We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Covo Dei Saraceni” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved Covo Dei Saraceni”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

Greated by Emanuela, gave us a tour of the hotel, took us to our beautiful jr. suite with a faboulous terrace. Beautiful pool, good breakfast in a sunny room with views of town and the sea. All we needed was a phone call away. Convenient location. Would stay there again...hope to very soon.

  • Liked — Beauty, location, service
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SiSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    200
    59
    24
    16
See reviews for
124
499
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel. The location is fabulous but the room is basic and has basic amenities. The second night we had ants. The hotel told us that was since the hotel was near the beach. I was unimpressed and this hotel should only have 3 stars.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We just came back form our trip to Italy. We stayed at The Covo for 4 nights. We had requested a room with a terrace but they did not have one. We are a family of four and our 2 children stayed with us in the room. We were more that willing to pay a higher price for any of the bigger rooms but they were unavailable. All that said the room itself was large enough to accomodate all of us, but it was so sparce. Very basic and beat up furnishings for what is considered a 5 star hotel. I would like to know who or what awarded the hotel the 5 stars.

The bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub but then the shower (as part of the tub) had an enclosure that looked like something from outer space (like a capsule). The balcony was tiny, had a table and two chairs no much room for anything else, including people. The view was beautiful and I liked being by the beach instead of higher up in town. It is where the action is and I loved being able to see the coming and going of the boats in the Pier.

The pool was great , that was very enjoyable, but the bathrooms by the pool were dirty and smelly. Break fast (included) was very good and lunch by the pool was excellent. Loved the pizza.

We did eat at the restaurant by the hotel it was OK nothing special.

If you want to stay by the beach this is your hotel, but do not expect luxury.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Too Spartan
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Wildarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

Covo gave us a great feel of Positano. It is the only hotel on the waterfront, so we saw life in the town up close and personal. Our room had a balcony overlooking the water and town. It was a great view - two little chairs and table where we watched the sun set every night. The room had a living area (sofa, table, chairs) and then a bedroom area with a TV and sheet curtains around the bed. The bathroom was very large for a European hotel. We had a bath/shower, lots of space, double sink. It was all very nice. Room is all white with tile - very positano. The hotel is likely one of the best in the area, but it is not a "pure luxury" hotel. It is small and family run and it feels that way, which we liked. Great area for pre-dinner cocktails. Staff was very, very friendly. Get to the pool early for chairs. The pool view is amazing! Nothing like a day at the pool, ordering cocktails and swimming while watching the ferry come and go. Expensive, but what isn't in Positano!

  • Liked — Location, pool
  • Disliked — Few luxury items
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2007

We have stayed in 5* hotels in Italy and throughout the world and so have come to expect a certain standard of accomodation. The brochure for this hotel shows bedrooms with lounge areas and hot tubs - our room. however, was small, pokey and basic. We asked to move but was told the hotel was full. My husband and I needed a traffic light system to move around the room at the same time. The complimentary toiletries consisted of a general shampoo/shower gel but no conditioner or body lotion. On 2 occasions the used toilet roll was not replaced. We asked for a sea view but only got a side sea view and were not informed of this by Citalia.
There may, indeed, be bedrooms more in keeping with a 5* rating but this is not acceptable to those given the poorer rooms.
Surely, a rating system should take into account the quality of ALL the rooms not just the most expensive otherwise the traveller would never know what to expect.

We were on half-board as this was all that was available through Citalia. I have stayed in wonderful 4* hotels in Italy on half-board where the "Menu del Giorno" was changed each day. This hotel's menu changed once in 7 days and so we ate off the a la carte most nights. This, to me, is the sign of a lazy chef.
Admittedly, the hotel has a wonderful position on the beach and it certainly charges 5* prices for its drinks (12 Euros for a ginger ale) but it needs to understand that more is expected of a 5* resort.

Simply printing 5 stars on its literature does not make it so.
I shall not be recommending this hotel as I feel it is vastly overpriced for what it is and I now am faced with another dilemma. How can I trust the rating system?

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Not value for money
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank senova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

We went to Positano to get married earlier this year and stayed at the Covo Dei Saraceni. It was the most amazing time and everything about the hotel was fantastic! The staff were helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble and the location on the beach made all the difference in a town where stairs are the order of the day! Every room has a sea view and we had a jacuzzi that looked out over the bay. The room itself was massive with a lounge area, four poster bed and multi jet shower. Not only would we recommend it but we will be going back again. The wedding itself was amazing and we had our reception at the Polazzo Morat courtyard restaurant which was gorgeous. I would also recommend 'Exclusive Italy' who organised the wedding for us. They were very reasonably priced and excellent to deal with. The only bad thing to report is BA who lost our luggage for 4 days and were useless!

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — The tiled floor got slippy when wet!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zippyngeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

My partner and I had the most amazing time at Positano. A large part of it was due to our choice of hotel - the amazing Covo dei Saraceni.

LOCATION
The hotel is located right next to the beach in the heart of Positano. Restaurants and shops are just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

ROOMS
We stayed in a junior suite with breathtaking views of Positano and the sea. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was beautifully decorated with mosaics on the walls. Everything that you expect from a 5 star hotel, you will find at the Covo dei Saraceni

SERVICE
The reception staff are excellent - friendly, professional and very helpful. When we asked a member of reception for directions to Capri, she gave us a map and clearly explained how we could get there. She also gave us copies of the bus and ferry schedules. With her clear directions, we arrived at Capri without any problem.

CLEANLINESS
The hotel is immaculately clean.

BREAKFAST
The breakfast buffet is delicious, from the pastries to cookies to fruit salad to muffins to croissants to eggs and bacon etc...The breakfast room also faces the sea, so you will definitely enjoy the view while you have your breakfast.

OTHERS
The hotel has a pool, which we did not try out. The hotel does not have its own private car park. But you can park in a nearby garage, which surprisingly does not rip you off and is less expensive than parking in London. Of course, this means you have to carry your luggage up and down the many stairs around Positano. But for 5 euros, you can call the Positano Porter who will take of your luggage for you.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. This is without question one of the best hotels that I have stayed in.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank hotelie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#12 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing