We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ancora
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Marincanto(Positano)(Great Value!)
$418
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Gabrisa(Positano)(Great Value!)
$415
$350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$325
$304
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Hotel Poseidon(Positano)
$348
$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
$393
$313
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$810
$775
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$663
$629
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posa Posa(Positano)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
170
64
16
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
64
16
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelhot tubjunior suite roommain town centerabsolutely amazing hotelbeautiful mediterranean seawould return to this hotelbreakfast was includedamalfi coastshort walk to the beachspa bathturn down servicerooms are spaciousan amazing viewlounge arearestaurant stafffront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 260 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The view is just magnificent and, I think, great value for the price. We had a room with a very spacious balcony, complete with sun loungers, looking straight down to the sea, the beach, the church and the town (which looked amazing at night with all the twinkling lights). We had breakfast served on our balcony each morning and it was delicious, served with linen and fine china. The room itself was lovely and spacious with some beautiful furniture, very bright and airy - it was lovely to sleep with the windows open and listen to the sea. The bathroom was large and also looked out to the water. It is a short walk to everything - to restaurants, down to the waterfront and the little streets of interesting shops and if you don't feel like walking back up the hill to the hotel, the regular local shuttle will drop you right at the door. It is also very close to the bus stop for the buses travelling round the Amalfi coast - be like a local; and the view is spectacular. The staff are fantastic. All that we came across were genuinely friendly - from Anna on the desk, who made sure we went to right place to catch the bus to Amalfi, to Pina who kept our room beautifully. The young guy who was also on the desk was friendly and helpful, coming down to our room to help us when we couldn't get the video to play in English! I will definitely stay here again - loved the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the Ancora for 4 nights and was pleased with my stay. I had a superior room, it was nice and quite large, and the terrace and view outstanding! As many other posters have stated, the hotel has the same view as the Sirenuse for a fraction of the price. Our room did not have a shower, just a tub with a hand held shower. I was not expecting this, so just be aware as this may bother some people. If you are looking for a nice hotel without a pool, I highly recommend this place. Yes, there are more upscale properties in Positano, but the Ancora is a good value with an excellent location. Close to the center, bus stops and many stores and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.
The breakfast buffet had good variety, and there was great service throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KosmoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Absolutely lovely 4-night stay here. The room was beautiful and very clean (they cleaned multiple times a day!). We had a gorgeous view of Positano and the beach. The staff was unbelievable - incredibly helpful and pleasant. Anna made us impromptu reservations for a late lunch at their sister hotel, and even though they were no longer serving food, we were taken to a lovely table by the pool overlooking the beach and served a fabulous meal, thanks to Anna's coercing. ;) The only downside to this wonderful little hotel was the WiFi. It was very spotty and hard to connect to. However, being in Positano kept us occupied and with the helpful staff, we didn't feel the need to get online.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mokie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great value if you are looking for views and service. The room was clean, nice size and the views were outstanding. Next door to one of the higher priced hotels in the area so u get the same view, great service and friendly staff for half the cost. We enjoyed the room so much we snacked on cheese and meats from a store just a few blocks always. Picked up a couple of bottles of vino and then ordered cafe at midnight from room service. It was were the best coffee of our trip and it was serviced with smile and fast. Come to relax and enjoy. One of our friends were located on the top floor and while their room was winderful their balcony was below an a/c or some motor that was loud when it started up or stopped. They still enjoyed the view. Recommend asking for room on at least the second or third level down. Breakfast is on lowest level and was well stocked with fresh coffee and a friendly staff that cooked eggs to order along with fresh fuirt and standard breakfast buffet fair. Parking is available and it's close enough to shops and the beach that u can park and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelonisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Located adjacent to the Le Sirenuse Hotel and sharing the same fabulous view of Positano, Hotel Ancora is a sparkling gem without the high price of it's 5 star neighbor. Our jr suite, room #206, with a hot tub on the terrace (only 2 rooms in the hotel have hot tubs) was worth paying extra!!! It's terrace is the largest in the hotel which presented you the best view of the town, church and beach. Because the terrace was so large, (I would estimate that it was over 30' ((10 meters)) deep by 20'+ ((7 meters)) wide), it's view were ‪uncompromised‬. Not all rooms in the hotel have such a view! The hot tub was a wonderful plus and a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The terrace was such a pleasure that on a few days, we just spent the entire day on it enjoying the view and hot tub.

Each morning, for a few euro, we had our breakfast delivered to our terrace... the perfect way to start the day.

The hotel was very clean and well taken care of. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.

WiFi was free, but was only available in the lobby after obtaining a password. The room had an ethernet cable, however access to the internet was also by a password obtained in the lobby! Access only lasted an hour at a time, causing you to go back to the lobby to get a new password. For such a terrific hotel, this was unfortunate inconvenience when on a working vacation! However, it was the only problem we encountered.

Parking was free and at street level on what we discovered was the roof of the hotel. A very big plus in this town where parking is very limited and expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GWH-HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews