We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place, nice room, expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Caravella Positano
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I travelled to positano for 3 nights and stayed at la caravella. When we arrived we were greeted by Rosa who is a great person, and quite the character. Unfortunately she speaks no English so it was very hard to ask her questions and to get answers from. Our room was small but nice located on the roof of the building, no in room phone, wireless internet was not included with the room and it costs 10 euros per day, there was no front desk or reception which was very strange, even when we paid the bill it was done in the laundry room. All in all we were happy with the place and we mainly booked it because it was on the beach but... Next time we go to positano if we do! We will not stay on the beach because every night around 6 to 7 pm a disgusting smell pollutes the beach and the town as positano dumps all the sewage into the bay at this time daily. Needless to say we didn't swim once we googled what this smell was and found this answer!! It's unfortunate but I guess when you live on cliffs next to the ocean.. Where else can it go. If we were ever to return we would stay in sorrento and visit positano for a day, and we would not eat in positano as things are very exspensive as it is a remote location.

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 126 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

We just came back from Positano where we spent 3 nights at the Caravella (May 1-4). Our experience with the hotel was excellent. We had a nice room with the sea view and a little balcony where we could enjoy our evenings sipping wine and admiring the magnificent horizon. This period is just right to visit Positano and enjoy the still not overcrowded beach, bars and cafes. Caravella is situated right at the beach (just a walking path separates the hotel from the beach) so there's no need to look further. The best thing is that you fall asleep listening to the sound of waves... The rooms are very nicely furnished with typical amalfitan mosaic on the floor. In the hotel there's a little kitchen space so you can make yourself some tea/coffee or even cook sth if you want to. The landlady Rosa will surely take care of you, she's always friendly and joking.
We definitely recommend Caravella if you like petit, cosy and charming places! Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kar0lina2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My partner and I and another couple booked the two room Stella Apartment in September for three nights and couldn't have asked for a better spot. Right on the beach and near all of the restaurants and shops, the location is the star of this hotel. Everyone walking by on the beach looked with jealousy at our patio on the beach. The employees at the hotel were very welcoming and we all had a fantastic stay. It was the perfect kick-off to our two weeks in Italy.

For a great two room suite, book the Stella Apartment. When you arrive, go to the walkway on the far right of the courtyard, next to the pizzaria and call Eva to show you to your room. We also arranged transport through the hotel from Rome to the hotel, which was an ideal way to arrive. The pricing was equivalent to the pricing on trains to the hotel, and there was no need to use a bus from Naples.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jstanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed La Caravella Appartment Nina from August 27th until September 3rd 2011. The position was fantastic, central and right on the beach front, couldn't ask for a better location. It is worth paying the extra for Eva (the owner) to organise the transfer for your arrival and departure as this made it very helpful on our arrival.
We were greeted by Eva and Roberto who were a delight to deal with and made sure that we were well looked after and comfortable through out our stay. We were two families travelling together with 4 adults and 5 children and would definitely stay here again the next time we are in Positano.
Thank you for a wonderful experience and thankyou Rosa our children love you!!!!!
Carmela, Vince, George, Rosie and kids
P.S. We Miss You Rosa.

Room Tip: Ask for appartment Nina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carmela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We chose this hotel for its location which is right on the beach and close to the ferry. There is no reception office to check in and the gate was locked. We got a scolding from one of the residents that live there that we trespassed on his property to gain access to the hotel. We paid extra for a sea view room and luckily I checked since the room we were brought to faced the cliff. Rosa did not speak much English so she called someone who said that they were completely booked and they could move us to a larger room with a sea view the following day. Well that was not acceptable so we finally got a room on the roof which did have a view but it was very small. I'm not sure I would stay here again although it is in a c=great location especially if you arrive by ferry. I would not stay here if you are arriving by car or bus since you'd have to walk down the hill.
Rosa did recommend a restaurant next door that was excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InConstantMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have travelled to Positano for our daughter`s wedding which took place in the church of Santa Maria Assunta . We choose the hotel La Caravella because of the proximity of the hotel to the church. Our, was a lucky choise, as we found the hotel perfect for our needs, The hotel personnell ( Including the owner ) were very kind and made every efforts to make our stay pleasent . The hotel is wright on the beach and near the embarcadero, so it could not be any better

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul187804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When we arrived we were surprised as there was no reception. On calling the telephone number on the sign we eventually got met by Rosa, quite a character, who showed us to our room. The room had a great view overlooking the beach, however we spotted that the room next door was bigger with a large balcony. Rosa finally let us have that room at no extra cost. The room had a small kitchenette and although relatively basic was spotlessly clean. it turned out to be one of my favorite places we stayed on that coast. Being right on the beach is such a bonus, to hear the sea in bed is lovely. Positanos shops and restaurants are right beside you. The price seems quite high for the standard of room with no breakfast but the location more than makes up for it

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank marshall303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
Hotel Conca d'Oro Positano
#21 of 38 in Positano
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#13 of 38 in Positano
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Covo Dei Saraceni
Covo Dei Saraceni
#15 of 38 in Positano
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 38 in Positano
984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence La Dolce Vita
Residence La Dolce Vita
#14 of 30 in Positano
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caravella Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravella Positano

Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 23, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range: $290 - $900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Caravella Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Caravella Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravella Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing