We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Jewel of the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Sirenuse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Jewel of the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights booked through Sovereign (Part of Thomson Group) - we looked at booking it independently but wanted the assurance of a tour operator in case the ash cloud descended again!

Le Sirenuse was everything we hoped it would be and more....we loved every exquisite minute we spent there. It has everything going for it - eye-watering views, gorgeous decor and furnishings, amazing food, and a buzzing, sophisticated yet relaxed ambience that made the place feel somehow timeless. Every member of staff without exception provided us with a personal, discreet and attentive service that was faultless.

We used the Sirenuse as our base for the week . During this time, we visited Amalfi and Ravello (ultimately our favourite town) , took a boat trip along the coast and visited Pompeii (well worth the trip, we could have stayed much longer). The area is undoubedly one of the most visually stunning in all of Italy however we were surprised and a bit disappointed by how difficult it was to actually get about. We were using taxis organised by the hotel at great expense which I think would put a lot of people off - it put us off and so limited our normal sight-seeing and explorations considerably. The Amalfi Coast road is treacherous to say the least and we felt quite ill with all the tight twists and turns and the breaking and accelerating so this was another reason (excuse?) to stick around the hotel a little more than we would normally do on our holidays. We hired a Smart Car for the day, however the driving conditions on the roads were so hairy that we were quite relieved to be handing it back with us and it still in one piece - not recommended unless you are a very competent driver!

As others have mentioned, the area has become very expensive and due to this and the limited opportunity to get out and about, off the beaten track we would probably not return to the area again.

This said, we would be very tempted to go back to Le Sirenuse for a long weekend as a treat to simply luxuriate in the surroundings of the hotel and its views - we have been lucky to stay in several other beautiful five star hotels in the past, but there is something quite enchanting about this place and I am sure we will be enticed back again one day.

BTW - We checked out Palazzo Sasso and The Hotel Caruso whilst visiting Ravello and also Il san Pietro (also in Positano) - If you are trying to decide between these and Le Sirenuse, go with Le Sirenuse - We had the same dilemma before came away and we were so pleased with our final decision in the end. As lovely as the others were, we felt they were lacking the vibe and atmosphere of Le Sirenuse and they felt almost a bit boring by comparison. We ate at Palazzo Sasso one night in the michelin restaurant - we had a pleasant enough meal, but not memorable and the dining room was really quite dull. Compared to dinner at Le Sirenuse in their dining room lit by hundreds of candles overlooking the twinkling lights of Positano there was no comparison in terms of experience and the food was equally good!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    77
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
101
580
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stopped at the Sirinuse for five nights to Celebrate our Silver Wedding, everything said by previous guests we agree with,fantastic service,attention to detail in all areas from porter / front desk / waiters etc however we think the area ( Amalfi coast) are in danger of pricing tourists to stop away, we talked to a lot of mainly British tourists and the odd American and always the price issue raised its head.We believe they only have six months a year to make their money, they certainly show it, sometimes shops and Restaurants are well pushy.
We did eat one night in the Hotel and chose the Chefs menu 90euro each plus drinks, the food was excellent many small courses presented in such a way so not to be eaten but preserved, 250 euro later we retired to bed.
Possible if the exchange rate was where it was pre crash it would be a lot more palitable
One restaurant we would recommend is the Lo guarracino,located in Positano, walk down to the beach then take the coastal path on the right, the views are superb and the pizzas are fab, ideal for a lunchtime snack and glass of wine, very reasonable!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertie135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

This has to be the best hotel in town. Our experience was beautiful from check-in to check-out. The staff is friendly and helpful. The public spaces are gorgeous. The rooms are wonderful - ours was very large with a balcony overlook the town and the sea. The breakfast was magnificent. The pool is great. The spa is terrific. I cannot think of one thing that I would change - not even the climb back to the hotel from town (everything in Positano requires going up or down steps). It is a definite return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchlcrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed at Sirenuse for 14 nights on our honeymoon and had a magical time.
Everything is perfect; the location is breathtaking, the hotel's public areas are furnished with antique furniture, many with interesting history. The food is michelin standard. The service is understated but utterly professional. The pool area is elegant and comfortable. Breakfast makes you look forward to the morning!

There is a price for all of this - the hotel is expensive but you feel that every penny is justified and more.

We took a sunset trip on the Riva Aquarama speedboat. It is something I will never forget and is worth the fee (which is substantial).

I've racked my brains to find a criticism but can only find one - a number of wall street players were present at the same time as us and took great delight in speaking loudly about their succeses on the markets and what they intended to do with the proceeds. After a few days this became tiring and I was glad to see them leave for their transatlantic flights. Hopefully the credit crunch means they will be a little quieter now (or without the funds to travel to Europe!)

Stay here - you will never forget it.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykonos Town, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

the location and the view was great . The restaurant was amazing , perfect for breakfast . We did not have dinner there but it was full of candles the hole night . The staff very kind , they helped us and upgrade our room . The beds , the towels , the linen were really luxurious .The housekeeping perfect . The spa was small but perfect decorated ,tres chic, full equipment with the most expensive work out machines . ... We have stayed at the best hotels all over the world this was one of our best staying .Loved the typical decoration , the feeling of the hotel . The bath amenities were perfect .You feel like a movie star there . Congratulations to the owners they know how to keep alive Positano and typical italian atmosphere .

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zouganelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

If I could not stay in the Sirenuse I would not return to Positano. Sirenuse is a destination in itself. With hundreds of reviews I will not go into great detail but will add my own key personal takes:

* Classy/elegant/romantic and HIP (not many hotels can lay claim to this!
* Great food/service
* Super views
* Daily (free) boat rides are real plus
* Super friendly but profesional service
* Great daytime music

As for some of the negatives that I have seen written
* Price (you get what you pay for in life and Sirenuse is well worth it)
* Room size (if you want big rooms go to Hyatt Mallorca/Hawaii) this is old Italy and just the way it is. We had a superior with great terrace and view. (in fact larger than my superior at Little Nell in Aspen)

So far the best luxury Euro resort hotel I have staid in

Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skisunpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Warning: You will never want to leave!

The Sersale family has created something very magical at Le Sirenuse. This albergo is stunningly beautiful--not only the rooms, but the opulently decorated common areas and the breathtaking dining room. And the views are unparalleled. The service that goes along with all this is gracious and unobtrusive.

All this luxury comes with a huge price tag, but if you can swing it, you won't regret it for a moment.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#14 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Sirenuse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sirenuse Hotel

Property: Le Sirenuse Hotel
Address: Via C. Colombo, 30, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#15 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Sirenuse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Sirenuse is a charming family owned hotel located in the heart of Positano. Opened in 1951 by the Sersale family who converted their summer house into a hotel with 12 rooms. The hotel has grown since then with the acquisitions of two neighboring houses to 59 rooms and suites. Le Sirenuse today is still run and managed by the Sersale family who ensure the same atmosphere of warmth and intimacy remain, while breathtaking views of the Mediterranean and the village of Positano make this an unforgettable place to spend a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Sirenuse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Sirenuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing