We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2013 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels in Positano. Great location. Great value, great food, large rooms, in the middle of everything in Postiano, staff is very helpful, rooms are full size, great restaurant. Just what everyone would want in Postano.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace, not a garden room. Off season rates are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 943jefferys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

A very atmospheric hotel with a gorgeous garden in which breakfast and the restaurant (Al Palazzo) are located. We stayed in the heritage wing: the room was very comfortable with a cute terrace with sea glimpses, but required negotiating a lot of stairs to get to it.

The hotel has an excellent location lower down in Positano, not very far to the beach and restaurants. It's also a short walk to the central piazza from which buses and taxis leave.

Breakfast was excellent - fresh and delicious. Towels are provided to take to the beach, thoughtfully packed in a beach bag. Rooms are serviced twice daily. A big downside, however was lack of wifi in the room despite it being advertised. It seemed to work in the lobby.

A great way to travel to/from Positano (and Amalfi) is to catch the fast train to Salerno, walk straight out of the station towards the sea (10 mins) and catch the ferry to your destination. The magnificent views of the coast are well worth it, plus it is probably quicker than car or bus from Naples or Salerno.

If you are planning a trip to the Amalfi Coast, bear in mind that virtually everything (hotels, restaurants, ferries) shuts down from the end of October to April, with a brief re-opening around Christmas. This applies to Capri too. If you did find a hotel open during this period, not much else would likely be available.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed in two hotels in Positano and can offer some perspective.

Some hotels are actually in town, and as soon as you step out the door, you are where tourists want to be, surrounded by restaurants and shops. Look for an iPad map, and find the part of via Cristofero Colombo that forms a sharp delta, almost a keyhole. The area inside is the town of Positano, Murat is in this group, and is really very central.

Some hotels are up the hill a bit, but you can still walk into town. This includes Le Sirenuse and the other hotel I stayed in, Eden Roc. Eden Roc is about as high up the hill as you would care to go on foot. Sirenuse is practically in town. The hotels in this group may have more amenities and better views, but also more street noise from vehicles.

Other hotels are way up the hill or out of the main town. Thus includes San Pietro and some others. If you pick a hotel in thus group, you will have to take public transport into Positano, which to me would be a big minus.

Palazzo Murat is indeed an old mansion, with charming grounds and antique-furnished guest rooms. Many overlook Positano rooftops or face up the hillside - quintessential Positano. Hence, it would be a good choice for a couple. Some drawbacks are very poor internet (none to speak of in the room), and barebones breakfast. Staff are okay but not warm or proactive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

In every way, our Trip to Palazzo Murat was terrific! We had a beautiful and very spacious garden view room. The property, with its lush landscape and gardens, felt very secluded from the hustle and bustle of the narrow streets of Positano. Dedicated parking for the hotel was most convenient. THe hotel was very well-located, with just a 5 minute or less walk to the beach promenade, restaurants, etc.
We enjoyed delicious breakfasts, served on the terrace and wonderful dinners in the romantic, lovely garden setting of the hotel.
A nice outdoor pool was a definite plus.
With all of these superlatives, the best was the extremely warm, friendly, helpful, attentive and caring approach by everyone on the staff.
Our stay here was a true highlight of our trip to Italy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverlys796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a beautiful hotel situated in a gorgeous setting. The staff is incredible! From the moment we checked in we were treated wonderfully. The staff is always willing to help and were great about telling us where to go to eat, shop etc.

Room Tip: We reserved a superior deluxe room. The room was quiet and the views to die for! This place is trul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Positano, though picturesque and quaint can turn out to be a bit of a crowded affair for visitors who wish to stay over.
Barring price, the Palazzo Murat is your ultimate solution. Secluded, yet 300 yards from the beach and in the midst of the town . Great breakfast catering to all tastes, comfortable and spotless rooms (opt for the old section seeing you have decided to " take the "financial plunge") welcoming, attentive and responsive staff.
A beautiful garden where drinks and breakfast may be enjoyed away from the bustle.
Ask for hotel recommendations re good ( family owned) local eateries. Settling for expensive hotel restaurant (albeit Michelin star) is not a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliebarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We indulged in one four-star hotel for one night only for the entire 2.5 week European journey and I'm glad it was at Palazzo Murat. Positano is not exactly the cheapest holiday destination, so whilst I didn't book the best room in the hotel (probably the only one room without a water view!), after a few nights at small B&Bs around Italy, it was nice to be at a hotel with facilities, space and lots of amenities! Palazzo Murat is perfectly situated at the mid-point of Positano - it is not too high up, and not too close to the beach/water area (which I prefer for Positano). The check-in process was very smooth and the girls at the front desk were helpful in storing our luggage and putting our passports in their safe before our room was ready. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, I just wish I had more time to really indulge and enjoy the meal! There is a fantastic restaurant at the hotel itself, within their courtyard, which is a sight in itself, and I'd highly recommend a meal there too. The pool looked beautiful too, but we just didn't have time to relax at the pool after being out for a whole day. The one issue which the hotel itself is aware and apologetic of is the poor wifi accessibility. Otherwise, a really nice stay and wish I had more time to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $203 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing