We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in an Amazing Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Covo Dei Saraceni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Covo Dei Saraceni
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in an Amazing Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. They made dinner reservations for us and helped us navigate our way through Positano. The location of the hotel is wonderful as your'e a close walk to everything. The views are also incredible. The pool area, while on the smaller side has breathtaking views. The breakfast in the morning is also AMAZING, Nutella donuts anyone? Our room was gorgeous, spacious and clean. The bathroom was huge and modern. My only complaint would be that our bathroom was against the next rooms bathroom so through the exhaust you could hear the other people if they were talking in their bathroom. I expected a little more privacy from a hotel of this caliber but again the pros absolutely out way that one con! Would definitely recommend it and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lzeledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    192
    58
    22
    16
See reviews for
121
469
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Italy and as part of the trip stayed 5 nights at "The Covo". We both found it to be truly wonderful and I just cannot believe there are 20 better hotels in Positano !!
The position is fabulous, the views amazing, the food great but above all the staff are fantastico !!
They have exactly the right blend of professional service mixed with a genuine friendly attitude, where nothing is too much trouble.
We have stayed in many supposedly "first class"hotels that just don't measure up to the "Covo" experience. We will definately be back. Thanks to everyone there for an exceptional time.

Room Tip: We had a "Classic" room on the second floor which had amazing beach and sea views and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilS14350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a 2wk trip around Italy. This hotel was one of the best. I'd booked a standard room and was pleasantly surprised to see a huge terrace overlooking the beach. Location is amazing, right on the beach. Many restaurants all around. As you head up the steps, the church and many shops are all around. Spotlessly clean, nice furnishings. Etro (Italian designer) bath products. Comfortable bed and good quality linens. Breakfast is included and features great variety, served in a glassed in dining room overlooking the water. Gorgeous pool on the 5th floor.

Highly recommend this hotel. Not cheap, but width every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for large terrace on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel, it's charming as are the people who staff it. Our room was fabulous but the view was simply and utterly stunning. The place isn't at all pretentious, it's comfortable from the pool to the restaurant, which by the way, is excellent. We didn't have to battle with the stairs and no request was too much trouble. I would stay here again in a heart beat, and am already planning a return trip. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Covo Dei Saraceni for five days during our honeymoon, and we could not have had a better experience. The staff were like family- even when we requested a 3:00 AM snack from room service after two flights, a train and a car ride to get to Positano.

We had a Junior Suite with a small balcony. The room was simple, airy and roomy and the bed was comfy. And the view from our balcony...well...this is one thing Pinterest won't mislead you on. Stunning? Gorgeous? Breathtaking? All of the above. And with all the bougainvillea, petunias and lemon trees, Positano even smells amazing.

I was in constant awe of the hotel and the town itself.

The staff at the hotel pool (and it's a heck of a pool), became our vacation buddies. David, one of the bartenders, was especially nice and had lots of recommendations for us. We will definitely be back one day. Thank you for an incredible experience.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a room with a view, definitely go for a Suite or Junior Suite. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, it is right on the water. It appeared to be the closest hotel to the water, which is great because it was not a 15 min hike from the beach back to the room. While it is true that you have to walk from the top of the hill down to the hotel, it was not that big of a deal to us. We did pay to have our large suitcases taken down to the hotel, but we carried our small suitcases ourselves. The hotel itself was great! The rooms were extremely clean and very comfortable. We had a suite with a hot tub on the patio outside and it was awesome! Also the complimentary bottle of prosseco was a nice touch as well. The pool was great! The service at the pool was friendly and helpful. We had lunch at the pool several times and the food was great! I strongly recommend the burger, it was fantastic. The included breakfast was really great, everything from the pastries to the eggs and bacon were delicious! Overall the hotel was expensive, but I would argue that it was worth every penny. This was by far our favorite hotel in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgoth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Service was terrific and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right on the Spiaggia so the locations is terrific. The property was very charming and the view over the bay lovely. Restaurants and bar facilities were very good. Only issue is that the hotel also had a lot of problems with WiFi so if being connected to the internet is critical to your stay then look to a place that has more reliable communications.
The hotel is not accessible by car so if climbing the stairs of Positano is a problem then you might want to consider a different hotel. Actually if stairs are a problem a different location might be in order as Positano is very vertical.

Room Tip: Higher the room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bitbanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#4 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Covo Dei Saraceni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Covo Dei Saraceni

Property: Covo Dei Saraceni
Address: Via Regina Giovanna, 5, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#12 Family Hotel in Positano
#16 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Covo Dei Saraceni 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Covo Dei Saraceni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Covo Dei Saraceni Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing