We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, but pricey!”
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful, but pricey!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Covo Dei Saraceni is a lovely restaurant right at the main beach of Positano. Its location is great and you can smoke at the outdoor tables. The food is excellent and staff are very good at making you feel special - there's even a couple who play the guitar, but it's more expensive than the rest of the restaurants around. We only went once then enjoyed the other restaurants with the same location and just as excellent food.

Room Tip: This is a review of the restaurant not the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    210
    59
    24
    17
See reviews for
127
520
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We were there for three days. Loved the location and the views looking up at town. The hotel food was delicious, especially their gelato pizza restaurant. The rooms were a great size and morning buffet was delicious. We would recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in August. We travel quite frequently and prefer to stay in luxury hotels.

Covo's location is fantastic especially if you are using the hotel as a home base to travel from. The ferry is literally right out the door. However, this may bother some people, because it is a busy, high traffic area. Unlike being higher up on the hill where it is quieter and more serene, this area feels a bit like Grand Central Station. That being said everything is a quick walk away.

We arrived at the hotel after a long international flight with a driver arranged by the hotel. He arrived a bit late to the airport which is annoying considering the price, but he was friendly and a safe driver. Be prepared though because you can't be dropped off AT the hotel. It's about a 10 min walk to get there. The porters do take your luggage for you (it was strange though b/c you drop it off and receive no luggage tag or anything). The hotel elevator (one was broken) is TINY. Neither my husband nor I felt comfortable in it and chose to do the stairs to our room.

The hotel staff were professional and kind. The only tiny thing was that when we asked for restaurant recommendations they suggested first restaurants at the hotel. That's such a pet peeve of mine. We did have the pizza from the hotel's outdoor cafe which was quite good and decently priced. The staff also set us up with a 1/2 boat rental (using the hotel boat) to cruise up the Amalfi coastline. It was fantastic. It is a bit pricey, but if they are not too busy, they will work with you. With one or two more couples, it would be a really special treat. Breakfast buffet is included in the room rate and this is really where the hotel started to lose points. The buffet was a 3* hotel quality at best. It was loaded with carbs and no real healthy options (well, except some fruit). No egg whites, no omelettes, no fresh juices, no skim milk, etc. Most (if not all) 5* hotels have a much better breakfast buffet.

We had a junior suite with a balcony (not a terrace). I don't think the terrace would have added much, but do go with a sea view and a balcony! It's worth it. The view was great (however, some people may be bothered by the ferry noise...we didn't mind at all). The room was quite large, but just lacked that luxury feel. The decor was sparse and cold feeling. The linens and towels were also of lower quality for a 5* hotel. The bathroom was a bit dark, quite dated, and had an odd Jetsons like shower. It was fine for us, but someone tall or overweight might feel very uncomfortable in it. You could also hear people loud and clear talking thru a vent in the bathroom. Although the hotel changed your towels at night, there was no turndown service or little chocolates which most 5* hotels have.

The hotel lacked a gym and the internet, although it was free, was quite spotty. The pool area is pretty darn fantastic especially for Positano where many hotels lack pools all together. However, the chairs are VERY close together and we happened to be there at a time with lots of children (and loud, annoying Americans....yes, I'm American too, but jeez, some people are just so rude!). Oddly, the TVs cut out around 2am (we like to watch TV late while on vacation).

If you are looking for a serene, high-end luxury hotel in Positano, this may not be the best choice. However, if you want a pretty darn good hotel with a great location for traveling around and getting to restaurants (try Max...it was deelish) and a pool with views, this is a pretty good deal without the price tag of the super high-end Positano properties.

Room Tip: Splurge on a seaview room with a balcony (a terrace probably doesn't add very much).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Great location , beautiful views . Rooms were very clean, bright and airy . Room # 19 and 20 had a very spacious balcony over looking the ocean and the village of positano . The hotel was very clean . The pool was on the 5th floor and it was beautiful . You faced the ocean and village . The staff at poolside were wonderful . Marco, Davide and Agusto were very nice and very attentive .
The bar area was gorgeous all white couches and spotless . The bartender Rosario was a very kind person , he really made us feel right at home, and provided excellent service. Valerio which also waited on us was excellent . I would come back to Covo again . As far location, cleanliness , friendliness and food it was a home run !! I can't wait to return to Covo .

Room Tip: Rooms 19 and 20 had a spacious and beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean and the village of Posita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place is AMAZING!!!! So quaint and transforms you to another world when you are there! The front desk staff was wonderful, and the evening pool bartender was so sweet! Even brought us two different types of lemonciello because the first ones we had were too strong. This is an older hotel but has all of the modern amenites you would need. The rooftop pool is amazing. Our view was amazing from our balcony...I don't think you could get a "bad" room here.
Positano itself is absolutely breathtaking. LOVE LOVE LOVE it and Covo Dei Saraceni was the icing on the cake!

**It is a little loud at night because of it's location right on the beach...if you do not want noise at all this could be a problem. We had no problem as the noise dies off the later it gets.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be great at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Now you're going to spend some money here, but it's just totally worth it. The rooms were fantastic, the food was spot on and the pool area amazing. Make sure you either get to the pool early to get a sunned or simply wait a little in the restaurant/bar and some will become available. All of it was worth the money

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seanhagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The location and the rooftop pool make this hotel for its price just about unbeatable.

However given these advantages the hotel clearly has over it's competition, means that in my opinion they have dropped the 5 star standard in other areas.

Service was hit and miss and seemed to have an 'uninterested' vibe most of the time from the front desk. On the contrary the main rooftop staff member was fantastic and very upbeat at all times.

The rooms were tidied twice daily but you would hardly know it - luckily we kept the room clean ourselves. As a brief synopsis of the rooms is that they just felt a bit dated as a whole.

On a positive for the rooms the shower is amazing and as big as some hotel rooms in Europe! It has 3 shower heads, a hand held shower head, overhead shower head and 6 jet like showers coming out from the wall at different levels.

I would definitely visit again purely based on location and the pool.



Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#20 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing