We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant walk through Positano!”

Discover Positano - Daily Tour
Ranked #19 of 44 Tours in Positano
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This walking degustation tour of Positano is a downhill stroll through the small streets of Positano, stopping at eateries to taste local produce and places of interest to learn Positano's history. Escorted by an expatriate whose mother tongue is English and who is married to a local Positanese, this walk ensures small groups whilst being entertained by local knowledge on what to do, places to eat, history and culture of this wonderful town.
2 reviews
“A brilliant walk through Positano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Our group of 9 thoroughly enjoyed Christine's walking tour of Positano on 9th July. Christine's knowledge of the history of Positano and local traditions was perfect. The walk was easy on the legs for the older folk in our group and the tasting samples of local produce was delicious. Thank you Christine & Vincenzo for a wonderful 2.5 hrs. Perfetto!

Helpful?
Thank Digthatjive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    19
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This tour is a MUST and leaves you loving Positano even more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

You will appreciate and love Positano so much more after this tour. We booked it last minute and it was the BEST tour we did in all of Italy. Christine is your tour guide and she is absolutely incredible. She gives you so much history, culture, food, and inside scoops. Everything she recommended we did and were so glad we listened to her. We went to her husband's deli twice and it was the best food we had during our trip to Positano. (The sundried tomatoes are incredible!) You get a fun tasting and you finally have your bearing for how Positano is laid out and what to do/where to go. If you only have one day here--do her tour! You get all of Positano in her 4 hour tour! If you are spending more than one day--go here on your first day. It pays off considerably. You even get to meet many of the shop owners who adore her and you feel like a local because they will remember you when you mention that you visited with her. She is fantastic and makes Positano even more magical. Don't miss her tour!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank tadamsRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dv66051
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little too many store stops for our taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The store visits got a little old as the tour progressed. Meeting Pepe and Mamma Lightning was fun, and the lemoncello at the end of the tour definitely hit the spot! The family winery stop was long and very warm (no air circulation) which made it seem to last forever. We personally feel there should be more balance between shopping info, photo ops and an enhanced history of the city.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank dv66051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect introduction to Positano!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

My party of 6 well traveled women happily took a private tour with Christine our first day in Positano July 2 2011. We had a fantastic experience!!

I found out about Christine through the reviews on trip advisor and am delighted I booked her for a private tour. She provided us with the perfect mix of history, logistics, culture and local color. From churches to shops to food tasting it was exactly what we needed to kick off our holiday!

I found Christine on tripadvisor and am delighted to have booked her for a private tour. Its true she hosted a cheese, olive and salami tasting with her Positano born husband. They did a lovely wine information section but didn't sample since they aren't licensed to do so. No sales pitch....just yummy local nibbles and a lovely bit of information.

My 5 companions including one who has been in the travel industry all raved about our time with Christine. Her ability to give us a sense if history and family was just the right touch. Positano is a jewel and so is Christine!!




We had a lovely stop for cheese and salami tasting and wine info. At no point did this feel like a sales pitch! We adored the cheese and olives so much we went on our own later so we could

Helpful?
2 Thank Phillygal1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A town needing a few days to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had been to Positano one time before and chose to come back for a more intimate stroll through the shops downward to the beach. We only had a few hours, but realized we will be back and need to spend a few days. The town itself is a tourist haven but fun. There are so many handmade items to buy - linens, sandals, lemon scented candles. Above all it's the store owners that make it fun to buy. The beach is full of energy and excitement. As you look back up the hill there are so many different views that it is difficult to choose which is the best. Many tours stop at the top for pictures and the view of the town. It's not enough. Being in the town and feeling all the energy and surrounding beauty is a requirement if you are visiting the Amalfi Coast.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelplannerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discover Positano - Daily Tour also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Discover Positano - Daily Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing