We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just return from a 5-night stay at Palazzo Murat & can't say enough about it, from the excellent service, the beautiful rooms & grounds & the fabulous location in town.

Helpful?
Thank nyctraveler12345_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    114
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
158
562
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

After several days of traveling and sight seeing from Rome to Chianti to Florence -- the Palazzo Murat was a welcome respite. When we first arrived the AC was not working in our room but the hotel staff was very accomodating and repaired the problem within hours. Our room was very comfortable and we slept well. Considering the hotel is walking distance from the beach and in the center of everything we were pleasantly surprised with the green spaces surrounding the pool. There is a vegetable garden and lemon trees on the property. The staff was kind, considerate and responsive. Breakfast was spectacular. Don't drive to Positano!!! We hired the Positano car service to pick us up in Naples and drive us back to Rome. After driving around Italy for a week it was nice to be chauffered.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms in the newer wing of the hotel and overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LevMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We researched the hotels in Positano before deciding to book Palazzo Murat and although there were more expensive ones to choose from, once we were there we were so pleased we had chosen it. Location is excellent- right in the centre, near the beach and restaurants, yet very private and quiet. The gardens are wonderful, jasmine covered arches and lemon trees and the breakfast terrace is lovely.
Breakfast was varied throughout the week, fresh fruit, meats , excellent cappuccinos and even pizza! To eat in the hotel restaurant, you need to reserve a table, even if you are a resident which caught us out but it's worth a visit as the food was superb and the atmosphere was very romantic.
Staff are very pleasant and helpful and the hotel is very well maintained and clean. We were reluctant to leave at the end of our stay but will definitely return. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in the newer extension and rooms in the old part of the hotel are more spacious and more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaffacakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely fabulous. We stayed here for two nights on a motorcycle ride in April. From the moment we stepped through the gate, the beautiful quiet gardens and welcoming staff helped us relax. We stayed in the new hotel building adjacent to the original palace. Our room was large, comfortable and had a lovely balcony overlooking the garden restaurant. Our view included the lovely dome of the church and surrounding Positano to the sea. The room was light and bright, with tiled floors that were immaculate. The bath sported three shower heads--handheld, rainshower, and waterfall (and great glass doors that did not leak. The bed was comfortable as well. The breakfast buffet, in the outdoor restaurant in clear weather, was extensive and delicious. Our dinner in the hotel was delightful, with excellent service, presentation, and taste.

Room Tip: Recommend staying the new hotel rooms rather than the palace. The spacious rooms have wonderful mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Loved this place. Do yourself a favor and eat at their restaurant. It was one of the best meals we had in Italy. It's a short distance from the ferry, an easy walk. It has beautiful gardens and a nice pool. I was very very happy that we stayed here.

The beds are a little uncomfortable but I felt like every bed in Italy I slept in was a little harder than I would have liked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wornoutshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just can't say enough good things about this hotel! The people are warm and friendly; always ready to help in any way they can. The location is perfect! Located below the car traffic areas, it is about 5 minutes walk from the drop-off area to the hotel. Porters come to take your luggage down to the hotel for you. It is another 5 minute walk down to the beach. Perfect location for families with children. Plenty of space in a standard room for an extra bed. We stayed in the historical section of the hotel which is breathtakingly beautiful. Rooms 1 thru 5 are on the top floor which I would recommend. Balconies are rimmed in bougainvillea. The grounds are large and very well maintained with a vegetable garden, terraced eating areas and a pool which we visited daily.

The rooms look just as they do on the website. We stayed in room #1 which has a view of the sea just as shown on their website. The rooms are cleaned daily with nightly turn-down service. The food is excellent as well as the service. My somewhat picky child loved the pasta with clams! The breakfast buffet is perfect for a light breakfast before heading out to sightsee.

One of the main things I realized after getting to this hotel was how thankful I was that it wasn't located on a street with speeding scooters and traffic trying to maneuver through the narrow roads. Also, since it is closer to the bottom, the walk to the beach was easy to manage. Upon leaving the hotel grounds, you walk down a wide footpath shaded by bougainvillea.

We did make several walking trips up the mountain to sightsee and while the vistas were spectacular, they were no better than at the Murat. Higher on the mountain, you must sightsee while avoiding the traffic which can be difficult with children. All in all, I write this review with tears in my eyes as I am waiting to head back home to the states. I miss my home, but I know I will definitely be back to the Murat!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 thru 5 are on the top floor of the renovated historical section and face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riley7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at Palazzo Murat in Positano in November 2012. The time of the year was well past on-season so many of the other 5-star hotels I were closed. The hotel is what one should for ‘5 star’ in Italy. The property was immaculate, ground well maintained, rooms clean and staff helpful. The overall feel – very laid back and romantic. The location is excellent and central in Positano – close to the beach yet, within the town. Vistas are breathtaking – even from our room to the ocean. The main, and starred, restaurant was closed, but the hotel offered a generous breakfast in the secondary eating area and gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biology100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing