We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ancora
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very good location on mountain top facing the ocean with a spectacular view of the town.
Fifteen minute walk down hill to the beach through shopping areas.
Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and very contemporary in design, Balcony is large with an amazing view. Staff is warm, friendly & spoke excellent English. Domenico was the star at reception. Breakfast was very good .
We were very lucky to have an availability to upgrade to this room for 80 extra Euros per day , since CIT Tours have booked us a very poorly located room that faces a wall instead of the ocean and adjacent to the noisy breakfast room !

Room Tip: Stay away from the room(s) with wall view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    51
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
128
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Right next door to the famed Le Sirenuse in Positano, Hotel Ancora has the same views without the pretentious staff for one third the price. My husband & I stayed in a large room with a lovely bath and a large balcony with breathtaking views of the Tyrrhenian Sea. The staff was warm and friendly, especially Anna, and eager to offer restaurant recommendations. The hotel has its own little parking lot, a real plus in a town where parking is difficult at best. A great selection of breakfast food is served every morning by a smiling waiter who made the best cappuccino I have ever tasted. A great place to stay that I would definitely return to.

Room Tip: Reception is on the ground level with rooms below. Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Spent 4 nights here and loved the views, the helpful staff (especially Domenico), and the location. They helped arrange transportation to and from Naples train station. Helped with bus schedules from town to town. Offered breakfast.

Was really a great choice and i know this because my wife wanted to cry when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights on our first visit to Positano and the Amalfi Coast and absolutely loved it. The hotel was very clean, comfortable and well presented. I would have been happy to sit on the balcony for three days and look at the views!! Breakfast was great, with a large selection of foods, and the staff were more the helpful with travel plans and recommendations. We would definitely stay again if we visit Positano.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank arnica84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very well located,please take into account that in Positano most of the hotels are up on the hill and therefore far away from the center and the beach.
Very serviceable staff,specially Anna at reception,always trying to help and offering a smile to you.
Fantastic view from the terrace of the room,located in floor -3 ( reeception is on ground floor and all the rooms under it ).
Hotel has its own parking,important because you cannot park easily in the city.
10 minutes away from the beach , shopping and restaurant area , very important in Positano.
Excellent breakfast in a lovely room,the waiter in his uniform ressembles to a doctor on duty.
Wonderful hotel to fall in love with the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful views and white crisp interior is the way to describe Hotel Ancora in Positano, Italy!
A warm and friendly environment with a perfect location. Easy access to shops and the heart of Positano down to the beach. Nestled into the steep hillside and right next to other hotels, shops and cafe's. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating, breakfast tasty and made to order if desired. Dominic is an asset to this hotel as he is very knowledgeable and accommodating.
We loved Hotel Ancora in Positano, Italy!

Room Tip: All of our family's rooms were nice and similar . Next time if we make our reservations earlie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acbante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The staff were very friendly escpecially young Dominic on the morning shift.
Free parking, great location and very comfortable beds. We book a superior room with balocny overlooking Positano. Gorgeous room and very nice breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 208 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#23 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#30 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ancora

Property: Hotel Ancora
Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 36, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ancora 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing