We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Heavenly”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Not your typical tourist hotel more like a private home in beautiful gardens where you can just forget everything and relax.No swimming pool which may concern some people but the beach is a hundred yards away through the winding cobbles of Positano.
We have been coming here for 9 years now and compared with room rates for other "luxury" hotels in Positano the Palazzo Murat is quite reasonable.
Breakfast is taken in a small walled garden area and you could sit there all day it is so heavenly.
The restaurant is quite expensive but you must experience dinner there at least once during your stay as again you area eating in the garden under beatiful canopies.
The staff are very efficient(unusual in Italy) and unobtrusive but always there to help if required.
The only small critisism we have is that sometimes they have literary evenings (in Italian) and this restricts access to the walled garden area for evening drinks prior to walking into town but these are very rare and I am probably a bit of a philistine.

Going back again this year.

Helpful?
Thank Jim Soady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    151
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
182
635
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We had the room closest to the sea and the views were amazing. They blasted out a lot of rock, so there is a sizeable terrace and garden with an incredibly tasty restaurant. It was a really incomparable spot as the rest of the town, and the whole Amalfi coast for that matter, are so vertical. The rooms are not huge, as to be expected given the space issues, but you come here for the place, the restaurant and the garden. Unforgettable

Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lizericson124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Stayed 3 nites late Sept. Large, clean, nicely decorayed room in the od part of the hotel. Staff, location, and room all great. Had breakfasts i cluded with room, never tried dinner as there were so many other options. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This has got to be the best hotel in Positano. ( If it was somewhere else with more competition around, you may feel a bit disappointed ,as the price linked to the faciliites etc is a bit high)

The hotel has so much charm, quirkiness and slightly batty .

The situation is perfect, both for the sea and the town.

Smell of fresh biscuits wafting around the courtyardat the breakfast time. Lovely brekkie.

All staff spot on with very warm attitude
The beach is ok. Busy etc. But, one thing we did was catch a ten minute boat trip to a restaurant, and use their cheaper sunbeds, (you don't have to eat there Don't go to the Adolpho Red Fish; very small beach. Right next to them , ristaurant le sirene. Food local and very good

Hotel spot-on.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We were moved to Palazzo Murat after Buca di Bacco mixed up our confirmed reservation. It doesn't have as good sea views but has lovely views of the church, houses and gardens. The gardens are a wonderful feature however every night we were there English tourists celebrated their wedding receptions below our window till the early hours which was quite noisy. The garden restaurant in the evening is a must and the free boat trips a fantastic idea. For a four star hotel the bathroom with pokey shower and the cold breakfast could have been better. But overall a lovely, central place to stay in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate-36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed at the Palazzo Murat during our honeymoon. What a wonderful experience. The restaurant downstairs is fantastic. One wonderful amenity of the hotel was the free boat trip on the hotel's boat! We reserved it and spent a few hours on the water. It was a small, four person boat, and the Captain drove us around the coast and out to a couple of the islands nearby. We really enjoyed our honeymoon, and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catsfever02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

In pedestrianised area, but close ot shops and the beach. However the beach is rather poor, rough shingle, lots of seaweed in the water, so we didn't enjoy swimming much.

The hotel was good, with a nice garden including a covered area used as a restaurant extension. Good service, good food, but it's not a cheap hotel.

  • Liked — garden
  • Disliked — nearby beach rather poor
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
839 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing