We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
556
164
49
24
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
164
49
24
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach every hour la serra funicular railway water taxi amalfi coast the cliff amazing views beautiful hotel our honeymoon five star hotel chaise lounges breakfast and dinner downtown positano the hotel offers overlooking positano loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 812 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The property is amazing. Built into the natural terrain etc.

I'd like to focus this review on the aquatics.

Capri to Positano by ferry and where a hotel-chartered water taxi greeted us and brought us through a dungeon and up to our room.

The view from the pool was fantastic. The swimming pool itself was a touch over-chlorinated. Also in the pool was a small grotto and a swim-up bar.

Friends of ours had a pool in their suite. It was a bit tight and I didn't swim.

Refreshments and lunch were served on well-cushioned lounge chairs by the sea.

This was very nice. A+. Molto Bene.

Dipping into the sea was phenomenal. I very strongly recommend packing a pair of Tom's (always) but especially for swimming in the sea.

Barnacle's will draw blood. Tom's are perfect. Water-shoes are way too specific and you don't want to be 'that guy' (or girl) with water shoes at the resort. Tom's.

We met some friends staying at the hotel on the dock and ventured out for a swim. Came across a few fun micro-cliffs for jumping (ranging from 5-10 meters).

Ventured (swam) into a few caves and then made our way back to the deck.

On a more serious note... the Breakfast buffet was expletive phenomenal.

The rooms are somewhere between quaint-rustic and in need of renovation. The spectacular views make it difficult to ascertain which of the two it is.

Beautiful Resort. Stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capivanni, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Le Agavi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anton,
thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay at Le Agavi and you found the location to be so convenient for your needs.
We are overjoyed to read that you had a great time with us and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We chose to stay here and spend the extra dollars on a good room and it didn't disappoint. What a fabulous location, our private balcony overlooking the town and ocean was just spectacular. The hotel itself is staffed by the loveliest people we encountered during our 4 weeks away. Nothing was too much. The facilities are just so well maintained, clean and tidy. You are a fair way from the town itself but not an issue as they run their own shuttle service on the hour from about 8.00am til 12.30am so getting around is simple. The private beach is accessed on their own funicular so no stairs!!! I cannot rave enough about this hotel. We loved it. Each morning at breakfast there were musicians playing guitars singing songs like Amore. Just lovely to listen to this on the breakfast balcony in one of the restaurants each day. As we spent each evening in town, we didn't eat at the restaurants there but I have no doubt it would've be high quality because thats what Le Agavi is, high quality.
Definitely 5 Stars and No Complaints which is rare for me.

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and get a balcony view. After all, its Positano
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capivanni, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Le Agavi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Jon,
what wonderful comments. Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We will be sure to share this with our staff that prides themselves in providing a first class experience for all our guests.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Everything was great here. Our room was more like an apartment. Some may find the funicular a hassle - it can be busy at time - but just take a breather and enjoy the view. On the other hand, I don't recommend the Serra restaurant. I found it disappointing and the price was ove the top.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capivanni, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Le Agavi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2018

Dear Douglas,
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us from the location to the rooms and we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at La Serra.
We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

This is not a hotel yet 5 STAR!! Even 1 star hotels ate better than this. I want to mention that all the staffs were professional and nice but hotel itself need total renovation! Every thing is outdated. Our junior suite room had these flying ants. They don’t give you enough towels. Bed was uncomfortable and dirty! Rooms are small even their suite. They don’t provide iron and so many other stuff... I don’t want to go back to positano just bc of this hotel . Save ur money and stay somewhere else!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank maryamesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capivanni, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Le Agavi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madam,
We are all disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us, and please be assured that we will always do everything in our power to resolve any issues that you brought to our attention. However, looks like you have confused us with a different property. We are sorry that you did not appreciate our assistance and helpfulness and regarding your thoughts, we just want to clarify as follows: we do offer a variety of room sizes and please allow us as well to remind you that you didn’t like your room and so we allocated you in a special and renovated suite (100 sqm! Not so small, isn’t it?), one of our best rooms. We strive to provide our guests with superior customer service and a clean and comfortable stay and fulfill our guests' requests, such as a need for additional cleaning, extra towels etc. Although the maid noticed just a few ants (not an invasion), we tried to cater you, giving all the stuff you needed, but unfortunately, that wasn't enough. As the hotel is surrounded by nature, it can happen to find small insects, although we make pest controls indoors and outdoors every month. Iron is not allowed in the room for security reason but we have our luxury laundry and ironing service available in the hotel. As for our beds, we receive beautiful reviews and testimonial from our customers all the time. Our new mattresses are so comfortable and provide them a restful night of sleep.
We are sorry to read that our hotel was not to your personal liking, we are glad that you appreciated our staff at least.
We hope you had a safe journey back home.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We stayed at Le Agavi the first week of June as the first part of our anniversary trip to Italy. We arrived by private car from Rome. Our room was ready for us upon arrival at 2 pm. The staff welcomed us and informed us of all of the hotel amenities, then personally showed us to our room with a ride on the private funicular down to our room. The porters handled all of our luggage on check-in and check-out. The hotel is located on the steep hillside on the west end of Positano.

The room was clean and absolutely beautiful, similar to the photos, including a small private terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. The first thing we noticed was the peaceful, quiet environment; only the sound of birds chirping and an occasional faint hum of a boat motor down on the sea. The room was well appointed with a large bathroom with toilet, bidet, whirlpool tub/shower combination, and double sinks. A large walk-in closet, with safe and fully-stocked mini-fridge kept our belongings neat. The room also had a king-size bed, desk with chair, sofa/lounge and small dresser/bureau. The furnishings were somewhat eclectic and mismatched with antiques mixed with modern pieces. My only gripe was with the dresser that needed a key used as a drawer pull; having to use only one key to open any one of 4 or 5 drawers became annoying quite quickly.

Having earlier eluded to the steep hillside, the hotel is located on seemingly countless terraces and levels; necessitating many steps between levels. It can be a little confusing at first to navigate around the hotel, but it’s an enjoyable walk around the grounds. Take your room key card with you as you’ll need it to pass through some gates on the way to the spiaggia or beach.

Speaking of the beach…it’s not really a beach that one could lie on the sand (that we found). There’s a rocky shoreline guests may walk along or wade into ocean. The Remmese Beach House and deck is made for comfortable sunbathing complete with full food and drink service accessible by remote wireless call button. The best part of the deck is the steps leading into the sea where guests may swim or snorkel to cool off. Bring your own snorkel equipment. You should be a decent swimmer if you venture into the ocean. The crystal-clear water is fairly calm here, but there is a bit of current (sometimes from boat-wake) making it difficult to stand still on the slippery rocks. There is also a main pool on another level; as well as suites with private pools. If you find a pair of men’s black Maui Jim sunglasses off the deck in the water, please let us know!

The daily breakfast was overwhelming with options, European as well as American; sit inside or out on the sunny, high, covered terrace overlooking Positano. The wait staff was first-rate. The serenade by the guitar and mandolin duet each morning set the tone for a day of relaxing or exploring the area.

The hotel provides a reliable shuttle into Positano on an hourly basis. We recommend taking the shuttle as the roads around the town are quite narrow. A water taxi to the Positano public beach is also available from the aforementioned Remmese deck; it only takes about 5 minutes and is priced per passenger, chargeable to your room. There is also a town bus.

There are many steps around the hotel and we’re not sure if there are accessible rooms for those unable to navigate stairways and steep slopes.

It’s very easy to arrange a day trip to Capri by ferry, please see my separate review for details.

In summary, we look forward to another stay at Le Agavi.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genochemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capivanni, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Le Agavi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience with us.They truly are golden words!
We have loved reading your review, and are so happy that you had such a positive stay time - - and would be coming back too.
We are so happy to have been a positive part of your anniversary trip to Italy!
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Guest Relations Dept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews