We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful hosts, itty bitty breakfast”
Review of Casa Celeste

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Positano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Celeste
Ranked #46 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Although the bus directions to the B&B were intimidating, it was actually quite easy to find. I loved the location. A nice 15 minute walk to downtown Positano and the main beach plus a nice challenge of stairs heading straight down to Fornillo beach. I'm not too experienced with staying at B&Bs so I found the breakfast to be quite small (bread and tea) as I need protein in the morning! The terrace where breakfast is served is beautiful. I even bought a pizza for lunch one day and also ate this on the terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoenixHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2011

My mother and I stayed at Casa Celeste for two nights in March 2011. The booking process was very easy. I e-mailed Marco, who responded promptly with room availabilities, prices, and directions on how to arrive using public transportation. Upon arriving at Casa Celeste, we were warmly received by Marco, who carried our bags up to our room, and his mother Celeste, who gave us her delicious limoncello. We stayed in Room 1, which had one large double bed, and also a smaller twin size bed. It was very spacious and had the most gorgeous view from its balcony, with views of the town and the sea. Some of the guidebooks recommended Room 5, which has vaulted ceilings, but it has smaller windows and no balcony (you can walk out to the roof from room 5, but you will literally be on the roof). I much preferred Room 1, which had a nice airy feel. Celeste, her husband, and her son Marco are very kind, warm, and go above and beyond the call of duty to be helfpul. It really felt like staying with family. Breakfast consisted of bread and homemade marmalade, which was delicious, as well as your choice of tea or coffee. It was admittedly a bit limited, but I think this is common for smaller hotels and bed and breakfasts in Italy. The value for money was excellent. We paid 88 euro for our room with a view, and I am told by friends who frequently visit the Amalfi coast, this is almost unheard of in Positano.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kavi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights. Mama Celeste was super friendly. The space was beautiful and pleasant. The only problem was that we had no hot water in our shower. When we told them about the problem, they didn't fix it or follow up. It was a bit of a downer not having hot water especially in early March when it was rather brisk and the house was pretty cold. Otherwise a nice place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aclo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Casa Celeste is a MUST! My friends and I were staying in Firenze and wanted to travel down to Positano. We had to look up a hotel/B&B because all of the hostels were full. I called and spoke to Marco's father, who was very helpful. When we arrived we mostly dealt with Marco, who was absolutely wonderful. Mamma Celeste was brilliant. Toasted bread with homemade jams that are to die for. The coffee was wonderful, of course. It's not a 10 minute walk from the center and beach, not 3 minutes from wonderful restaurants and they have their own bar at the beach. Plus, they have wonderful homemade limoncello! :) If you go to Positano, you NEED to stay here. It's quite inexpensive--and I'm a student! I plan to travel back to see the family and stay there again! Thanks for everything, Casa Celeste!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our stay at Casa Celeste was excellent. Mama Celeste is very freindly and understands and speaks English very well. Her son Marco is very nice and is great to deal with when making reservations. Very quick responses to any questions you might have through emails. The house is very clean and nice and the views out your window is excellent, you couldn't ask for more. I can't wait to return and I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Casa Celeste. The family are so warm and welcoming , it was like staying with your own family. Celeste's homemade Jams and Marmalades in the morning were a perfect way to start the day, whilst your drinking strong coffee and taking in the perfect view of Positano from the balcony. It's a few steps (500) to the small beach, where they also have a Bar where you can rent beds, for €7 a day. Guido & Marco are full of great chat and will shout you a shot of Limoncello for the way back up the stares. Try and get the roof room - where you will get an unspoilt view of stunning Positano. Staying here really made our holdiday very special and memorable. Also in a very good location to restaurants and bars - the Music on the Rocks club is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katefraser85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Casa Celeste is definitely a good place to stay in Positano. Good means comparable to what is available in the town in general.

1. Location is ok. Not very close to the beach (515 steps (yep, we counted :) ), but the whole town is full of steps, and you get used to them. And it is quite close to the road which means you could drive almost next to the hotel to leave your bags. (Some hotels there are located in the middle of endless staircases, so getting there with heavy luggage maybe very difficult. Luckily, not the case in Casa Celeste). It will take you some time to walk to the center from there (apprx. 20-30 mins if you go straight from the hotel), however, if you first go for a morning swim, then it is only 15 min stroll along the beach from the close buy Fornillo beach to the center. The center is the place from where all cruise boats leave and excursions to places to Sorrento, Capri, etc, and where the main beach is located. There is also a bus stop just outside the hotel.

2. Rooms. Ours had a small balcony with a nice view on the seaside. Inside, the room is smaller than you would expect from a hotel with comparable price in other locations. Everything is very simple, and yet it has charm of its own. NOTE: the hotel does not have any accessibility arrangements (you will need to climb the stairs to your room).

3. Breakfast. Again, very simple but lovely. Homemade marmalade, toasted bread, butter and tea/coffee. I am not sure, but I think you cannot have lunch or dinner in that hotel, though restaurants are very close.

4. Atmosphere. You do feel welcome. There is something very charming and sincere about the house, the owners and the town.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olgav1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.1 mi away
Vittoria
Vittoria
#24 of 38 in Positano
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Il Pertuso B&B
Il Pertuso B&B
#2 of 2 in Montepertuso
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Venus Inn B&B Positano
Venus Inn B&B Positano
#20 of 53 in Positano
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Caravella Positano
La Caravella Positano
#27 of 30 in Positano
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dimora del Podesta
Dimora del Podesta
#5 of 53 in Positano
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Celeste

Address: Via Fornillo 10, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Celeste B&B in the heart of Positano,walking distance to the beach, shops, restaurants, port and bus stops. Run by Celeste and her family, the B&B offers rooms with sea views, family suites and single rooms for those on a budget. Celeste's family also has a beach bar and various restaurants around town. Stay with our family and feel like a local in the heart of Positano, the pearl of the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing