We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Rip-off,Microwaved food,Rude Staff and overpriced Beer.”
Review of La Zagara

La Zagara
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Positano
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Complete Rip-off,Microwaved food,Rude Staff and overpriced Beer.”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Visited here one of the nights of our holiday, found the staff rude and dis-interested, food was horrible and overpriced, 6 Euro for a 4inch microwaved Pizza, small bottle of Beer 8 Euro!! This place is a tourist trap who just want your money...Best advice KEEP AWAY!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boom1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    352
    162
    73
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pastries and coffee in la Zagara positano italy”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The cakes are delicous we had them from here twice now, but on this occasion we decided to sit in the garden out the back, . It's somewhat romantic , a little slow on service when busy but hey who is in a hurry we were'nt? It is a little on the expensive side , most cakes/paStries are around 4euro the coffees are the same sandwiches and slices of pizza are appx 6 euro so it's not cheap but the place is fairly famous and been in business since 1950 so it's worth doing at least once.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great casual lunch spot”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is more like a deli-cafe that does casual food really well. Good size portions of pizza or toasted sandwiches that are ideal for a light lunch. They could probably do with a few more waiters, but overall, for a small fee, this is a nice lunch spot. The desserts are also a highlight.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced, rude staff, food terrible and cleanliness nothing I ever seen before..”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went to this place ordered two pizzas, very small I may add, that came out microwaved, then two glasses of beer.. Pizza €6 each and glass of Beer €8 this is a disgrace! Under one of the tables I watched a Cat go to the Toilet and then as I was leaving seen two cats on the kitchen work tops! When I mentioned this to the waiter staff and the price I was told "to mind my business and if you not like get out you are only stupid tourist we take your money you eat what your given". I have travelled all over the world this is the worst I have ever experienced. KEEP AWAY!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My mixed salad had brown, wilted greens and HAIR in it. The service wasn't rude but definitely not friendly. It's a tourist shack. Look for another spot to escape the heat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erininportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Zagara also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
 

Been to La Zagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing