We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local food and wine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wine-dark house

Wine-dark house
Ranked #34 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Local food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This restaurant is in a kind of back alley of Positano. No great view, and the street is kind of a walkthrough. But the food here is great. Also, great service from the danish waitor. He explained all dishes and wines in detail. Another plus is they focus on local food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FloppyCopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    65
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Less than impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The setting of this restaurant is beautiful in a little piazza in town with great soft night lighting. The food was only okay and the service less friendly than other places in town. We were excited to go here after reading good reviews but it was one place we wished we had skipped.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

4 out of the 5 people in my family ordered the eggplant parmesan panini sandwich. It turned out that the Wine Dark House is famous for their sandwiches. We made sure not to leave Positano without more sandwiches for the train to Rome!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Golda18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wine, tasty food, reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We tried this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews and were pleased with our overall experience. The restaurant is located right off of a main walking traffic corridor heading to the beach, and the looks of the place scream lunch much more than dinner. The menu had very reasonable prices so we were "suspicious" as we sat down. However, we stayed and it was a great decision. The restaurant has only been in business for 2 years. This is part of the reason there are not many TA reviews. Another reason I suspect is that its location is in a somewhat back alley with a lot of foot traffic. Luckily you can't always tell a book by its cover. Our waiter was very helpful allowing us to sample a couple different wines before we selected one from a bit North of Napoli, which was outstanding. The seafood salad was great with a large selection of local fresh fishes and a few that were marinated. The fetuccine with meat sauce was absolutely delicious, flavored delicately with what appeared to be shallots. The spaghetti with meatballs was also a good selection with fresh homemade sauce - my wife and I both loved each dish. The mussel soup was wonderful as well - steamed mussels in a savory sauce (memory recalls tomatoes, wine sauce, with garlic and local spices) with bread for dipping. Desert was good as expected, but the chocolate and almond cake was nothing extraordinary. It was moist and well done, a nice compliment to our meal. The menu of this restaurant is not as large as some of the others we've eaten at, but everything was cooked impressively. Overall we recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent wine and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We sat down to order an ordinary Pinot Grigio, because we knew we would like it, but our waiter, Nicco told us he had much better wines! He had us taste two whites, one from north Naples and one from north of Salerno. Wow, both exceptional wines! Also had rigatoni with peppers and eggplant pasta and a fettuccine with a meat sauce, both, great pastas! Overall wonderful dining experience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine-dark house also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Wine-dark house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing