We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spectacular views and wonderful staff”
Review of Colle dell'Ara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Colle dell'Ara
Ranked #12 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“spectacular views and wonderful staff”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found the family that runs Colle dell'Ara to be one of the most welcoming hosts anywhere in Italy, and the food they provide, all sourced form their own gardens, is absolutely charming and delicious. We drove here which was a good thing as it looked like public transport was quite a mission. There was easy parking only 100m from their steps (note their steps are not near their door bell on the cliff... a trap for the uninitiated). Being the highest building in Positano the views are fairly well unparalleled, but there is a tradeoff in how long it takes to walk into town (and walking back up is only for the very fit, but the boys will happily sort you out for a very well priced taxi). The rooms are simple but perfectly adequate. Overall, loved this place :)

Room Tip: Would recommend going for the ones on the first floor above the dining hall for a bit more character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    21
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
142
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The view is excellent, the room was nice and clean, and the dinner they made for us from their garden was our favorite of the entire trip (and we also went to Rome, Florence, and Venice). They have gardens all around the B&B and they make their own lemoncello. They also have access to a trail that goes all the way down to the beach (which is not for the faint of heart; it takes 45 minutes or so and is mostly down steps, but also you have to walk along the road for a while). It was a little difficult to get here from the Naples airport (a bus to Sorento, a 2nd bus to Positano, then a 3rd bus up the side of the mountain), but it was definitely worth it. You have to take a little hike from the road to get to your room (about 6 or 7 minutes), but we enjoyed walking through the woods, past a garden, then to the house where the view opens up and you can look down at Positano and the boats docked below. The only negative thing is that it is not handicap accessible. It was also interesting that even though it feels secluded, you can actually hear everything that is going on in the town below. The dogs barking, roosters crowing, and buses honking as they go around sharp corners. This was the most memorable place we stayed in Italy and we'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This BnB is the perfect place to unwind. It is a beautiful house and I had such lovely hosts (Pasquale and family) for my stay. I stayed here for 3 nights and would have been happy to just stay on the terrace. Positano and surrounds has lots to offer and although this house is a little further up the mountain (you will be required to catch the local bus!) - the view is absolutely a-mazing. October is their end of season, so it was a quieter than normal, but this was perfect for me. Pasquale attended to all my needs and questions and great recommendations for eating/sightseeing - I couldn't ask for anything more. My room had its own private balcony and housecleaning was done daily. I also met many fellow travellers at the BnB which made it the more merrier. Thank you Colle dell'Ara - I am in love with Positano because of my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yiu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After six nights at Colle Dell'ara, we didn't want to say goodbye. It was the perfect hilltop haven for our time on the Amalfi Coast.

You can't beat the views from the terrace or your balcony, looking out at the steep hillside over the town of Positano and the sea. The rooms are spotless, simple but tasteful, bathrooms large for European standards and the top floor balconies perfect for relaxing (only the top floor rooms have large furnished balconies).

The family owners were absolutely wonderful. From helping book tours or arranging transfers to the best local restaurants, to greeting you with a cold glass of homemade limoncello after a long day - their hospitality and friendliness was one of the highlights of our stay.

Sometimes home cooked dinners are offered - four courses and good quality local white wine - if both sons are at home to help out. I would definitely recommend accepting if the offer arises! The food was beautiful, using local produce, be it the best buffalo mozzarella I've ever tasted, to local fish or vegetables from their own garden.

One thing to bear in mind - you are not in the heart of Positano town and it requires some effort and patience to get around. The bus stop is about a ten minute walk along the hillside of the property and only runs once an hour. But for dinner there are quite a few good restaurants in the nearby village and some offer free transfers, or you can always get the bus into town and a taxi back up if you want to spend the evening in the heart if the action.

If we ever go back to Positano, there is no question we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived at Colle dell'Ara as part of our honeymoon and had the BEST TIME! Although a bit far from Positano itself, we really enjoyed its location thanks to the quiet, peaceful ambience and the magnificent views!
Upon arrival (and a short, beautiful hike up to the property), we were welcomed by Giacomo, one of the brothers running the b&b, complete with homemade limoncello and homemade brioche buns.
We were given a room on the second floor with a shared big balcony overlooking Positano and the sea. We couldn't stop looking and taking pictures all day long!
Rooms are pretty basic but very accommodating, free wifi is included.
Breakfast was amazing, served eveyday on the terrace (if weather allowes for it..) with the same beautiful views.
If you have the physical ability, try taking the hike down to Positano. The views are out of this world and it only takes about an hour to go down. Although you WILL feel your muscles for the next day or two :) It's still worth it. All in all an amazing experience! It was truely magical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milkey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This B&B offers a special experience. While it isn't in the center of Positano, its location high-above the city center offers spectacular views of the Amalfi Coast. The rooms themselves are simple, but clean. The shared patio off of the rooms provide a place to enjoy the amazing views. Be prepared for the short hike it takes to get to the top -- the B&B is a 5-minute hike up a mostly unpaved path from the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nolatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a very nice B and B , the family Pasquale and Brother Giacomo, and Dad were excellent people, from upon arriving to leaving 5 nights,
it is way up on the mountain area, away from Positano noise, suited us fine, we parked our car for free, and bused it all week, buses came regularly , otherwise in the eve, we would call Pasquale and he would send a cab for us, 15 euros,
The food, breakfast always great! They made dinner food a few times a week, depending on what they had , as all was from the area, they farmed vegetables and herbs and fig trees, to use for dinners, they were amazing cooks! Best food in Positano!
We hosted our friends who were staying in town - they loved it, Pappa caught fresh fish,and we had it grilled with fresh pasta and seafood wow !!! Highly recommend - ! be prepared, the walk up the B and B is a few min but healthy for you , and fresh! always lit up at night, your luggage goes by special conveyor belt once you get there so lugging around bags.
Romantic to say the least
Will post pics when I have them.

Room Tip: we stayed on the end on second floor, it was nice, very quiet area of Positano and so much nicer! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
1.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#2 of 48 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colle dell'Ara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colle dell'Ara

Property: Colle dell'Ara
Address: Via Monsignor Vito Talamo | Buzzer on the Road 200 Meters Ahed la Tagliata Restaurant, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colle dell'ara is not a hotel. Staying with us, in our home, means treating yourself to a rare experience. We are in Positano, in the small village of Montepertuso, located just above this corner of paradise on the Amalfi Coast. The building is situated on top of the hill and can be reached on foot in 5-6 minutes through an ancient path, fully illuminated at night. We are Pasquale and Giacomo, who with the help of our father Michele, a few years ago we decided to undertake this activity which constantly is giving us the opportunity to convey to our guests our main passions for hospitality and good food. These passions, well-established in our coastal land and agriculture, allowing us to constantly reinvent the offer to our guests dedicated, basing it on availability and seasonality values. We host you in rooms equipped with private bathroom and balcony overlooking the sea of Positano between the islands of Capri and Li Galli. Each room has a large double bed (with the possibility of adding a single bed), and are equipped with linens, towels and toiletries. Free wi-fi connection is working in all our spaces. We provide you with keys for your independent access at every time. Upon your arrival you will find free parking slots along the road and we'll help you carry your luggage with a special pulling system. We will assist you from beginning, accompanying you throughout whole of your stay suggesting you the best local amenities including activities from ourselves offered. You will have here the opportunity to experience our land through different activities such us farming excursions and local cooking classes (events organized on reservation). We always include breakfast, different every day and based on availability of our gardens, or made by the breads and cakes that we daily prepare. The center of Positano is reachable by bus in 20 minutes or 35-40 minutes through a centuries-long staircase. For trekking lovers, our structure is directly related to the main paths of Monti Lattari and the most famous Walkpath of God. However, we are located at the center of several important location like Pompei, Capri, Amalfi, Ravello and Sorrento, reachable by ferry, bus or car. Nearby you will find shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Colle dell'Ara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing