We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best squid and tomatoe sauce ever”
Review of Santa Croce

Santa Croce
Ranked #33 of 85 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: $22 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Devon England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Best squid and tomatoe sauce ever”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had hoped to see the Suoni del Sentiero Degli Dei which the Wednesday we had chosen to listen to the music in the mountains was cancelled because of the threat of heavy rain.
Dripping wet we were welcomed into the restaurant to dry off and had Café Latte to warm up and wait until the restaurant began to serve lunch.
We started with a selection of their Antipasta della Casa. A mixture of ham, cheeses, roast vegetables, and sea food. all delicious. My wife followed this with linguine and fresh tuna with tomatoes and garlic. I had cannelloni with small squid cooked in a fresh tomato sauce. This with some of the tasty house red and of course a limoncello.
Very good service and excellent food more than made up for the initial disappointment of not hearing the saxophonists playing on the Path of the Gods.
Hopefully next time we will be luckier,, hear the music and eat at the Sante Croce

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    100
    24
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere, excellent food,”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed one week at a villa in Nocelle. This restaurant was 76 steps down (or up) from our place. This place is a breath of fresh air after some other touristic places in Positano. The food was excellent and in our opinion better than La Terra, de number one restaurant in the area. The service was very good, we were served by two young very polite and knowledgeable men
We ate there three time; the menu is limited but the fish was fresh and cooked to perfection!
We also had very good pasta and they have an impressive list of wine. We definitely go back there if we return to Positano

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beatriz967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A nice lunch...”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

After doing the Walk of the Gods (Nocelle to Bomerano and back), we stopped for a well deserved lunch! All the tables with front view were taken so we settled into our second row table, still with nice gentle breezes. Lunch was a nice rest, food was very good and highly recommend the house white. Service was very professional but we prefer a bit more relaxed style.

Kudos to the staff for handling a difficult matter while we were there....another guest came in from the walk, set her water back pack down and it leaked ALL over the floor. She ignored it while the staff used table cloths to soak up all the water. They were so patient, calm and tolerant of it....while her bag continued to make a mess and she read her book!!! I was so impressed with how they handled it!

Overall a nice lunch, professional service with pretty views. Be prepared for the check though, it was €10 more than our dinner the night before in Positano.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K&E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Great food. Outstanding view. Good service.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a nice restaurant with great fresh fish, good service, an outstanding view and a good value for the $. The other restaurant in Nocelle is Il Ristoro which is more of a pizza and pasta spot. You're not going to go wrong with either restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chicagotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The food is even better than the great views”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Situated along a section of the "Path of the Gods" that runs through the storybook village of Nocelle, Santa Croce is perfectly located to capture tourists – but this is no tourist trap. The house white wine is highly recommendable, and the pasta was delicious; I had the smoked mozzarella ravioli, and my husband ordered tuna linguini in tomato sauce, which came with the most flavorful olives we've ever tasted. This is one of few restaurants where the views play second string to the cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Croce also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Montepertuso, Positano
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing