We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornillo

Il Fornillo
Ranked #26 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The restaurant is more of special occasion restaurant with meals a little more expensive than the others near by. The steak I had was delicious but a little expensive. The owner the night I was there was a little upset as it was raining and the outside tables were getting wet.....all added to the entertainment!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lnh1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    267
    110
    52
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late night and the front desk recommended this place boy am I glad that they did. They were closing as we arrived and stay open for me and my wife as we were starving being on our honeymoon we had been traveling all afternoon and we enjoyed the food and atmosphere so much we ate here for every meal in our two day stay in positano. The food was excellent and fresh. I am 100% Italian and love the food it reminded me of my moms cooking. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous and made us feel like family. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a great atmosphere, fresh food and a great view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurizi028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

As a married couple we ate here for the first night of our stay in Positano and as a result of the truly lovely food we then ate here every night for the remainder of our stay. The menu was excellent and with sufficient variation to allow any number of visits and the food was good value for money. The staff were attentive and most friendly and helpful.
The cleanliness was excellent overall and the toilets were the cleanest toilets I have ever seen in any restaurant in any country of the world! (and I have visited most)
I can thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best seafood pasta ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I ate pasta at Il Fornillo, that was the best, that I had eaten anywhere ever, let alone my three weeks in Italy. In case you are wondering which one, it was the seafood pasta. Lovely fresh seafood. A delicious fish broth made up the sauce with a few cherry tomatoes as well and garnished with parsley I believe. The recommendation for the restaurant came from Teresa at Casa Teresa.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a very good meal and it was well served.....the wine list was more than adequate. The view if you are sitting outside is wonderful....although it was raining while we were there and sat inside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornillo also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Fornillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing