework and reviewed my request via email, she would have known to at least offer that a higher floor room might be coming available in the next day or two (we stayed four nights) and they could move us to accommodate my request. strike 3 against l'ancora.....there were also some odd features to our room like the shower: it was really a Jacuzzi tub where you had an extending shower nozzle but had to sit down to take a real shower. another point on the poor service given I had informed them about our anniversary: they made no suggestions on nice, romantic places to go while we were there. this very helpful information was given to us by the front desk woman up the street at the Marincanto when we stopped in to look at the view/restaurant there. when we told her it was our anniversary, she said you must go and have a drink at the Hotel San Pietro a couple of kilometers down the coast and she showed us the views on her computer. finally, one of the points they make on their website is their link with the full service sister hotel, Covo dei Saraceni. I mistakenly thought this meant we had access to the pool there as well. I was told that you need to call ahead to make a reservation and that it's always the case that the sister hotel has to service it's clients first (understandable but a bit irritating to be made to feel like second class citizens for asking as occurred when we inquired at Covo). one other thing, one day when we were out most of the day, we got back and our room had not been cleaned up. they had to call us at 4.30 to see if it was convenient to clean up then. how could they not have noticed we were out since we always left the bulky key at the front desk (and no we didn't leave the "do not disturb" sign on the door). also, they should provide a complimentary bottle of water every day in the room. they do not, unfortunately. all in all, the shoddy service they provide needs to be significantly improved for the prices they charge.

was anything good at L'Ancora? the room was large and quiet but as I said above, it was on the bottom floor and our view was diminished by the large white roof we looked out onto. they had nice orchid's in the room. the bathroom was large if impractical because of the Jacuzzi with no real shower. the room was quiet and it had a nice high vaulted ceiling. we really liked Michele, the waiter in the breakfast room.

all in all, for $500+/night a good deal more was expected and required from beginning to end. I would have preferred to pay more for a full service hotel like Hotel Marincanto or Palazzo Murat than stay at L'Ancora. we will return to positano, but not to L'Ancora.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

best views in positano, easy to get to.
great value, breakfast was nice. staff were nice
there was no issue with noise as its above the stairs and not close to any bars. only issue is its a 10 minute walk to da vincenzo, but rest of the restaurants are close by.

Air con was really good, internet fast.


would stay there again anyday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markperthmarkperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Right next door to Le Sireneuse at a fraction of the price. The staff (especially Eleonora and Vittiolo) were tremendous to us. L'Ancora is a boutique hotel with EXCEPTIONAL views. The breakfast patio is a lovely way to start your day with a large selection of continental breakfast items. The hotel is in the heart of Positano....all just a short walk away from the best shops and restaurants. No pool or restaurant, but we didn't come to Positano to laze poolside (we do that at home). We look forward to returning soon and highly recommend L'Ancora!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfglistens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel! Family suite was perfect! No pool or restaurant but was no concern for us. Walking distance to everything ... Beach, shopping and restaurants! Views were simply amazing! Staff was helpful! If you are going I would recommend this simple yet wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank VSWATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We got placed here for a night after our hotel lost our reservation. THIS hotel saved the day! The room was beautiful with a picture perfect view from balcony. Was not disappointed to hotel hop for one night. We could have stayed here the entire trip and been very happy! All, in all, we were able to experience 2 amazing hotels in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raybola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Overall, this was a great hotel. We loved our room (suite) and had the most amazing view. It was ultimate romance!
The ladies on the front desk were so helpful and organised so much for us. We had a problem with the sink when we arrived and our jacuzzi broke too, but they immediately got someone out to fix it.
The breakfast was the standard continental but it was good too.

For the price of the room, I would expect more assistance with the bags from the ferry. This maybe a one off, but there were no porters available and we had to carry them upstairs and slopes so I arrived exhausted and sweaty!

Side note (and no reflection on the hotel): don't go with their Pompeii tour guide, there are much better out there!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marincanto
Hotel Marincanto
#12 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing