We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Agavi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Agavi Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Le Agavi is like no other hotel. It is literally carved into a mountain with rooms positioned along about 1,000 steps down to the Sea. To call the views spectacular is probably an understatement. And that is what you're paying for -- not fluffy pillows and luxury. We just finished our second stay at Le Agavi in 2 years. Both times we stayed in room #211, which has a huge terrace with a priceless view of the Amalfi coast. Le Agavi hosts a free shuttle into Positano so you can easily get into town. But you'll likely spend more time at the hotel, at its pool or down at its "beach." (I use quotes because there is no sand, but you are right on the water. There is also a fantastic restaurant for lunch.) We loved The Serra, the main restaurant and ate dinner there several nights. Start your evening with a drink at the bar (served by the affable Antonio) which has a patio overlooking everything. Breakfast is included and is extensive. The front desk staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There is a funicular but if you get a room in the 600s or 700s be ready to walk a lot of stairs. Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    132
    40
    19
    12
See reviews for
87
314
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms leave something to desire from this price point (basic rooms/hard beds), but you will forget about it as soon as you step onto your balcony. The views are mesmerizing from every inch of the property. The restaurant is excellent, and the private beach below is spectacular. Go into town on the shuttle and find fantastic shops and some of the best food in Italy! We wanted to quit our jobs and move there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyG92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Le Agavi last summer while traveling with out 5 children ages 3-18. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean and nicely sized and of course the view was excellent no matter where you were. It is slightly outside of town, but a quick taxi trip gets you to the center in no time. The private beach was exceptionally beautiful and we had it to ourselves! The pool was equally nice and the view from the pool chairs was paradise. The only tough part was the stairs, but it is Positano, so you have to be prepared for that. No matter where we went on the grounds, even with the cable car lift, you had to deal with some long staircases, but it was worth it.

Room Tip: If you have children and think you will be using the pool, ask for a room close to the pool to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinWith4Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
370 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Le Agavi is the type of place where you could park yourself for days of relaxation and slow paced vacation. Exploring the grounds and features of the hotel was an activity unto itself, as we discovered the funicular and winding steps & tunnel that lead to the seaside bar & restaurant. This area was being redone to include more decking when we were there.

It is very interesting that the hotel and rooms start at the top of the cliff and go all the way down to the ocean. It's difficult to fathom how it was built. I'm pretty sure that every room has a wonderful ocean view. Ours had a nice patio with chaise lounges with magnificent views. Our room was nice sized but somewhat spartan. Our bathroom was quite large compared to other bathrooms we had in Italy: Two lavatories and a double sized glassed-in shower with two shower heads! The room next door was not as large and didn't have as large of a bathroom.

The hallway outside of our room, as well as the rooms on our hall, were all tiled floor and stucco type walls. It is beautiful, but the downside is that noise from the hall is very transparent in the room. If someone opens a door, talks or walks down the hall, you can hear every step. There are almost no textiles to absorb the sound. It wasn't too bothersome to us, as you have to take these things in stride when those building methods are standard in a place that is known for ceramic tile.

The only negative that might be a "deal breaker" is that it is not within short walking distance of the village of Positano, and thus, the shopping, dining and exploring of the town. For that, there is a shuttle each hour.

One lesson that we learned upon arrival to Positano by ferry from Capri. We were offered the opportunity to take a water taxi or boat to Le Agavi, but we chose to look for the shuttle drop off & pick up location at the pharmacy. MISTAKE! Take the boat ride over to the hotel and ride the funicular up to the lobby. Both scenarios can be difficult with heavy luggage.i

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

It's absolutely breathtaking. The views over positano and the sea are magnificent.

I stayed here with a friend. It was more expensive than some of the other places in positano. But we weren't let down.

The private beach is a cable car and a lift down from the hotel, so a bit I a journey but it's all worth it for the panoramic views.

We had many requests do the hotel staff from rental cars, SIM cards, restaurants etc. everything was solved for us with speed and efficiency.

I highly recommend this hotel.

If you can get a room that's not right next to the cable car.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grazmulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Agavi hotel for four nights in the beginning of June 2013. We would never stay any place else on the Amalfi coast! We did not have luggage for the first three days of our stay because of an airline mix-up. The staff at Le Agavi, especially Sonia, Pasquale and Antonio, were more than accommodating. They called the airport and airline for us multiple times, and tried to make us as comfortable as possible. The staff was also well informed of all the local tours, boat times and things to do in the area.

The hotel room was simple, but perfect, with a great tub and tons of toiletries. The balcony was amazing - we laid there for hours enjoying the breathtaking views. The shuttle service was easy and always on time. It was nice to stay outside the town - slightly quieter - but still have the option of going in at almost any time of day or night.

The breakfast was also perfect - simple, light and truly Italian style. The restaurant staff was friendly and accommodating. We would go back just for the cappuccinos! Dinner at La Serra was pricey, but it was great if you want a night in to relax at the hotel.

We cannot say enough great things about Le Agavi, Positano or the people there! We hope to return in the near future to enjoy the views, food and people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaMa717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

After reading a couple of the reviews I was a little worried about staying slightly out of town but our stay at Le Agavi Hotel in Positano was much more than expected. Firstly Positano itself, what a magnificent venue for a week to relax and take in the views, soak up the sun, eat great food and mix with some really friendly people. An absolute must destination on your "to do" list. Our room at the hotel was simple yet in old world charm. Yeah sure it could be updated but you know what - this is Positano and personally wouldn't change it. Views were picture postcard breathtaking from our balcony so a couple of nights we just bought some cheese, salami and wine and soaked up the view - beautiful. Beds, comfy, shower fine however you do need to climb into the bath. Breakfast is basic but plentiful - cereals, breads, yoghurts and bacon and scrambled eggs - what else do you want? Oh and the cappucinos were great and on tap. Agree with some of the other comments re the hotel restaurant. Seemed a bit pricey to me and why wouldn't you just go into town and try the awesome food (relatively inexpensive) restaurants? The inclinator down to the private beach makes life very easy and the beach (while not really a beach, but a newly created balcony with a wharf to jump into the cool mediterranean) is beautiful. We got addicted to Campari Spritz all over Italy so that was the order of the day down there. Overall service was fantastic and the team really look after us. The shuttle into Postiano takes around 5 minutes and goes pretty much every hour - too easy. Would highly recommend this hotel and when we return this will be where we stay. Oh, by the way do the "Discover Positano" walking tour with Christina (see separate post) on your second day - awesome.

Room Tip: We had 211 - great sweeping views of Positano - I reckon one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.5 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#20 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#19 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Agavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Agavi Hotel

Property: Le Agavi Hotel
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 127, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#12 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Agavi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Agavi hotel, a sheer drop from the cliff to the sea, is just five minutes by car from the center of Positano. It features a private beach, a breathtaking view over the Amalfi coast, an open-air swimming pool with a snack bar and rooms with air conditioning. All the rooms of Le Agavi hotel, belonging to different room categories, dispose of equipped balconies or terraces, a satellite TV and private bathrooms with a tub or shower. Le Agavi hotel has 3 bars and 3 restaurants, one of which located on the beach, with beach club facilities, also open for dinner, with a water taxi service as well, with menus for theme nights and tasting menus, where you will have the chance to relax and enjoy authentic typical dishes of the coast. In front of the hotel is a sita bus stop, 15 km away from the Circumvesuviana train station. The hotel disposes of a shuttle bus service to and from the center of Positano, leaving almost every hour. The hotel is one hour by car from Naples and 13 km from the beautiful town of Sorrento, from whose harbor hydrofoils leave towards the island of Capri and many other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Le Agavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Agavi Positano
Hotel Le Agavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing