We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Distinctive Palazzo in Positano"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
hamburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“" Distinctive Palazzo in Positano"”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

this is the second year we have been to the Palazzo, It was even better than last year, the little weather forecast cards on the bedside, lemon drops, and a goodbye gift, they really improved themselves, even they where good before. We are only staying at 5 and 6 star Hotels, but I picked the Hotel because of our two little dogs, and the short walking space for them to the beach.
We are more than pleased, the welcome back card, the very friendly and helpful stuff makes this the place to be for me. After coming form San Clemente in Venice and its refined, but cold team, the palazzo gave a complete different feeling. I`like fine hotels, and the Palazzo Murat gives you the comfort and warmth of a Hotel in its very best sense. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reiseliebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    148
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
169
619
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

On our short trip to Positano we stopped for lunch in the hotel gardens. It was lovely and peaceful even though just the other side of the bushes and greenery were tourists galore. Four of us had sea bass and salad and the other 2 had pasta dishes, all the food was lovely and fresh and reasonably priced. Would recommend eating there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from beautiful Positano and its #1 hotel: Palazzo Murat.
Last year we had spent a few wonderful days there. This year, being our 40th wedding
anniversary, we wanted something extra special. And we couldn't think of celebrating anywhere
else except Palazzo Murat.
.We had stayed at other nice hotels in Positano, but none compare to Palazzo Murat. It has the best location, with beautiful views of Positano. The rooms are kept in perfect condition. The buffet breakfast served in the courtyard is indeed wonderful, with smiling servers. The garden is an oasis of peace and beauty, where they grow their own vegetables & herbs. Our room had a huge terrace where we spent many magical hours.
Vito Attanasios and his family own the hotel and keep it in excellent condition.
The manager, Antonino, is a specially nice person who treats his guests like family, with respect and always with a smile. We consider him a friend. Carla, Concetta, Filomena, Nicola,
and the rest of the staff are all wonderful people who made our stay so memorable.
Now that the hotel will be opening their new pool, Palazzo Murat will be an even more special place that we hope to come back to next year!
Our thanks to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geniemtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

From the moment we walked into the hotel we knew our stay was going to be great - the location was perfect and the views over Positano could not have been better. Our room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the grounds and over the city. The beach was very close. Breakfast was served in the beautiful courtyard and the choice of food was extensive and delicious. We also had a group dinner in the restaurant, excellent wine and food. We had the pleasure of meeting one of the family who owns and runs the hotel and she was a gracious hostess.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SareyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is an overdue review. We had a sublime 5-day stay here with our 2 daughters last July. The location is perfect, the courtyard where breakfast is served was beyond beautiful, our rooms connected and were spacious and comfortable. Delightful! Hotel parking was even convenient!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This has to be one of the most beautiful and charming hotels we have stayed at. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff from Hotel manager to House maid.
The views from our room balcony (Room 18, superior double room in new part of hotel) was fantastic. Restaurant courtyard below us, gorgeous in the evening with glowing candlelights.

The location is ideal for the town. At the bottom of the hill behind the Church. I believe the hotels further up the hillsides are cheaper due to this fact.

Breakfast is served between 8am and 11am. All you can eat continental buffet. Waiters willing to top up your tea or bring you fresh Cappucino's.

Food in the restaurant is a delight though on the expensive side. But you soon realise that Positano is a very expensive place, definately not the place to visti on a tight budget.

Hotel Palazzo Murat is a beautiful hotel in glorious lemon grove gardens and courtyards, a very romantic setting. Especially in the evening. I had intended to propose to my girlfriend in Positano, maybe on one of the hillside vista's, beach, church square or one of the many terraced restaurants. Though as soon as i saw the Hotel Palazzo Murat's courtyard garden and old steps - I knew this was the place to do it!!

We fully recommend this hotel for a romantic break. Service is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We arrived in Positano for our Honeymoon & selected Murat and it did not let us down. We stayed in the rooms above reception which are the original and amazing. When arriving on a bus be sure to take the last stop in Positano and just walk down the hill/ stairs. Position of the hotel is great. Elevated enough for a view and close enough to the restaurants in town. Our favourite was the hotel's own restaurant! Breakfast outside in the morning was fantastic and staff very friendly. Overall it was and amazing experience.

Room Tip: Select the rooms nearest reception for an authentic Palazzo experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#5 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Murat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Murat

Property: Hotel Palazzo Murat
Address: 23 Via dei Mulini, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Murat 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Murat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Murat Hotel
Palazzo Murat Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing