We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”
Review of Colle dell'Ara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colle dell'Ara
Ranked #13 of 49 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great spot high in the hills above Positano, views are spectacular. Brothers Pascual and Marco are excellent hosts made our stay very enjoyable. Recommend taking advantage of home cooked meal from local produce while there. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    21
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
147
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is one of those hidden gems your friends tell you about, or you see on TV, but you never seem to find ... well look no further.
The pictures are a true reflection of the views and are just breathtaking. I think all the rooms have a sea view, we had a balcony and could lie in bed looking out to the sea below - magical.
Rooms are very clean, comfortable bed, and breakfast (which is extensive) is served on the terrace. We stayed for two nights before traveling further down the coast, and wished we stayed for a couple nights longer.
Its my father's 60th next year and I'm sending my parents here, as they'll love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLondonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent our last two nights here after spending 3 night in Sorrento and then two night in Amalfi. Stunning location up the mountain passed Montepertuso, didn't know when we booked this that we had two top restaurants on our doorstep as well which was a bonus.
Future guests should be aware that Colle Dell'Ara is not on the roadside but instead there is a plaque on a rock with a buzzer underneath that says Colle dell'Ara station. Once you push the buzzer Pascual or his brother will come down and meet you, as previously mentioned they will then arrange for your luggage to be sent up by cable to your room. Once you have tackled the lovely walk through the woods just sit back and soak up the atmosphere and views it certainly made our holiday and was just the image you imagine when you think of the Amalfi coast and Positano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viry Chatillon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a wonderful time we had in Colle dell'ara ! The place is so great. The view is amazing. We did not meet Giacomo (he is studying in Milano) but Marco and Pascual. The brothers are so welcoming and attentive, trying to please you, and make you feel confortable. They are always available when you need them. They are preparing 4 new rooms in the second floor with a big terrace. I hope they will maintain the same spirit. The family story is very nice. The father had a small shop in Montepertuso. Marco and Pascual are studying in Rome. Pascual, political science Marco, cine, Giacomo, interior design in Milano. Above all, they take care of the B&B. We had a very nice dinner with the other tenants, Very good food made by the father, and nice company, very enjoyable. The room was very confortable and clean. Colle dell'ara is above Positano, near a small village called Montepertuso. There is a bus to take you there and to Positano. The access is trough the woods climbing for 10/15 mn, depending on your good shape. I want to thank Marco and Pascual for there attention. I will definitely come back to Colle dell'ara if I come back to the Amalfi coast. I warmly recommend Colle dell'ara.

Room Tip: Room 4 has sea and Positano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michka47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent five nights here recently, and it is unlike anywhere we have ever stayed before. Your luggage goes up on a cable lift while you scramble about 200m up a vertiginous hillside to reach the house with a breathtaking view out over Positano and the sea. Don't be deterred by the climb: we are both in our seventies and managed it with ease twice a day. The room is large and light with a spacious bathroom and its own balcony. The three brothers who run the place are charming and helpful, and dinner can be had on request. If you have a car there is a small parking area on the road, and that is where it should stay for the duration of your stay.There is a bus just about every hour into Positano and that is the best way to go: the fare is €1.20 if you buy the ticket in a shop or €1.60 on the bus. The drive is nerve-wracking and parking in Positano is about €3.00 per hour, if you can find it. The bus takes about twenty minutes and you wouldn't be able to drive it in that time. For dinner there is one restaurant a short walk away, and another that will send a car to pick you up- both well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluenoser53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Looking back on the four nights my wife and I spent at Colle dell'Ara in late September I simply can't imagine a better way to experience the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. In contrast to the five star hotels we stayed at during our time in Italy (Rome, Florence, Venice), this BnB really made us feel as though we were experiencing the cuture of the land and the graciousness of its people in a most authentic way. Between the location (high up the mountain overlooking Positano and incredibly beautiful), the service (Marco personally looked after us our entire stay - like having an extended Italian family member), and the food (that could only have been prepared with love and care) Colle dell'Ara was a totally immersive experience. After speaking with some local residents in town they too agreed that there is no better way to 'live' in Positano than above it all. Its rustic charm and somewhat remote excess makes this BnB feel private and exclusive - as if it was your own residence in the playground for the well-heeled. As a tip to those considering vising the area - we hired a private car service to drive us between Naples and the BnB and would highly recommend this as it eliminates the time and effort of getting to Positano. We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found the family that runs Colle dell'Ara to be one of the most welcoming hosts anywhere in Italy, and the food they provide, all sourced form their own gardens, is absolutely charming and delicious. We drove here which was a good thing as it looked like public transport was quite a mission. There was easy parking only 100m from their steps (note their steps are not near their door bell on the cliff... a trap for the uninitiated). Being the highest building in Positano the views are fairly well unparalleled, but there is a tradeoff in how long it takes to walk into town (and walking back up is only for the very fit, but the boys will happily sort you out for a very well priced taxi). The rooms are simple but perfectly adequate. Overall, loved this place :)

Room Tip: Would recommend going for the ones on the first floor above the dining hall for a bit more character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
1.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,413 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#3 of 49 in Positano
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday House Gilda
Holiday House Gilda
#2 of 49 in Positano
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colle dell'Ara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colle dell'Ara

Property: Colle dell'Ara
Address: Via Monsignor Vito Talamo | Buzzer on the Road 200 Meters Ahed la Tagliata Restaurant, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colle dell'ara is not a hotel. Staying with us, in our home, means treating yourself to a rare experience. We are in Positano, in the small village of Montepertuso, located just above this corner of paradise on the Amalfi Coast. The building is situated on top of the hill and can be reached on foot in 5-6 minutes through an ancient path, fully illuminated at night. We are Pasquale and Giacomo, who with the help of our father Michele, a few years ago we decided to undertake this activity which constantly is giving us the opportunity to convey to our guests our main passions for hospitality and good food. These passions, well-established in our coastal land and agriculture, allowing us to constantly reinvent the offer to our guests dedicated, basing it on availability and seasonality values. We host you in rooms equipped with private bathroom and balcony overlooking the sea of Positano between the islands of Capri and Li Galli. Each room has a large double bed (with the possibility of adding a single bed), and are equipped with linens, towels and toiletries. Free wi-fi connection is working in all our spaces. We provide you with keys for your independent access at every time. Upon your arrival you will find free parking slots along the road and we'll help you carry your luggage with a special pulling system. We will assist you from beginning, accompanying you throughout whole of your stay suggesting you the best local amenities including activities from ourselves offered. You will have here the opportunity to experience our land through different activities such us farming excursions and local cooking classes (events organized on reservation). We always include breakfast, different every day and based on availability of our gardens, or made by the breads and cakes that we daily prepare. The center of Positano is reachable by bus in 20 minutes or 35-40 minutes through a centuries-long staircase. For trekking lovers, our structure is directly related to the main paths of Monti Lattari and the most famous Walkpath of God. However, we are located at the center of several important location like Pompei, Capri, Amalfi, Ravello and Sorrento, reachable by ferry, bus or car. Nearby you will find shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Colle dell'Ara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing