We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why all the hype?”
Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Why all the hype?”
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We were incredibly excited to stay at this hotel after hearing such wonderful things about it. When we arrived in the uninspiring lobby(!!), we assumed that there HAD to be more to this acclaimed hotel than what we were seeing, but for the most part, we continued to be unimpressed with everything else we saw. Yes, the location was good, the views were stunning, and we really enjoyed eating breakfast and lounging by the pool area, but there wasn't much more about the place that we found to be all that impressive. The rooms -- we saw two -- were tiny, and the linens were mediocre; this really was unacceptable given the fact that we were paying 495 euros per night. The service also left much to be desired: two of the front-desk staff that we encountered were condescending and, at best, indifferent. We are still scratching our heads as to why this hotel has received so much praise. We certainly would not go back.

As a reference point, we stay at a lot of Ritz Carltons and have never been disappointed.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank daveyhaeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    81
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
105
609
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

My husband, in-laws and I stayed at LS for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week tour of Italy in May. My husband and I had previously stayed at LS in 2004 for 3 nights, as well. The first visit was absolute perfection. The location is breath taking, the rooms airy and beautiful with large balconies overlooking the sea. During our first visit, the hotel was largely employed with older gentlemen who catered to your every need. We were always addressed by our names, and the service was unparalled. During our recent stay I was disappointed that they did not even reference the fact that we were repeat visitors at check in. The staff seemed to have changed completely. One server told me that he thought that there was one employee who might have been working in 2004. Although, still beautiful, etc...the hotel seemed more like a Miami hip spot that the beautiful lady that she once was. They had a DJ at night and young women servers. The LS used to have a cd that plyed in the hotel all the time. The music was soothing and international, and you could purchase it to relive the experience once home which we did. The current staff had never heard of the cd. Also, during May you cannot eat dinner inside. The whole experience is the candle chandeliers and candle trees on the tables. Now we had dinner where we had breakfast near the pool. Although, nice, I won't be going back. The service that I appreciated the first visit just isn't there anymore.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Travellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My husband and I went to Italy in June of 2006 on our honeymoon and stayed in 4 different cities, and we had the PRIVLEDGE to stay at Le Sirenuse Hotel in Positano for 3 BEAUTIFUL nights. Of the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed at this one was by far the BEST, it was so luxurious and so well kept, and the staff was so wonderfully fantastic. They even have a Bose sound system in your room to play an ipod that they will provide for you (if you don't already have one) and will even put music on it for you for your trip!!! We will never forget our trip to Italy, and we will NEVER forget that hotel! It is rather expensive, but if you can stomach the cost, it is more than worth it- even if only for a few nights. If you can further stomach the cost see about getting a ocean-view room, a picture I took from our balcony is better than a postcard!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — the stairs... lots of stairs... but that is anywhere in Positano
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vafamof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed at Le Sirenuse June 17, 18 and 19, 2006 with another couple. While renting a villa near Positano the previous June, we had stopped in for lunch at LS and were impressed with its beauty and location. We had junior suite #72 with a sitting area, comfortable king bed and balcony with amazing views. The hotel staff were extremely cordial and helpful during our stay. On the first night my husband wanted to keep the two windows open to let in the pleasant evening breeze but there was too much noise coming from the beach way down below. With the windows closed and AC on the noise was inaudible. I liked the location - an easy walk into the areas of shops and restaurants, including a wonderful little pathway that led between houses and gardens directly down below the hotel to the beach area. (This is the only drawback of LS -no direct beach/sea access.) But it was far enough away from the bustling of the town to feel like an oasis. On the evening of the Italy-USA game of the World Cup, the concierge arranged for us to take a round-trip shuttle to Ristorante Ritrovo in the way-up-high village of Montepertuso, where we dined and watched the match (every establishment in Italy seems to have a TV going during Il Mondiale) in the company of mostly Italians - who were all very cordial, even after the game ended in a draw. Our favorite restaurant in Positano (besides the hotel's) is La Cambusa on the beach for lunch or dinner. We've eaten there many times and it is always excellent. On a final note, we left Positano to stay for four nights in Amalfi, and I wish we hadn't. The Hotel Santa Caterina, although beautiful, seemed a bit dowdy and worn after Le Sirenuse. The grounds are not as meticulously kept and there were dozens of chairs and catering stuff piled up around the elevator to the pool/beach area. And it's unbelievably noisy at night with wedding receptions. Amalfi is a good base for sightseeing in Ravello, Vietri and Paestum. From Positano, Sorrento and Capri are nice day trips by ferry. (A stay on Capri is much better.) But the best thing we did in Positano was renting boats - one day with a captain, the other without (Lucibello on the beach). Our captain Rafaelo took us to a great little cove for swimming, circumnavigated Capri, and then let us off at a waterfront restaurant near Nerano called La Conca del Sogno. This was one of the most amazing places we've ever eaten! No menu but the most fabulous lunch that featured a whole fish covered in 3" of sea salt, and pitchers of white wine with peach slices floating. The staff were extremely fun and nice.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJSCME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We loved the Sirenuse and hope to come back soon.
The hotel has incredible views, antiques throughout (even in the rooms), and an exceptional restaurant.
The spa was also exceptional.

Their staff was understated, unpretentious, genuine, helpful and effective.
I thought it was on of the best I have ever encountered.

The rooms are private, quiet, have incredible views from their large private balconies, and are furnished with antiques.

The pool is lovely. Check out the photos.

  • Liked — The location, the staff, the food, the views, the town, the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing. No complaints.
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMH154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

My review is two years late (we stayed in June, 2005), but wanted to add a comment as I was just recommending hotels in Italy to a friend the other day.

Le Sirenuse is definitely the most luxurious, and best located, hotel in Positano as it's easy walking distance to everything (we hear Il San Pietro is a close #2; we had dinner there and it was *remarkable*; but it's a winding car-ride up the road from the main part of town).

We made the mistake of expecting our time in Positano to be 100% rest and relaxation. During the day, Le Sirenuse doesn't miss a beat: the pool scene is fabulous (quiet and relaxing), the service is impeccable and the food is truly amazing. The "happy hour" scene is also surreal...sushi bars, martini bars, nauseatingly beautiful people all socializing among the breathtaking views of the water over the cliffside of Positano. The spa at Le Sirenuse was a wonderful experience (great massage; very new and clean Euro-spa setting).

Where we went wrong was expecting a good night's rest at Le Sirenuse. "Billionaires playground" is what they call it, and it's exactly that. Don't go to this "best service on the coast" hotel to relax and rest well at night... go there expecting to PARTY (and not be able to sleep until dawn; literally)! The hotel bars are very close in proximity to the rooms (and the bed linens are subpar for this standard of hotel). Important to note: Try to pre-reserve a room that is NOT on the lower levels as the gardeners prepare the pool area early in the morning and you can hear the furniture moving like nails on a chalkboard through the tile... the LAST thing you need at 7:30AM when you've been up all night enjoying the high life on the patio with the locals.

Additional dinner options: 1) visit San Pietro up the road for fine dining (taxi), 2) visit "Max" closely down the hill (walkable) for the best lasagna you've ever had and 3) visit La Terraza further down the hill (still very walkable, but you have no choice other than to walk) for a great dinner...and most of all, a great "disco" scene!

If you're up for a mega-splurge, stay at Le Sirenuse for extraordinary scenery from the pool; outstanding service; unbelievable happy hour patio spot; perfect location in Positano and very little sleep.

If you're looking for a good night's rest, you might want to check out Il San Pietro up the hill.

Last note - just an observation: Positano, in general, does not seem to cater to those that have trouble walking. The hills are extremely steep and almost require that you walk (we don't remember any electric carts or many wheelchairs deep in the village of Positano).

  • Liked — impeccable service; amazing pool; fabulous spa; awesome location
  • Disliked — Lack of sleep.
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

we stayed here as a final stop on our honeymoon, after beginning in zermatt and then going to bellagio. the hotel was beautiful. the room was the smallest of the three we had been to, and the hotel was smaller than i had imagined. our room was really comfortable, and we didn't need it to be larger than it was. i believe we had a partial sea view, and there was a little balcony. getting to positano from bellagio was an ORDEAL! it began with a ferry, then a train to milan (and we missed the first one), a scary taxi to the airport, an awful flight to naples on the discounted lufthansa airline (airone?). figuring out how to get to the hydrofoil from the airport was not something we wanted to deal with, after already handling lots of travel details, not to mention that the hydrofoil schedule didn't fit with ours, so we had hired a driver, who did not show up until we called the hotel and asked them to take care of it. the drive to positano was very windy, and i felt a little motion sick. drivers in italy are pretty reckless compared to here. our driver was completely responsible, and the car was very comfortable. i'm glad we decided on that vs a bus. it was such a joy to finally reach le sirenuse, and we immediately consumed a complimentary bottle of prosecco. bubbly had never tasted SO good after that day of travel! anyway, we loved both the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel and the sushi/oyster bar/restaurant on the midlevel of the hotel. service at the pool was fantastic - we ordered many bellinis, which came with lots of snacks - nuts, chips, & olives. the lounge chairs were really comfortable - very plush - and you could sit on some that were at the edge of the pool so you could have your legs in the water to cool you off. we were in positano near the end of july, and it was TOO HOT! both my husband & i got heat rash, and we spent a lot of time indoors because we just couldn't stand being itchy & hot. just too hot to do much. it would've been better to be there in may or june. however, thanks to the beautiful property, we didn't have to go far to have a fantastic memorable meal. our last night we ate at the hotel restaurant, and i wasn't feeling very well, so we cut the meal short. the staff sent some herbal tea to our room, accompanied by some cookies, to help my tummy, which it did. very kind of them.

  • Liked — so many things on-site
  • Disliked — positano is a pain to get to
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiln28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 39 in Positano
822 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 39 in Positano
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 39 in Positano
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 39 in Positano
1,001 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 39 in Positano
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Property: Le Sirenuse Hotel
Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing