We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful !!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Caravella Positano
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely Beautiful !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed La Caravella Appartment Nina from August 27th until September 3rd 2011. The position was fantastic, central and right on the beach front, couldn't ask for a better location. It is worth paying the extra for Eva (the owner) to organise the transfer for your arrival and departure as this made it very helpful on our arrival.
We were greeted by Eva and Roberto who were a delight to deal with and made sure that we were well looked after and comfortable through out our stay. We were two families travelling together with 4 adults and 5 children and would definitely stay here again the next time we are in Positano.
Thank you for a wonderful experience and thankyou Rosa our children love you!!!!!
Carmela, Vince, George, Rosie and kids
P.S. We Miss You Rosa.

Room Tip: Ask for appartment Nina
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    16
    12
    30
See reviews for
34
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We chose this hotel for its location which is right on the beach and close to the ferry. There is no reception office to check in and the gate was locked. We got a scolding from one of the residents that live there that we trespassed on his property to gain access to the hotel. We paid extra for a sea view room and luckily I checked since the room we were brought to faced the cliff. Rosa did not speak much English so she called someone who said that they were completely booked and they could move us to a larger room with a sea view the following day. Well that was not acceptable so we finally got a room on the roof which did have a view but it was very small. I'm not sure I would stay here again although it is in a c=great location especially if you arrive by ferry. I would not stay here if you are arriving by car or bus since you'd have to walk down the hill.
Rosa did recommend a restaurant next door that was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InConstantMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We have travelled to Positano for our daughter`s wedding which took place in the church of Santa Maria Assunta . We choose the hotel La Caravella because of the proximity of the hotel to the church. Our, was a lucky choise, as we found the hotel perfect for our needs, The hotel personnell ( Including the owner ) were very kind and made every efforts to make our stay pleasent . The hotel is wright on the beach and near the embarcadero, so it could not be any better

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul187804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When we arrived we were surprised as there was no reception. On calling the telephone number on the sign we eventually got met by Rosa, quite a character, who showed us to our room. The room had a great view overlooking the beach, however we spotted that the room next door was bigger with a large balcony. Rosa finally let us have that room at no extra cost. The room had a small kitchenette and although relatively basic was spotlessly clean. it turned out to be one of my favorite places we stayed on that coast. Being right on the beach is such a bonus, to hear the sea in bed is lovely. Positanos shops and restaurants are right beside you. The price seems quite high for the standard of room with no breakfast but the location more than makes up for it

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marshall303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Dreadful hotel! my partner and I stay here for 3 nights for a wedding in Positano. A big mistake, over priced and over rated.

You can not fault to location of this hotel as you are right on the beech and if you get a sea view room then it is not so bad. We paid for a sea view room (bookings.com) when we arrived, an Italian lady who spoke very little English showed us to our room which was not a sea view and had two windows facing the cliff. This room smelt of smoke and was not pleasant. The other 2 nights we were moved to a sea view room on the top floor, this room was a lot smaller but a sea view as promised.

I would stay well clear of this hotel! It is very expensive for what it is!!! Staff not helpful and it was lucky someone was actually around when we arrived to show us our room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NottinghamKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Positano hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#28 of 39 in Positano
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
#39 of 39 in Positano
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ostello Brikette
Ostello Brikette
#37 of 39 in Positano
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Positano
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#31 of 39 in Positano
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caravella Positano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravella Positano

Property: La Caravella Positano
Address: Via Rampa della Teglia 23, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Caravella Positano 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your La Caravella Positano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravella Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing