We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Miramare(Positano)
$413
$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montemare(Positano)
$569
$538
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$476
$462
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $684/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$422
$410
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano(Positano)(Great Value!)
$422
$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maliosa d'Arienzo(Positano)(Great Value!)
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palazzo Marzoli Resort(Positano)(Great Value!)
$412
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
$503
$419
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $513/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Le Agavi Hotel(Positano)
$931
$868
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,853
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveler rating
907
162
19
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
907
162
19
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgarden restauranta garden view roomnewer partamalfi coastcomplimentary boat tripour honeymoonvegetable gardensuperior roomperfect locationshort walk to the beachthe hotel offersthe hotel's restaurantnaples airportbottle of proseccobreakfast buffet isfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
490 - 495 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and a great location. The gardens are in a park like setting. The pool area was great. Staff warm caring and helpful. Restaurant on premises was excellent. Out room had a large terrace and a view of the cathedral and magnificent hillside across from us. Would certainly recommend this hotel. I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Palazzo Murat is a gem in the quaint village of Positano. The staff very helpful friendly and there to serve your every need. The on site restaurant was fabulous in a very romantic setting with live music which only added to the ambience. A complimentary boat ride along the coast was not only a pleasant surprise but also a great time with a stop along the way to swim don't miss this opportunity. I will return to this beautiful hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndriaF559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is truly a wonderful hotel not only because of the location, the gardens, the well appointed rooms and the restaurant but it is truly a great hotel because of the people. All of the staff, everyone, the front desk, waiters, maids and porters were just terrific. It did not go unnoticed that some of the staff were handling multiple chores depending on the time of day.

Filomena and Maria were always kind, courteous and professional especially when under fire so to speak. When we were having difficulty checking in and printing our boarding passes for our return flight Maria took it upon herself to drop everything she was doing to do that for us. When we requested our car to be ready at 6.45 it was ready. When we requested Cappucino in our room at 6.15 on our day of departure it was there. When we requested our luggage to be picked up at 6.30 it was done and delivered to our car. The service was just simply amazing, courteous and efficient in a very inconspicuous manner. We have traveled the world and have not had an experience like we had at Palazzo Murat. A lovely hotel with very special people in a spectacular place. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is very well located just up from the beach and down from the so called "square", which really is not a square. In any event it is very close to great restaurants and the pier, should you wish to day trip elsewhere. As for the hotel itself, it is a garden oasis in an otherwise congested area that is Positano. The hotel has a beautiful garden which is where you enjoy a plentiful breakfast in the morning and which also turns into a restaurant and bar area in the evening. There is also a nice quiet swimming pool. Staff are friendly and extremely helpful and do what they can to make your stay perfect. We stayed in the old part of the hotel which is a real treat. The room was large and full of antiques. We had a canopied bed in room 4. The bathroom was also fair sized with an American style shower/tub and lots and lots of Etro bath products. Our only disappointment was that we were unable to get a reservation in the restaurant for dinner even though we were staying there, so book ahead and enjoy.

Room Tip: The old part of the hotel is full of charm with great seaview balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheerleader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our two week road trip through Campania and Basilicata ended with three days at the Palazzo Murat. This was certainly the most expensive hotel of the two weeks, but oh, was it worth every penny! (It was also the only four star hotel of our trip, which helps explain the price; excellent value for money.)

Prior to arrival, the hotel gave us directions on how to find the parking lot (these included a jpg image of where it was!) and the email exchanges with Mr. Russo were clear, friendly and very helpful. We were off to a great start and we had not left Canada! On reaching the parking lot, a porter arrived as if by magic to help with the luggage, even though the reception desk was but a very short, downhill walk from the garage.

The welcome at the front desk was great and our room, number 21 in the new wing, was perfect. We had a nice little balcony, a sideways view of the sea and there, on the desk awaiting us, was a nice bottle of chilled prosecco, two glasses, a bunch of grapes and a Happy Anniversary card!

The room had an ipod docking station so that we could listen to our music and one of the nicest bathrooms of our trip through Italy. The shower in particular was fantastic.

While some hotels in Positano on on a cliff face and have better views of the sea, the Palazzo Murat is unbeatable for its garden and pool area. To be so close to the beach, right against the main pedestrian area down to Spiagga Grande, and yet to be so quiet, was really marvellous. No matter how busy we were/tired we got, coming back to the Palazzo was really nice! When all is said and done, we would choose the location, garden and pool over a hotel higher up with a better view from all rooms.

Breakfast was worthy of four stars, maybe five. The hotel offers a complimentary boat tour of the coast, which we took and enjoyed tremendously. There were only 4 couples on a boat which could have easily accomodated twice the number. That was nice. And we were given beach towels and a beach bag to go down to the beach. Also nice.

We had one dinner in the restaurant, outdoors in the garden. The great thing here is that the tables are not crowded together, so dinner becomes an intimate experience after sunset. A two person combo played light jazz and appropriate music, at just the right volume. Perfect! And the food? One of the better meals we had on our vacation in Italy, with excellent service and a good selection of wines.

After a bunch of days on the road, and with a week in Rome left on our trip, it was time to get laundry done. Palazzo Murat did a fantastic job at a reasonable price (who hasn't paid a crazy amount for hotel laundry in one place or another?)

On our last evening of the trip, I asked Mr. Russo if he had any suggestions for us so that we could get a picture of us with our car (an Alfa Romeo Spider convertible) with a coastal backdrop. He had just the solution for us: he told us to head east just out of town, where there was a big bend in the road and a lay-by. There, a fruit vendor with a three wheeled vehicle would be able to take our picture. Sure enough, Salvatore turned out to be a friend of Mr. Russo and an expert photographer to boot. Within five minutes, we had a bunch of fantastic pictures, and bought some nice grapes and a couple of lemons!

Palazzo Murat is near the top of our "must return" hotels!

Room Tip: Second floor in the new wing was great. Not too far to walk to breakfast, very quiet and a nice view. We would choose the same room again.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews