We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most Charming, Exclusive and Elegant Hotel ever...”
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most Charming, Exclusive and Elegant Hotel ever...”
Reviewed July 12, 2007

Well...this was a second stay for us!

When we first came, we were on our honey moon, and we could not have imagined a more beautiful hotel...It was simply PERFECT. My wife wanted to go back to the Sirenuse, but I was worried it could never match our first experience. I have to admit it was even more perfect this time - if ever possible- Our room which was bigger this time was beautifully decorated with the most exquisite antiques, as is the rest of the hotel, the view from our terrace, was so breath taking...The staff as professional as ever, remembered us and were always there to please every one of our wishes, and always always with a smile...But the food at their romantic restaurant was even more delicious than we remembered. And how to describe the beautiful Champagne Bar...as the sun sets, we sat there mesmerised by its incredible charm and elegance, drinking the most wonderful cocktails... How could you get disappointed here? It was even better than our first time...And that was a very hard to achieve!!!

  • Liked — the luxury, the space and the view
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    86
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
111
625
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We spent a long week-end in June 2006 at Le Sirenuse. We were in a party of 6. From the moment we arrived we knew we had come some where special. My husband and I were very curious to compare Le Sirenuse to San Pietro, where we had been for our honeymoon. Le Sirenuse wins by a long shot! What makes its so outstanding? The list is long. The hotel is a beautiful family home which is elegant and romantic, the location and views are breathtaking and the food and service exceptional. I loved the attention to detail: such as the choice of bed sheets in the bedroom (we went for Egyptian cotton), the small vanity bag in the bathroom which included a range of sun creams and the style and quality of the pictures and photgraphs in the gym! In other words it's not just the big things that are exceptional it is everything, both practical and aesthetic, to ensure that you have an amazing time. And we did. I have fond memories of enjoying champagne on the terrace, cooling off in the pool and then enjoying a home made ice cream and watching the sun go down whilst having a bath! (The bathroom had an enormous oval window with spectacular views.) We are all planning to go back.

  • Liked — Beautiful rooms and excellent service
  • Disliked — Could not find fault - it wa perfect
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

My wife and I have been going to positano for the last 11 years. We usually go the first week of september every year. We have, however, gone in May, July and August as well. September is our favorite time. Our last trip was September, 2006. It was the first time we didn't travel alone. Friends of ours met us there and together we spent 7 unbelieveable days. Our friends had never been to the Amalfi Coast, so they joined us. They have been around the world to some of the most beautiful and exotic places, so we didn't know how they would like it. Well, needless to say they are hooked on Positano and most of all Le Sirenuse. I think one has to realize that Le Sirenuse is synonymous with Positano. It is an incredible establishment. We have been to all the other great hotels in Positano, but for us, Le Sirenuse is the best. The accomodations are quite lovely, bright airy rooms, wwith great views, the service is excellent, the staff fabulous, and the dining incredible. The outdoor dining experiece is almost ethereal. It is enchanting, peaceful and so relaxing. The staff at the pool is among the best that we have ever experienced. We have been travelling for quite sometime to some of the most exotic locations on the globe, but Le Sirenuse is right up at the top. Even the breakfast is an experience. It is relaxing, refined, and tasty as well. I don't understand how some
people find it changed.I find it has changed for the better and we will always return to Le Sirenuse in the future. Ihope this helps some readers decide on where to stay while in Positano. Any traveler who misses an oppurtunity to stay there, will be missing one great travel experiece.
Happy Travels!!
pdr1122

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PDR1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We were incredibly excited to stay at this hotel after hearing such wonderful things about it. When we arrived in the uninspiring lobby(!!), we assumed that there HAD to be more to this acclaimed hotel than what we were seeing, but for the most part, we continued to be unimpressed with everything else we saw. Yes, the location was good, the views were stunning, and we really enjoyed eating breakfast and lounging by the pool area, but there wasn't much more about the place that we found to be all that impressive. The rooms -- we saw two -- were tiny, and the linens were mediocre; this really was unacceptable given the fact that we were paying 495 euros per night. The service also left much to be desired: two of the front-desk staff that we encountered were condescending and, at best, indifferent. We are still scratching our heads as to why this hotel has received so much praise. We certainly would not go back.

As a reference point, we stay at a lot of Ritz Carltons and have never been disappointed.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank daveyhaeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

My husband, in-laws and I stayed at LS for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week tour of Italy in May. My husband and I had previously stayed at LS in 2004 for 3 nights, as well. The first visit was absolute perfection. The location is breath taking, the rooms airy and beautiful with large balconies overlooking the sea. During our first visit, the hotel was largely employed with older gentlemen who catered to your every need. We were always addressed by our names, and the service was unparalled. During our recent stay I was disappointed that they did not even reference the fact that we were repeat visitors at check in. The staff seemed to have changed completely. One server told me that he thought that there was one employee who might have been working in 2004. Although, still beautiful, etc...the hotel seemed more like a Miami hip spot that the beautiful lady that she once was. They had a DJ at night and young women servers. The LS used to have a cd that plyed in the hotel all the time. The music was soothing and international, and you could purchase it to relive the experience once home which we did. The current staff had never heard of the cd. Also, during May you cannot eat dinner inside. The whole experience is the candle chandeliers and candle trees on the tables. Now we had dinner where we had breakfast near the pool. Although, nice, I won't be going back. The service that I appreciated the first visit just isn't there anymore.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My husband and I went to Italy in June of 2006 on our honeymoon and stayed in 4 different cities, and we had the PRIVLEDGE to stay at Le Sirenuse Hotel in Positano for 3 BEAUTIFUL nights. Of the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed at this one was by far the BEST, it was so luxurious and so well kept, and the staff was so wonderfully fantastic. They even have a Bose sound system in your room to play an ipod that they will provide for you (if you don't already have one) and will even put music on it for you for your trip!!! We will never forget our trip to Italy, and we will NEVER forget that hotel! It is rather expensive, but if you can stomach the cost, it is more than worth it- even if only for a few nights. If you can further stomach the cost see about getting a ocean-view room, a picture I took from our balcony is better than a postcard!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — the stairs... lots of stairs... but that is anywhere in Positano
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vafamof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed at Le Sirenuse June 17, 18 and 19, 2006 with another couple. While renting a villa near Positano the previous June, we had stopped in for lunch at LS and were impressed with its beauty and location. We had junior suite #72 with a sitting area, comfortable king bed and balcony with amazing views. The hotel staff were extremely cordial and helpful during our stay. On the first night my husband wanted to keep the two windows open to let in the pleasant evening breeze but there was too much noise coming from the beach way down below. With the windows closed and AC on the noise was inaudible. I liked the location - an easy walk into the areas of shops and restaurants, including a wonderful little pathway that led between houses and gardens directly down below the hotel to the beach area. (This is the only drawback of LS -no direct beach/sea access.) But it was far enough away from the bustling of the town to feel like an oasis. On the evening of the Italy-USA game of the World Cup, the concierge arranged for us to take a round-trip shuttle to Ristorante Ritrovo in the way-up-high village of Montepertuso, where we dined and watched the match (every establishment in Italy seems to have a TV going during Il Mondiale) in the company of mostly Italians - who were all very cordial, even after the game ended in a draw. Our favorite restaurant in Positano (besides the hotel's) is La Cambusa on the beach for lunch or dinner. We've eaten there many times and it is always excellent. On a final note, we left Positano to stay for four nights in Amalfi, and I wish we hadn't. The Hotel Santa Caterina, although beautiful, seemed a bit dowdy and worn after Le Sirenuse. The grounds are not as meticulously kept and there were dozens of chairs and catering stuff piled up around the elevator to the pool/beach area. And it's unbelievably noisy at night with wedding receptions. Amalfi is a good base for sightseeing in Ravello, Vietri and Paestum. From Positano, Sorrento and Capri are nice day trips by ferry. (A stay on Capri is much better.) But the best thing we did in Positano was renting boats - one day with a captain, the other without (Lucibello on the beach). Our captain Rafaelo took us to a great little cove for swimming, circumnavigated Capri, and then let us off at a waterfront restaurant near Nerano called La Conca del Sogno. This was one of the most amazing places we've ever eaten! No menu but the most fabulous lunch that featured a whole fish covered in 3" of sea salt, and pitchers of white wine with peach slices floating. The staff were extremely fun and nice.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJSCME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Positano
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#38 of 38 in Positano
360 reviews
5.5 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Property: Le Sirenuse Hotel
Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing