We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelieveably Serene”
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2007

In a word : Magnificent. This albergo exceeded all our expectations and they were pretty high already!

The staff (many are family members) are unfailingly kind and courteous without being overly friendly. I actually looked forward to seeing them at breakfast everyday during that week. They remembered what I liked, disliked, made recommendations and brought me little special items from the kitchen. Dinner at the hotel was what you look the world over to find -- excellent food made from locally obtained sources, an excellent wine list, a magical setting beneath candlelight and soft music provided by strolling musicians. Ahhh...

The room itself was amazing. We didn't have the largest room nor the smallest but it was perfect. The room was beautifully decorated with items you hope to find for your home (and can if you visit the small shop across the street). The bed was comfortable, the linens superb and the view incredible. Every morning I would open the shutter-covered french doors to the balcony to let in the most amazing view of Positano and the sea. I didn't want to leave the room!

The bathroom is overly large and well appointed with an oversized jacuzzi tub, sep shower, bidet, and double vanity. The toiletries are a proprietary blend called Eau d'Italie....to die for scent.

The pool is lovely but small. Even in May it was necessary to get there EARLY in the morning to reserve a chaise lounge. The staff will give you a towel to place on the chosen spot and it is yours for the day. They circulate throughout the day with chilled water and fresh fruit. As I said earlier, it is hard to tear yourself away from the hotel......but there are treasures to enjoy nearby.

Take the back steps out of the hotel down to the water. Not only a great workout but a very quiet and private way to walk to the shore. We ever met one of the owner's coming back up to the hotel this way. She lives in one of the small villas behind/below the hotel. Check it out.

Other Postiano tips -- Try Max's for dinner, call Positano Cars for Rafelle and visit Pepitos for well-made line clothing designed and made in Positano.

Overall, you are in for the trip of a lifetime if you are lucky enough to stay at Le Sirenuse.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brooksz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 983 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed here recently on a second honeymoon. Friends of ours who are seasoned travelers told us that Le Sirenuse was their favorite hotel in the world, so our expectations were high, and the possibility for disappointment was very real. We were not disappointed. Our room was fabulous; the furniture all unique and beautiful. Everything in the room, from prints on the walls to the small touches were all were chosen with care. It felt like a guest room in a great private home, not a hotel. All this is before you throw open the shutters that lead to your balcony and one of the most stunning views imaginable.

The hotel's common rooms are magnificent. We loved ending every day with a drink at the bar .

Breakfast on the pool terrace every morning was sublime. It was my favorite moment of the day, indulging in the buffet and watching the activity on the beach below. Lunch and dinner were wonderful, and the concierge arranged some great meals away from the hotel. We loved the staff, and after four days felt like they were part of the family. The entire vibe of the place is unhurried and very relaxed, exactly what we were looking for.

Le Sirenuse isn't cheap -- and the weak dollar doesn't help -- but we felt that it was very much worth it for such a unique and unforgettable experience. Traveling in Italy we spent a lot more and got a lot less in other cities. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NY_Safariguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

This family owned hotel is elegant, romatic, and very private. Rooms are tastefully furnished with antiques. Guests are devoted to the atmosphere and the management. The hotel attracts a diverse, sophisicated, international clientel.

This is one of my all time favorites!!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vienna-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Well...this was a second stay for us!

When we first came, we were on our honey moon, and we could not have imagined a more beautiful hotel...It was simply PERFECT. My wife wanted to go back to the Sirenuse, but I was worried it could never match our first experience. I have to admit it was even more perfect this time - if ever possible- Our room which was bigger this time was beautifully decorated with the most exquisite antiques, as is the rest of the hotel, the view from our terrace, was so breath taking...The staff as professional as ever, remembered us and were always there to please every one of our wishes, and always always with a smile...But the food at their romantic restaurant was even more delicious than we remembered. And how to describe the beautiful Champagne Bar...as the sun sets, we sat there mesmerised by its incredible charm and elegance, drinking the most wonderful cocktails... How could you get disappointed here? It was even better than our first time...And that was a very hard to achieve!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GeorgyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We spent a long week-end in June 2006 at Le Sirenuse. We were in a party of 6. From the moment we arrived we knew we had come some where special. My husband and I were very curious to compare Le Sirenuse to San Pietro, where we had been for our honeymoon. Le Sirenuse wins by a long shot! What makes its so outstanding? The list is long. The hotel is a beautiful family home which is elegant and romantic, the location and views are breathtaking and the food and service exceptional. I loved the attention to detail: such as the choice of bed sheets in the bedroom (we went for Egyptian cotton), the small vanity bag in the bathroom which included a range of sun creams and the style and quality of the pictures and photgraphs in the gym! In other words it's not just the big things that are exceptional it is everything, both practical and aesthetic, to ensure that you have an amazing time. And we did. I have fond memories of enjoying champagne on the terrace, cooling off in the pool and then enjoying a home made ice cream and watching the sun go down whilst having a bath! (The bathroom had an enormous oval window with spectacular views.) We are all planning to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Caroline43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

My wife and I have been going to positano for the last 11 years. We usually go the first week of september every year. We have, however, gone in May, July and August as well. September is our favorite time. Our last trip was September, 2006. It was the first time we didn't travel alone. Friends of ours met us there and together we spent 7 unbelieveable days. Our friends had never been to the Amalfi Coast, so they joined us. They have been around the world to some of the most beautiful and exotic places, so we didn't know how they would like it. Well, needless to say they are hooked on Positano and most of all Le Sirenuse. I think one has to realize that Le Sirenuse is synonymous with Positano. It is an incredible establishment. We have been to all the other great hotels in Positano, but for us, Le Sirenuse is the best. The accomodations are quite lovely, bright airy rooms, wwith great views, the service is excellent, the staff fabulous, and the dining incredible. The outdoor dining experiece is almost ethereal. It is enchanting, peaceful and so relaxing. The staff at the pool is among the best that we have ever experienced. We have been travelling for quite sometime to some of the most exotic locations on the globe, but Le Sirenuse is right up at the top. Even the breakfast is an experience. It is relaxing, refined, and tasty as well. I don't understand how some
people find it changed.I find it has changed for the better and we will always return to Le Sirenuse in the future. Ihope this helps some readers decide on where to stay while in Positano. Any traveler who misses an oppurtunity to stay there, will be missing one great travel experiece.
Happy Travels!!
pdr1122

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PDR1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We were incredibly excited to stay at this hotel after hearing such wonderful things about it. When we arrived in the uninspiring lobby(!!), we assumed that there HAD to be more to this acclaimed hotel than what we were seeing, but for the most part, we continued to be unimpressed with everything else we saw. Yes, the location was good, the views were stunning, and we really enjoyed eating breakfast and lounging by the pool area, but there wasn't much more about the place that we found to be all that impressive. The rooms -- we saw two -- were tiny, and the linens were mediocre; this really was unacceptable given the fact that we were paying 495 euros per night. The service also left much to be desired: two of the front-desk staff that we encountered were condescending and, at best, indifferent. We are still scratching our heads as to why this hotel has received so much praise. We certainly would not go back.

As a reference point, we stay at a lot of Ritz Carltons and have never been disappointed.

Stayed: June 2007
12  Thank daveyhaeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
900 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $554 - $2,107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing