We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent quite a lot of time choosing between the most romantic hotels in Postiano for our 10th wedding anniversary and was very happy afterwards that we had decided on Palazzo Murat: it's just absolutely perfect! The location (just a 3 minute walk to the beach), romantic atmosphere, impeccable service, very comfortable rooms. You simply can't name it all. The restaurant "Al Palazzo" is one of the best in town and it is great for a candle-light dinner. The daily boat trip along the coast was a fantastic experience. The trip is offered by the hotel to its guests (we had booked ours in advance, as the boat fills up very fast).
If you want to spend an unforgettable romantic time and celebrate a special occasion - this is a place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmira_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I love this hotel! The location is great and it is absolutely beautiful. The gardens are stunning and the staff so warm and welcoming. We were upgraded to a superior sea view room on our last night which was lovely. I will definitely stay here next time. The garden view room was also very nice but I would recommend paying a bit extra for the sea view rooms to make the most of your stay in such a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week anniversary trip to Italy, and Positano was a dream come true for us. The Palazzo Murat is such a charming hotel, with beautiful gardens and our room was incredible - room 5 was a large suite, antique furnishings, and great views from 2 small terraces. The service at the hotel was superb and friendly, staying 5 nights we got to know all the staff, and they could not have been nicer. They arranged for our car service to and from the Naples train station. We loved the restaurant, Al Palazzo and dined there 2 nights of our stay. A special thanks to Antonio Russo, the hotel manager, such a friendly and cordial person who helped make our Stay so special. Location is very important for a hotel with the steep walks getting around Positano. Palazzo's midway location is the ideal location between the beach and great views

Room Tip: Room 5 in the older building has an incredible view and charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We absolutely loved everything about this hotel. First, the people that work there go out of their way to make your trip as wonderful as possible. The hotel grounds are so beautiful they don't seem real!! The room was complete Italian charm. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom amenities and shower were perfect! Eating their delicious breakfast in the courtyard every morning was such a joy!! I literally shed a tear leaving on our last day because it was a perfect end to our perfect 30th anniversary trip. They left no stone unturned!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Palazzo Murat. It has real character with a historical 'homely', yet stylish and classic feel. After dragging our bags a short walk down Positano's cobbled streets, on a hot day, we arrived to refreshing cold lemon welcoming drinks. We were thrilled to find a Happy Honeymoon card in our room with champagne and cherries. The courtyard was beautiful and reminded us of where we held our wedding reception. The outdoor courtyard and restaurant eating areas have a relaxed 'shabby chic' feel with beautiful flowers and candles creating a sense of effortless style. The small curved green coloured pool overlooks the sea as well as the stunning clock tower. The hotel has a natural and genuine appeal without the pretentious clinical appearance some other expensive hotels create.

We greatly appreciated the personal/ special touches added. Such as the letters addressed to us on our arrival and departure, and weather forecast cards placed daily in our room. We especially enjoyed the complimentary boat trip along the Almalfi Coast and made use of the towels in bags we were given.

The food was great too. We enjoyed complimentary biscuits after our dinner and deliciously sweet delicate meringues with our tea and coffee in the courtyard one evening. The hotel and it's staff made us feel special, just how we wanted to feel on our honeymoon in romantic Positano. Hopefully we will return for an anniversary one day.........

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at HPM. I echo previous posters' comments: very friendly staff, very clean, excellent rooms and facilities, very picturesque. The staff go above and beyond - really excellent.

We travelled with our baby and, whilst the hotel staff are very baby-friendly alas the other guests are not. Loads of dirty looks and tutting when our baby dared to not sit silently still. A shame as it took away from an amazing holiday and there is little the hotel can do about it.

Minor quibble about Wifi - it's there, it's free, but it isn't the fastest in the world. Think GPRS speed. The hotel has acknowledged this and has notices explaining it is outside their control.

The hotel restaurant is amazing. It's slightly above average price in Positano but well worth it. Different class of food compared to elsewhere, and the biggest wine list I've seen for a while!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angrydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Historic, central, quaint, grand but not ostentatious. This place is one of the best places we've ever stayed - just perfect. The breakfast in the morning on the terrace patio and lawn is fantastic. I'm sure there are other great hotels in this beautiful town, but this one is special.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor room. No view, but a wonderful patio out to the terrace lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toliver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
815 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $197 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing