We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Barilotto Del Nonno
Ranked #10 of 54 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Our five-night stay was most enjoyable.
Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the sea.
Giovanni and his family (Rachele, Filippo, & Mario) were so personable, thoughtful, and attentive to our every need. Giovanni graciously drove us into Positano a couple of times and was very helpful in suggesting daily itineraries. He was warm and cheerful and always greeted us with a smile and good humour.
The restaurant terrace was lovely and again overlooked the sea. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, and dinners were delicious. We were also serenaded by Rachele and Mario making our experience truly unique.
We strongly recommend this hotel as a home base for visiting the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 284 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lets make it simple:

*The place is clean, beautiful and with an excellent location
*the family that runs the hotel lead by Giovanni makes it an excellent value for money, with a combination of hospitality, extremely useful tips regarding the area, excellent food at the hotel restaurant and most of all honesty and true caring for your well being and for you to have a successful vacation.

Of course Breakfast is good and you have a parking space (a rear thing in these areas),

If you want a place to remember, i highly recommend this one.

Except, price is good ;)

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the second floor, for a few extra euros you get an excellent upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gidi_yaniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I waited long time for this vacation and we were very happy with the hotel selection.
First of all, the hospitality was above and beyond. Mr Giovanni that runs the business with his nice family were very kind and friendly to us. They did their best to make us feel at home.
The hotel is located in a great spot for the ones who want to travel the Amalfi coast. The hotel even has few private parking lots, something that is not trivial in this area.
Mr Giovanni is very generous and gave us some rides to the village to avoid the parking issues there.
As for the food, the hotel has a great restaurant we enjoyed very much while sitting on the balcony with the great view of Positano area.
We would definitely recommend others to stay at Al Barilotto Del Nonno.
Ciao.
Gal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarcelonaOct2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a time we had in Positano. It was our first time there, but it is quite possibly my favourite place in the world and there is no doubt that the reason I fell in love with Positano was because of the people I met there – in particular the owner of Barilotto del Nonno: Giovanni and his family – Rachael, Mario, Philip and Massimo. They are the warmest, friendliest people I have ever met on my travels. We were treated, and felt like, family whilst we were there. I cried when we left because it was like leaving family behind - they were so wonderful and made our experience so special.

B&Bs were not on my travel agenda before this trip to Europe. However, upon reading TripAdvisor and the fantastic reviews about Barilotto del Nonno, I thought it would be fitting to stay in a homely rather than commercial hotel environment when visiting what once was a “fishing village”.

On arrival we were greeted with open arms by Giovanni, like he was seeing returning friends – yet it was the first time we’d laid eyes on each other. His enthusiasm for his beautiful hometown of Positano, the “pearl of Italy” is uplifting, his zest for life and the enjoyment he gets from making his guests happy is fantastic. He dropped us into town or the beach every day, gave us his number and told us to call when we were out and about if we needed him for anything at all.
Rachael and Mario serenaded us at dinner and breakfast with their wonderful singing. It was such a magical experience.

All I can say is thank-you to Giovanni, Rachael, Mario, Philip and Massimo.

Pros
- We had room 6 on the top level on the corner. It was a beautiful, clean, white, sunny and large room. Lots of storage space, a lovely bathroom and a large balcony with sun loungers and a beautiful ceramic table
- The view is to die for
- Sitting in the restaurant for breakfast or dinner you feel like you’re in a movie. It is lush and green with endless views of the azure water. Jut stunning
- We ate there 3 of the 6 nights we stayed in Positano because the food is excellent. On our last night they didn’t have what I wanted on the menu, but they wouldn’t hear of me changing my mind – they made me a special order

Cons
None. The centre of Positano is 20 – 30 minutes walk away. The best beach, Arienzo, is 15 minutes and a very steep set of many stairs away. But the distance is irrelevant as there is the local bus as well as the Sita bus, taxis and of course Giovanni to get you everywhere!

Oh, I just thought of a negative – leaving. I definitely did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Get a superior room. They are on the top level and have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eurofriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here a few nights and it was great. They really take care of you. Giovanni was very helpful, dropping us off in town, helping us pick a boat, and arranging transport to the airport.
I have allergies, so I really appreciated the nice, new and clean superior room. The view from room was great. It is about 3 KM from Positano, though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Giovanni and his family are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are great and have fantastic views. The food was very good with live entertainment from the whole staff. Giovanni help guide our daily activities and even drove us to Positano a few times to help us get started. Really a fantastic B&B run by a wonderful family. I see why so many keep returning to Al Bariloto del Nonno.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalem1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What makes a difference between a OK B&B and a great B&B is the host!!! And here, you have a GREAT B&B with Giovanni, Rachella and the rest of the family that are the warmest, friendly, authentic people. We stayed 4 nights in mid september. From the time we arrived at the bus stop in Positano where Giovanni was kind enough to come pick us up, to the moment we left, we were treated as part of the family. If you did not book to stay you have to go for supper. We ate there three nights (tried one evening at another restaurant in Positano and paid three times the price and were disapointed) and every night was just great "home made" real Italian food. You have to try the Bruschetta. Divine!!!!! Hard place to beat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the newest room with a large terrace with a great view of Praiano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 38 in Positano
805 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#23 of 38 in Positano
642 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Casa Nilde
B&B Casa Nilde
#13 of 54 in Positano
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Casa di Peppe Guest House & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Barilotto Del Nonno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Barilotto Del Nonno

Address: Via Laurito 13, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $237 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Barilotto Del Nonno 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Al Barilotto Del Nonno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing