We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Le Agavi Positano - check it out”
Review of Le Agavi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Agavi Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Le Agavi Positano - check it out”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After reading a couple of the reviews I was a little worried about staying slightly out of town but our stay at Le Agavi Hotel in Positano was much more than expected. Firstly Positano itself, what a magnificent venue for a week to relax and take in the views, soak up the sun, eat great food and mix with some really friendly people. An absolute must destination on your "to do" list. Our room at the hotel was simple yet in old world charm. Yeah sure it could be updated but you know what - this is Positano and personally wouldn't change it. Views were picture postcard breathtaking from our balcony so a couple of nights we just bought some cheese, salami and wine and soaked up the view - beautiful. Beds, comfy, shower fine however you do need to climb into the bath. Breakfast is basic but plentiful - cereals, breads, yoghurts and bacon and scrambled eggs - what else do you want? Oh and the cappucinos were great and on tap. Agree with some of the other comments re the hotel restaurant. Seemed a bit pricey to me and why wouldn't you just go into town and try the awesome food (relatively inexpensive) restaurants? The inclinator down to the private beach makes life very easy and the beach (while not really a beach, but a newly created balcony with a wharf to jump into the cool mediterranean) is beautiful. We got addicted to Campari Spritz all over Italy so that was the order of the day down there. Overall service was fantastic and the team really look after us. The shuttle into Postiano takes around 5 minutes and goes pretty much every hour - too easy. Would highly recommend this hotel and when we return this will be where we stay. Oh, by the way do the "Discover Positano" walking tour with Christina (see separate post) on your second day - awesome.

Room Tip: We had 211 - great sweeping views of Positano - I reckon one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    143
    41
    20
    13
See reviews for
104
351
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We chose this special hotel as a birthday treat and loved the stunning views. The weather didn't play along but nothing would spoil our experience. Loved the sun loungers and beautiful terrace (when the sun finally came out) and the beach is lovely. Definitely try breakfast on your room's terrace!

On the downside, they were obviously at the beginning of season as there were many broken chairs and building rubble lying around and i wouldn't recommend it to with walking/mobility problems.

Room Tip: Room with terrace and spa bath a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at. Perfectly situated on the main road with breathtaking views of the most beautiful town I have visited. Hotel le Agavi has lifts and a fernicular/cable car, so there is no need to climb hundreds of stairs as is the problem in most hotels in Positano. Spectacular views from the room. Not in the town itself, but a free shuttle is provided at regular intervals in and out of town until midnight. With the hotel's many services, amenities and three restaurants, we could have easily been very content staying in the hotel the whole time, but you of course have to venture into the beautiful town. An awesome experience in the slice of heaven which is Positano. We have vowed to go back, and most certainly will stay at Le Agavi again. Excellent service from very friendly staff.

Room Tip: All rooms had brilliant views. But try get a room facing the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We didn't stay in a hotel room but instead rented a villa on the hotel's facility that is actually owned by a private individual, but you get to enjoy all the hotel amenities. Much cheaper than the hotel rooms and more space. We spent last week there for our 25th anniversary and I'm so glad we did. Our villa (Villa Ines) was very clean, nicely appointed and had 2 bedrooms. The master had plenty of space, great built-in wardrobes and best of all had its own balcony with the most stunning views you could ask for. There is also a 2nd balcony accessed from the living room. The 2nd bedroom has no windows but is comfortable with a queen size bed. You can only rent it through this web site http://www.summerinitaly.com/eng/rent/property0453!italy_.htm. The hotel is just on the edge of the town so it's a good walk if you're inclined, which we were. We actually enjoyed being a bit away from the town center as it forced us to experience all of it, and there's no better way than by foot. We used the bus service to return on a couple of nights. The hotel's breakfast buffet is very expensive, about 30 euro each, and lacks any protein choices. Mainly pastries, cheeeses, breads, fruits, cereals, etc. But what they had was very good - fresh and great tasting. We did it just once, but had the best view of Positano and the coast while dining outside. Better deal is to go into town at any number of café-style restaurants and get an omelet for 10 euro each. Was nice to have parking onsite for our rental car . . . but you do have to pay 25 euro/day for the privilege, but it's not any better in the town. Just know it's the price of visiting the area. Was great to be able to take the car in and out whenever we needed to. Our villa had only one bathroom and it was small. The shower stall is very small, so if you're a really large person you may struggle fitting in. Was just the two of us, but if you had other guests I can see the bathroom situation being a real challenge. Was nice to have a kitchen with fridge as we bought fruits daily for snacking at the villa. Speaking of which, some of the best and cheapest fruits in town are at the daily fruit stand just outside the hotel. We spent all our time in town and sightseeing the neighboring towns along the coast, so we only used the villa/hotel facility to sleep in. But it was great waking up each day to that view. Just puts you in a great mood to start each day. Having experienced the town thoroughly now, we'd stay here again when we go back one day in the not-too-distant future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank AudiR8dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A wonderful hotel, high above Positano with stunning views. Lovely room with terrace and sunloungers. Staff were all friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. Excellent food served on the terrace as we looked out over the bay. Free hourly transfer in the hotel mini bus to Positano was very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 310SPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel has a great view and the facilities are very nice. The decor is a bit "old" opulence, but some like that. In contrast the rooms are very simple. Everything is very clean. I do have to say that we payed a special price, and for that it was definitely worth it. But I wouldn't pay 400 a night.
It is not anymore up to a regular 5 star, but you are in Italy, where stars are given differently and you are in a very tourist rich location. But the views are just amazing, and you have the beach, and the pool (that we didn't use), but you also have the transfers to Positano that are very convenient so you don't have to drive into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quieroaguadecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rene89
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nestled in the cliff side with unparalleled views, is this gem of a hotel. Guglielmo Del Pizzo leads the impeccable service at the front desk and is there to guide you through your stay. His recommendations were always on target. While the rooms are a bit dated, the vistas surely make up for it. Yes, it is a short ride into town but we didn't mind it at all - the buses are quite frequent. We also chartered one of Le Agavi's boats to take us up the Amalfi coast and it was a magnificent day, our Captain was wonderful. The food down at the Beach restaurant was good and again so was the service. We look forward to returning to Positano and we will choose to stay at Le Agavi again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rene89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#20 of 39 in Positano
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Agavi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Agavi Hotel

Property: Le Agavi Hotel
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 127, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#11 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Agavi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Agavi hotel, a sheer drop from the cliff to the sea, is just five minutes by car from the center of Positano. It features a private beach, a breathtaking view over the Amalfi coast, an open-air swimming pool with a snack bar and rooms with air conditioning. All the rooms of Le Agavi hotel, belonging to different room categories, dispose of equipped balconies or terraces, a satellite TV and private bathrooms with a tub or shower. Le Agavi hotel has 3 bars and 3 restaurants,led by our starred chef, one of which located on the beach, with beach club facilities, also open for dinner, with a water taxi service as well, with menus for theme nights and tasting menus, where you will have the chance to relax and enjoy authentic typical dishes of the coast. In front of the hotel is a sita bus stop, 15 km away from the Circumvesuviana train station. The hotel disposes of a shuttle bus service to and from the center of Positano, leaving almost every hour. The hotel is one hour by car from Naples and 13 km from the beautiful town of Sorrento, from whose harbor hydrofoils leave towards the island of Capri and many other destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Agavi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Agavi Positano
Hotel Le Agavi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing