We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is a hidden jewel in the "hustle and bustle" that surrounds Positano. Any hotel in this area requires a hike and this is no exception, however, once one reaches the Hotel it is like an oasis of tranquility. The hotel itself is an historic house built in the 13th century. the rooms are huge and with high ceilings and balconies overlooking the Mediterranean and Positano. The hotel restaurant is easily a five star. The waiters all speak English and are wonderfully interesting.
The hotel is in the center of shopping, which is to say, halfway up. One can go down to the beach and catch a water taxi to any of the wonderful restaurants that dot the waterfront on the Amalfi Coast. After lunch, you can spend time on the beach or shop, before returning to your wonderful Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our family of three loved this hotel! We had a charming room in the old section of the hotel. The ceilings were high, and we had a little balcony that overlooked the church and the town. The staff were professional and helpful. I loved that they provided us with a beach bad and towels to take to the beach, surprised my husband with a birthday dessert in our room on his birthday, included a boat ride along the Amalfi Coast with our stay, had champagne and cherries in our room for our anniversary, left water and lemon candies at night...so we were well taken care of. We did not use the pool but did enjoy their restaurant for dinner which was excellent. We also enjoyed the breakfast each morning in the garden. It was a great choice for us, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an authentic, yet upscale, relaxing Positano experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvialuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel itself and the location are fantastic. It's literally a garden in the middle of Positano, only 5 minutes walk to the beach down one of the busy lanes and a few minutes walk up to the local bus stop if you want to take the easy way up the hill.
The pool is quite new, set at the end of the garden with a view of the church and the sea, and well equipped with sun lounges and umbrellas, with poolside service throughout the day.
We stayed in room 5, one of the suites in the original building. It was beautifully decorated, spacious, had a gorgeous bathroom, 2 balconies, and views of the sea.
Breakfast in the courtyard was very good - great coffee, lots of fresh fruit, cereals, bread, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, cold meats and cheeses, and delicious pastries. You can also order freshly cooked eggs (fried, poached, boiled, omelettes) at no extra cost. We did!
The courtyard is also a great spot for drinks before or after dinner (lots of cocktail choices) and Al Palazzo restaurant at the hotel was wonderful - make sure you have dinner there at least once.
Last but not least, the service was simply first class. Nothing was too much trouble. They handled all of our dinner reservations, transport requirements, organised a special 50th birthday treat for me, and always with a smile and "prego"!
Any downsides? There is some music noise at night from other venues close by (take earplugs if you're concerned), the wifi is patchy and fiddly (which they're up front about), and the mattresses are quite firm (but this is the norm in Italy). But these are minor issues.
Make sure you stay here when you visit Positano - we'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 - 5 are in the original building - wonderful atmosphere and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

In July we spend a couple of days at Palazzo Murat and it was just perfect. Descrete luxury, beautiful gardens - you could even pick your own tomatoes for lunch - and a lovely pool. The view is awesome and the whole atmosphere is romantic, but not over the top. A piece of heaven in crowded Positano. Highly recommended, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diadav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for five days in August. I couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The staff was helpful and courteous, our room was wonderful with a beautiful view, and the food in the hotel restaurant was amazing. The gardens on the property are filled with lemon trees, basil, and tomatoes. It is centrally located and we easily walked everywhere. The car service that the hotel recommended was wonderful, as was our driver and tour guide of Ravello, Guiseppe Ferrara. We would recommend this hotel in an instant. Thank you Antonio for everything :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderfulstay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We came here for our honeymoon which was the perfect hotel for us. My husband ordered champagne and roses to the room and they took care of us during our celebration as well. Our room was amazing, a bath fit for a king. The views were amazing of the water as well as the dome of the church. Friendly staff, clean grounds - but in general the grounds are not only clean but just beautiful. They do a great job of making their resort feel more like an oasis. Their location in Positano in our opinion doesn't get any better. Steps to water and to the town.

Their breakfast is one of the nicest hotels breakfast bars we've seen and those usually don't impress us much. It could also be the fact you are sitting in a garden.

We'd recommend this place hands down as the only place to stay in Positano.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony and a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGlobalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

this hotel is really great, is located in the heart of Positano, allowing you to easily get anywhere. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the staff is very polite and professional. The food is great and the atmosphere is spectacular .... if I go back to Positano definitely book again here!! Congratulations to all the owners to the staff, you have given me a great stay!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arabafenicePositano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#7 of 38 in Positano
973 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#8 of 38 in Positano
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $222 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing