We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable boat trip to Capri”
Review of L'Uomo e il Mare

L'Uomo e il Mare
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Amalfi Coast day trip by Exclusive boat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Magical tours to discover the Amalfi Coast by sea Experts in boat tours in Positano, the pearl of the Amalfi Coast, we at “L’Uomo e il Mare” have chosen to share with our guests, already for many years, the passion for the sea of the Amalfi Coast and for all the beauties that it has to offer, every day different and every day new! The boat, you know, is a passion, and for those who have never done it before, or want to explore the most beautiful spots of Positano and the Divine Amalfi Coast, the best way to do it is undoubtedly by sea. A boat excursion in Positano with “L’Uomo e il Mare” is always able to give a magical atmosphere, a wild adventure, magical hidden views even when you travel on the most scenic and beaten trails and, above all, can turn out to be the most beautiful day of your holidays in the Divine Amalfi Coast.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We rented a private boat (it would have taken 12 but we were only 4, which was such a great luxury-we just didn't want to be at the mercy of anyone else) and it was hands down one of the best days of our trip. Left 9.30am on a Saturday after Lara helped us pay up and our captain, Alfonso could not have been a better guide. The weather was perfection and he pointed out lots of different rock formations and caves on our way to Capri. We chose to skip the blue grotto-the line was so long and we wanted to enjoy, not bob in the water-and don't regret it at all. We kept passing boats with more people on them and we felt so fortunate to be on our Romeo e Giuliette. Spent about 4 hours on the island-took the funicular up to Capritown (get out of Marina Grande as fast as you can-crowded and tourist trappy), walked around the fancy shops a bit. It was crowded and frankly the stores are all so expensive (not to mention we have them all at home), we grabbed an open air taxi to the Caesar Augustus hotel just outside of AnaCapri, where we had a quite expensive and utterly delicious lunch of Caprese salad and branzino grilled in salt-seriously a meal we will never forget with a view to die for. Walked around AnaCapri for a bit-much less crowded and sweet than Capritown, and had delicious gelato at Capri Creme Caffe and then took a cab back down to the Marina, got back on the boat and swam in the phenomenal water. We swam again in a cave closer to Positano...just delicious. This trip is absolutely worth it.

Thank somuchtosee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 45 reviews
"blue grotto"
in 64 reviews
"amalfi coast"
in 84 reviews
"entire crew"
in 4 reviews
"champagne toast"
in 4 reviews
"soft drinks"
in 13 reviews
"nice boat"
in 7 reviews
"tour company"
in 10 reviews
"chair lift"
in 7 reviews
"glass of prosecco"
in 6 reviews
"swimming stops"
in 5 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 7 reviews
"fabulous trip"
in 4 reviews
"the entire island"
in 4 reviews
"bigger boat"
in 4 reviews
"four hours"
in 8 reviews
"marina grande"
in 5 reviews

290 - 294 of 483 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would recommend a sunset cruise with Salvatore to my best friends!!! It was the highlight of our trip to Positano. Salvatore is a romantic and a philospher!! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting Salvatore and learning about his beloved home. If you are trying to decide between the numerous companies that offer sea excursions, you will not be disappointed with this company. Thank you Salvatore for making our 30th anniversary trip such a memorable trip!! Ciao!! Judy

Thank judy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

A last minute cancelation ensured us a place on the trip. About 12 tousists at the "mercy" of Chiara and Captain Alfonzo! The weather turned on us and even though the conditions were really challenging, the effort by our hosts were commendable, way beyond the expected! The tour around Capri was magnificent and informative. Absolutely worth it!

Thank Fanus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I took this tour on our honeymoon in late July 2013. It was one of our favorite days. The tour guide Chiara was spot on with all her suggestions. She was delightfully honest about what was worth seeing and how (private car with 2 couples driving around Capri) AND what was not (Blue Grotto). She was animated and fun. This was a great company and tour - ask for Chiara!

Thank LittleMaison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked the tour to Capri because we wanted to see the Blue Grotto and spend time on the Island. When we booked we were told that we needed to be aware that the boat would stop at the Blue Grotto and would wait if anyone wanted to go in. We said that was fine with us as we did want to go in and we were told there was an additional 12euros to pay.

The literature we were given and the itinerary that was given to us at the booth explained that we would visit the grotto and swim and then go to Capri for 4 hours and then go to more grottos at the end of the day.

The day didn't work out like this. We were dropped off immediately on Capri at 10.30 and had until 2.30. We went to Anacapri and went on the chair lift which was amazing.

Back on the boat we sailed past the Blue Grotto and were told that it was a "rip off" and we wouldn't be stopping. I was told that the wait was over an hour to get in and as we were on a shared boat so we wouldn't stop.

What you realise is that if the trip had been run as we were told, we could have visited the Blue Grotto in the morning before the queue built up.

Don't get me wrong we had a nice day. The guide gave us drinks and prosseco and cake and the island was beautiful and we had plenty of opportunities to swim.

One disappointing thing was that we had been told there was diving masks and snorkels on the boat but when we asked we were told they had been "broken" the day before.

The cost for the day was value for money. 9 Hour trip for 55 euros each. But if you want to see the blue grotto chose a different company.

1  Thank Peter_simpson_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Positanolife75, Direttore vendite at L'Uomo e il Mare, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hello Mr Simpson,
I think you are getting confused with other companies that you talked to before us.
We hardly ever go around the island in the morning as it's much busier, plus we like to do the swimming last and not first( all the other companies go around in the morning so you can imagine how busy it would be). And if you have the brochure you can see it does not specify the times of the tour. Also we never said that we provided masks as there is nothing to see there just really the lovely colours of sea.
Also this time of year the blue grotto is a nightmear full of boats, hundreds of people and fumes from all the boats waiting around so not the best place to spend 1 hour or 2 bobbing around! We have had problems with people getting seasick there so again there is a time limit that we can stay there.
We NEVER EVER guaratee the blue grotto just for that reason as we have a programme to respect and much prefer to take you swimming and sightseeing in the less touristy area.
Again I think you are getting confused with another company that might of promised to wait any time to show you the cave but most of the time they tell you that and then don't stop anyway.
I'm sorry for the misunderstanding but neither me or Andrea ever promised you the blue grotto.
We are glad in any case that you enjoyed the rest of the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Uomo e il Mare also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast

Been to L'Uomo e il Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing