We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect positano at colle dell'ara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colle dell'Ara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colle dell'Ara
Ranked #10 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“perfect positano at colle dell'ara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I could not book far in advance and they are usually sold out but, I was very glad two days opened up for me. I needed a place that was peaceful yet beautiful to get some creative work done. Colle delll'ara hit the spot! The view as amazing, the common room open and airy, the decor well appointed/modern and minimalist(which is a hard thing to find in bnb's), and internet access was fast and reliable. I loved the path up to the house, a good adventure with stunning views to the natural beauty all around. The house is high up the hill so if one loves nature trails with spectacular vista's it is right outside the door. The breakfast was superb with regional sweet italian pastries and fresh breads, ham, tasty fruit juices, simple yogurt and fruit from the the colle dell'ara garden to name but a few of my favorites. It is also easy walking distance down the hill to excellent restaurants for dinner. In addition, the home-made colle dell'ara liqueurs should not be missed. My hosts were Pasquale and Marco, two of the three brothers who own the place. Their service was impeccable. They had many stories about the area, great suggestions for dinner and late night cocktails/dancing and I am sure anything else you would need. The atmosphere was very special. It was cool when all the guests sat around one evening cheering the Eurocup final...it felt like family! I hope I will make my way back to colle dell'ara for a longer stay next time. I think it is an excellent base from which to explore the amalfi coast and have a truly authentic positano experience.

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies facing the sea so all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    20
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
140
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My partner and I stayed at colle dell'ara for 8 nights. We had the most amazing time here. Everything about the place is just beautiful; the unforgettable & best view in the world! The fantastic location amongst nature, with all the best restaurants within walking distance! (also shuttle buses offered by the restaurants) Then a very cheap busride down to positano beach that goes every hour. The tranquil & peaceful surroundings of gardens, mountains & fruit trees makes this place unique & very special. Spacious& very clean rooms, great breakfast with fresh fruit daily & last but not least, the best hosts any guest could ask for. Pasquale, Marco & Giacomo we want to thank you for making our stay the most memorable & happy experience.We will never forget this place & think you are all doing an incredible job! Emma & Nick - Australia

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSchaeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Fantastico! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Colle dell'Ara in the village of Montepertuso. This family-run B&B is a treat with gorgeous views of Positano below, surrounded by lovely organic gardens, and operated by a refreshingly personable, professional, and enthusiastic staff. We loved it here and would highly recommend it to our friends and family. Everything about this place was magical.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed there at the beginning of June and in short Colle dell"Ara was incredible - the bed and breakfast while perched on top of a hill outside of the town offers stunning views of Positano and the Amalfi coast. The bed and breakfast itself is of a very high standard and the rooms were clean and spacious. We stayed on the top floor and had the benefit of a huge balcony (shared with the other rooms) which again offers stunning views. Most impressive about this bed and breakfast are the family who run it - we were picked up from the bus stop in Positano and driven to the b&b. We were then offered complimentary caprese salad and a glass of local wine (x2!) followed by a homemade limoncello digestive. The family are very warm and accommodating and see to your every need, they make a real effort to make you feel at home - their home cooked food is delicious (the ingredients being sourced from their vegetable patch!) and Marco's morning cappuccino is the best start to the day. We would certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our stay was just great - we were overwhelmed by the great place, the great view and the friendlyness of the brothers running Colle dell'Ara!

The view is just fantastic, ingredienst for breakfast and bbq-dinner (offered from time to time, cooked by the father!) come from the own garden, they even make their own limoncello and other liqueurs! Rooms have old family pictures. The atmosphere is really easy going and relaxed. A place we 100 per cent suggest!!!

Thanks again to Giacomo, Pasquale and Marco (and their father and their aunt) for making our stay so special - we will definitely come back...

Dorothée and Daniel

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKarsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We had an amazing stay at Colle dell’Ara. This bed and breakfast surpassed our expectations. The family is so accommodating. The younger of the three brothers Marco came down to pick us up at the bust stop from Sorrento and drove us up to their place, where they loaded our luggage into their lift. The walk up to the bed and breakfast is a quick 4 minute hike. Very beautiful. You are rewarded with the best views over the city of Positano and the ocean, and Montepertuso on the other side. Breathtaking. We were immediately introduced to the mom and dad, and since it was a Sunday they were having family and friends over to whom we were also introduced. We were offered limoncello on arrival and a plate of fresh mozzarella and sliced tomatoes from their garden. The rooms are very big and have all of the amenities. You have breakfast in the garden, with the same magnificent view. They will make you American coffee, tea, cappuccino, or espressos. The beds were big and comfortable. The only thing that would make the rooms better would be a small refrigerator or perhaps a small cooler to hold ice for drinks. We had a terrific stay and wished we could have stayed longer. It was also nice to meet the various guests that come and go in this very lovely bed and breakfast. The bus stops very close to the entrance of the trail and it’s a quick 15-20 ride down the mountain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrumpetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Where do I start!. The views, the food, the accommodations. It was like staying with family in Positano. Mark and Josepe were so so friendly. We taught Josepe how to play Euchre. And of course he won! Colle dell'Ara is a 10. Kind of tough to get to, but once you are there, its magic. The gardens are wonderful, the walk to the village is challenging and you will work off your calories. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcfoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#7 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#13 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#3 of 48 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colle dell'Ara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colle dell'Ara

Property: Colle dell'Ara
Address: Via Monsignor Vito Talamo | Buzzer on the Road 200 Meters Ahed la Tagliata Restaurant, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colle dell'ara is not a hotel. Staying with us, in our home, means treating yourself to a rare experience. We are in Positano, in the small village of Montepertuso, located just above this corner of paradise on the Amalfi Coast. The building is situated on top of the hill and can be reached on foot in 5-6 minutes through an ancient path, fully illuminated at night. We are Pasquale and Giacomo, who with the help of our father Michele, a few years ago we decided to undertake this activity which constantly is giving us the opportunity to convey to our guests our main passions for hospitality and good food. These passions, well-established in our coastal land and agriculture, allowing us to constantly reinvent the offer to our guests dedicated, basing it on availability and seasonality values. We host you in rooms equipped with private bathroom and balcony overlooking the sea of Positano between the islands of Capri and Li Galli. Each room has a large double bed (with the possibility of adding a single bed), and are equipped with linens, towels and toiletries. Free wi-fi connection is working in all our spaces. We provide you with keys for your independent access at every time. Upon your arrival you will find free parking slots along the road and we'll help you carry your luggage with a special pulling system. We will assist you from beginning, accompanying you throughout whole of your stay suggesting you the best local amenities including activities from ourselves offered. You will have here the opportunity to experience our land through different activities such us farming excursions and local cooking classes (events organized on reservation). We always include breakfast, different every day and based on availability of our gardens, or made by the breads and cakes that we daily prepare. The center of Positano is reachable by bus in 20 minutes or 35-40 minutes through a centuries-long staircase. For trekking lovers, our structure is directly related to the main paths of Monti Lattari and the most famous Walkpath of God. However, we are located at the center of several important location like Pompei, Capri, Amalfi, Ravello and Sorrento, reachable by ferry, bus or car. Nearby you will find shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Colle dell'Ara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing