We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Palazzo Murat for 3 days in mid-October. We booked a Deluxe room in the old building and upon arrival were upgraded to the Suite which was a very pleasant surprise. The Suite is absolutely stunning, hotel owners have done a marvelous job preserving the original features of the building and enhancing them with the elements of modern design. We especially enjoyed the outside terrace of the Suite, which is very spacious and has spectacular views of Positano, the hotel gardens, and the sea.

The hotel staff is very professional, breakfast is great, and we enjoyed the small pool on one of the days. We also had a nice dinner at the hotel restaurant located in the gardens.

Thank you to the owners and staff for a great stay. We highly recommend Palazzo Murat for your Positano stay!

Room Tip: We loved the old building with its high ceilings and spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    152
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
180
636
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Palazzo Murat for 2 nights in October. The hotel surpassed our expectations. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly - both before our visit and during our stay. The room was clean, comfortable and had an amazing view of the gardens and of Positano. The hotel is ideally placed so it was easy to come and go during the day. Sitting outside each morning in the sunshine to have breakfast was just amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Palazzo Murat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARKC23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in the Murat Suite. It was quite lovely and roomy. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We did not try the dinner. No real views from the hotel but the location is very good. The terrace available with the suite was huge and we used it many times during our visit.

Room Tip: The Murat Suite had a great terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and a great location. The gardens are in a park like setting. The pool area was great. Staff warm caring and helpful. Restaurant on premises was excellent. Out room had a large terrace and a view of the cathedral and magnificent hillside across from us. Would certainly recommend this hotel. I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Palazzo Murat is a gem in the quaint village of Positano. The staff very helpful friendly and there to serve your every need. The on site restaurant was fabulous in a very romantic setting with live music which only added to the ambience. A complimentary boat ride along the coast was not only a pleasant surprise but also a great time with a stop along the way to swim don't miss this opportunity. I will return to this beautiful hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndriaF559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is truly a wonderful hotel not only because of the location, the gardens, the well appointed rooms and the restaurant but it is truly a great hotel because of the people. All of the staff, everyone, the front desk, waiters, maids and porters were just terrific. It did not go unnoticed that some of the staff were handling multiple chores depending on the time of day.

Filomena and Maria were always kind, courteous and professional especially when under fire so to speak. When we were having difficulty checking in and printing our boarding passes for our return flight Maria took it upon herself to drop everything she was doing to do that for us. When we requested our car to be ready at 6.45 it was ready. When we requested Cappucino in our room at 6.15 on our day of departure it was there. When we requested our luggage to be picked up at 6.30 it was done and delivered to our car. The service was just simply amazing, courteous and efficient in a very inconspicuous manner. We have traveled the world and have not had an experience like we had at Palazzo Murat. A lovely hotel with very special people in a spectacular place. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is very well located just up from the beach and down from the so called "square", which really is not a square. In any event it is very close to great restaurants and the pier, should you wish to day trip elsewhere. As for the hotel itself, it is a garden oasis in an otherwise congested area that is Positano. The hotel has a beautiful garden which is where you enjoy a plentiful breakfast in the morning and which also turns into a restaurant and bar area in the evening. There is also a nice quiet swimming pool. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful and do what they can to make your stay perfect. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which is a real treat. The room was large and full of antiques. We had a canopied bed in room 4. The bathroom was also fair sized with an American style shower/tub and lots and lots of Etro bath products. Our only disappointment was that we were unable to get a reservation in the restaurant for dinner even though we were staying there, so book ahead and enjoy.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel is full of charm with great seaview balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerleader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 39 in Positano
929 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 39 in Positano
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing