We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place in Italy”
Review of Villa Flavio Gioia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Flavio Gioia
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Our favourite place in Italy”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The location is perfect, the rooms are great, the service fantastic. We stayed with our teenage daughters, we had a ocean view studio and they had a standard studio with no view but large room with small kitchen and bathroom. The setting is perfect with the church next door so we saw lots of weddings in the Piazza in the front of church. Also the private garden and courtyard for the hotel is lovely. Maria gave us some great tips, one of which is the restaurant at Montepertuso where all the produce cooked is grown on the property. We had so much food. When you arrive at Positano, it may be worth getting a porter to take to your bags as there are 2 flights of stairs as well as the stairs in the hotel, (no lift but its only 3 levels high). Porters are 5 euro per bag. Will be back for sure

Room Tip: Ocean views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    24
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
82
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I stayed at the villa flavio gioia end of june for 7 days in one of thier apartments with a sea view....It was breathtaking, the location was great and the staff was very helpful and freindly. I recommend highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celi7699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 relaxing days at Villa Flavio Gioia after travelling for 3 weeks. Friendly, helpful staff. great location very central to shops cafes, 2mins to beach. the room had a view of the sea, we would have drinks on the balcony and admire to views.I would stay here again,very comfortable beds

Room Tip: All rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights. We had apartment #15 with sea views. Christian, the owner, and Maria are really helpful, nice people and speak excellent English. The room was a delight - clean, airy, sunny and with great views from the balcony. All the things the other reviews rave about! In room Wi-fi internet - wasn't free but very reasonably priced.

We felt we had struck lucky when we got there, having never been to Positano before, as the location was as good as it got. Anywhere further up the hill is going to be hard work getting back to if you go down to the centre of the village and the beach (and you will!). The Villa's location is in the heart of the village in the pedestrian only area.

Our recommendation is to use the porter service (5 Euro a case/bag) because you are going to have to take your bags down 150 metres otherwise - and ours were heavy! We also wouldn't hesitate to recommend getting a car to pick you up if you are doing anything other than driving there yourself (and we absolutely don't recommend driving there - parking alone will cost you a fortune). Positano otherwise requires multiple changes of transport just to get there. Having got there the hard way, we came back the easy way using the car and the porters and it was a breeze. Christian or Maria will arrange the car and porter. Car was 95 Euro to Naples station. We loved staying at Villa Flavio Gioia!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlannJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed in the garden villa with 2 friends in late May. We had 2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, living room, kitchen, large outside patio, and a large yard. It was a great for entertaining. The beds were very comfortable. The location was quite- even though the entrance is located on one of the major walkways to get down the the beach. The beach is a short walk away. Christian and Maria, who work in the office, are extremely helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I have stayed at this lovely hotel every year for the past five years and I have never had a complaint. The location is perfect as it is only a few steps away from the main beach, shops, and restaurants. The seaview rooms have terraces overlooking the sea and church.. Perfect for a afternoon of reading, sunbathing, and people watching. The large rooms are always immaculate and they even have a kitchenette if the mood strikes to cook. The staff is welcoming and friendly which is a huge plus. I look forward to my yearly trips to beautiful Positano especially because I get to stay at such a perfect spot.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank posigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We actually had booked to stay in the Hotel Royal Prisco, however when we arrived there they had a problem with the plumbing and had transferred us to Villa Flavio Gioia. We were fine with that, and to help us out with our luggage Royal Prisco organised for a porter to transfer our luggage to the other hotel. Beware of this! We thought they were doing us a favor considering we were inconvenienced however we had to pay the porter 50 euros to transfer our luggage.

The hotel is good. the location is great, it is at the bottom of the hill close to the beach. Rooms are spacious and have a little kitchenette and balcony that overlooks the beach. The receptionist was rude to us on a daily basis and very unhelpful. She seemed to be nicer to my parents who could speak Italian.

Overall the hotel is fine but it did leave a bit of a sour taste in our mouthes just because of the attitude of the receptionist.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#4 of 38 in Positano
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flavio Gioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flavio Gioia

Property: Villa Flavio Gioia
Address: Piazza Flavio Gioia 2, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Flavio Gioia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa Flavio Gioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Flavio Gioia Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing