We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour of Positano”

Discover Positano - Daily Tour
Ranked #20 of 46 Tours in Positano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This walking degustation tour of Positano is a downhill stroll through the small streets of Positano, stopping at eateries to taste local produce and places of interest to learn Positano's history. Escorted by an expatriate whose mother tongue is English and who is married to a local Positanese, this walk ensures small groups whilst being entertained by local knowledge on what to do, places to eat, history and culture of this wonderful town.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Positano”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked this tour in advance by emailing Christine and it was really terrific and I highly recommend it. I suggest doing the tour early in your Positano vacation, because she gives you lots of helpful tips and recommendations, besides all the iinteresting history and facts of Positano. We did her husband's (Vincenzo) wine tasting our first night and we learned a lot about Southern Italian wines and the tasting was lots of fun. We bought several bottles of wine, sausage and cheese over the next few days from his butcher shop and everything he recommended was delicious. Meeting both of them was a highlight of our vacation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank urlucky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    19
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A must if in Positano”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stumbled upon an advert for Christine's tours by chance pinned up in her husband's shop. We had already been in Positano 3 days but I e-mailed Christine that evening and she replied promptly early the next morning - early enough for us to take the guided walk that day and I am so glad we did. Christine was very enthusiastic about Positano. Apart form the history of Positano, she took us to her favourite shops where you can buy handmade sandals, red coral jewellery, ceramics and beautiful clothing. She explains a little about the history of how the items are made which makes it interesting for both male and females! Christine does not get any discount from these shops - she just explains these are her favourites and asks the shop owners to pass on the discount to the customers if they buy there afterwards. No buying on the guided tour as there is not enough time and she feels it is unfair for others to hang about waiting if people are buying. The tour was 25 euros each and lasted approx. 2 3/4 hours. Christine does not have a set time frame as she explains at the beginning it is approx. a 2 and half hour tour but depending on questions asked and walking pace may take longer. It is well worth the money and Christine is well worth the 5 stars I have given her.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank carbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, US
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do this tour!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I booked this tour with Christine about a month before arriving in Positano via email. There were very clear directions on where to meet her and she was on time! We were the only 2 on the tour as others had cancelled-the weather was not scheduled to be good. Christine took us on a lovely tour through Positano stopping in different shops to explain the significance and history of the different industries-linen and ceramics. Then to sample different food by an artisan butcher which was to die for. She was so friendly and informative about the Italian culture and history. She is a native English speaker so no problems there. This tour is worth much more than the 25 euros she charges. She also offers a wine tasting experience-which we did not do because I am not a lover of wine- but I can only imagine it would be fantastic. I definitely recommend this tour! It is fantastic!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Positano Butcher”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have been to Enotica Cuomo Butcher 3 times this week and meat has been excellent. Suggest you try his big curled sausage for a treat. If using BBQ in Positano it will more than likely be charcoal. Suggest you buy fire starters when you buy the charcoal otherwise it can be difficult to get enough heat. In Australia we use gas so this was quite different.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour, try and do it on your first day!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Being from Australia we had actually herd by word of mouth about some Aussie chick who lives in Positano now and does these tours and it was a great way to learn about the place. We forgot until we arrived and then booked a tour with Christine.
It was great, she was very genuine and friendly with everyone in the group, it was nice and intermate as she has a limit of only 15 people per tour.
We learnt the history of Positano, found out about the shops and eateries and also sampled some of the local food with her husband which was delicious.
They also do a wine tasting in the evening, we are not wine drinkers but thought why not it's next to our hotel, it was great. Her husband was very passionate about the wines and antipasto we were sampling, you could tell he really enjoyed what he was doing. So even though we still won't be big wine drinkers we thoroughly enjoyed this extra part of the tour.
We wish we remembered to do the walking tour the first day we arrived, Christine's tour gives you a real perspective on Positano and you have better knowledge of the eateries and places to visit in and around Positano. Good onya Christine!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Positano - Daily Tour also viewed

 

Been to Discover Positano - Daily Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing