We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly beautiful location with stunning views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly beautiful location with stunning views.”
Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed at the Palazzo Marzoli for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. When we arrived it was raining but the hotel booked lunch for us in a nearby restaurant who came and picked us up then brought us back to the hotel after - free of charge! Cant say weve ever experience this before anywhere in Europe. Our room was a little small but really lovely, clean and bright and modern. Lovely bathroom too. The balcon was also a little smaller than expected but the views made up for it - absolutely stunning! All the staff were freindly and helpful. Breakfast was a bit disappointing but we sort of expected it from reading other reviews.
Positano is a lovely lovely resort with many good restaurants - quite expensive but its Italy. We found a Trattoria close to the hotel which was excellent - the food was so tasty and the prices were very reasonable. Met many Australians and Canadians there who were travelling Europe and stopping at Positano for a couple of days. Didnt see Brad and Angelina unfortunatley!
Try to visit Amalfi by boat. We got the ferry from the harbour which was very reasonable and such a lovely trip along the coast. Amalfi also very nice and quaint. A bit touristy but to be expected. We also went to Pompeye which was just mind blowing - and we got the bus to Sorrento then the train to Pompeye - so easy. But a long day, luckily it wasnt too hot for us either. What a wonderful place. We also went to Ravello which we thought was breathtaking. The views are probably even better or equal to Positano and its such a quaint little place. Again get the bus to Amalfi and then another bus to Ravello. Had a lovely meal at Da Vincente? near Cafe Positano and some musicians came in and played (had to tip them obviously) but it was so nice. Didnt have such a good meal at Cafe Positano though, steak fatty and undercooked but still charged full price for it. All the people we met were so friendly and lovely. Would go again in the future.
Jackie & Mick (early 50's)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    73
    45
    23
    36
See reviews for
63
206
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

My husband and I started our honeymoon here and it was absolutely wonderful. We arrived by train in Naples and the hotel arranged a pick up for us at a cost. You can also take the train to Sorrento and then a bus (that drops you off right next to the hotel), but not knowing where we were going, this was a definite plus.

The hotel is set back from the city center and beach but the walk is very enjoyable, though quiet a few stairs so flats are a must. The staff here is very helpful and guided us through most of our journey. If you are looking for restaurant recommendations, just ask the gentleman there in the evenings...and listen to everything he says.

Breakfast on the veranda every day made for a very enjoyable morning. The view is amazing. We loved Positano and we loved Palazzo Marzoli

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlillie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2010

I took my partner to southern Italy for his birthday and we decided to make Positano our base for exploring the Almafi Coast and it was easily one of the best decisions we have made. Perched on breathtaking clifts which reaches the cloud level, Positano is charming and breathtaking. It lies along the 'Blue Ribbon Drive' and offers easy access to either Sorrento to the west or Almafi to the east.

We had a pleasant 3 nights stay with Palazzo Marzoli. For the price, the rooms we had were generously spacious, clean and comfortable. The design of the room is very eclectic (I have attached some pictures for reference) with a cosy balcony overlooking the Almafi Coast. Despite located along the main road, we never really had any problems with the noise of traffic. In fact, it is a plus point as it is easily accessible to the highway. The hotel is family-ran and we were very impressed by the friendliness of the staffs, especially the owner Eva who is a lovely Italian lady. Oh, there is also a jacuzzi on the main terrace which should be ready in summer.

Just a note for travellers with cars, parking is expensive in Positano.

In summary, romantic breakfast on the private balcony overlooking the gorgeous Positano makes the stay at Palazzo Marzoli worthwhile. Highly recommended.

r

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siyuesihao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It had one of the most gorgeous views in the world and had recently been renovated. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. You will get a bit of a workout walking down to the restaurant they recommended (250 steps I believe) but after the incredible dinner you will need the workout to get back up!

The Amalfi coast is absolutely gorgeous... and this is a fantastic resort to enjoy the best part of it...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindybolduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

On November we stayed 3 magical nights at the Palazzo Marzoli Resort. The hotel was an excellent choice in any aspect: beautiful and clean room, Large beautiful balcony overlooking to a stunning landscape ! The owners are warm and friendly and willing to assist with any request you might have. The hotel itself is charming, elegant, delicate and touched with a magical welcoming atmosphere ! We hope to be lucky and visit Positano again in the future, no doubt We’ll choose to stay in this lovely hotel again ! Grazie mille per il tua ospitalit’a e ci vediamo ! Pnina and Amos Ilani, Israel

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beutifullhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

We recently had a great trip to Italy with another couple and had the opportunity to spend time in Florence, Siena, Naples, Positano/Amalfi Coast, and finally Rome.

Palazzo Marzoli was hands down our favorite. Surprisingly it was the most reasonable of all the hotels on our vacation. The rooms are very spacious, clean, and well appointed. The breakfast served in the room every morning was a great perk.

The staff was truly sincere and accommodating. They extended an attractive room rate to our driver Juliano and made the hotel garage available to him to make it easier for us to load and unload. The friendliest staff we encountered.

Can't wait to visit the beautiful Amalfi coast and stay at Palazzo Marzoli.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edj320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This hotel had to be the highlight of our 1 week trip to Italy. I usually like to write pros and cons, but there were only pluses with this hotel IMO. To be a little more specific:

ROOM - The room was absolutely beautiful and very, very large! When we walked in the room, we were not used to so much space for hotels rooms we have stayed in Europe. The balcony was absolutely amazing and about 1/2 the size of our room, along with a 4 person table! It overlooked the ocean and all of Positano facing directly below us. We must have woke up every morning and tried to take pictures (which of course did not no justice to the views we saw) from our balcony as we sipped our room service café, hot croissant, and other breads delivered free to our room (you put your order and delivery time the night before on your door). The room had a smaller flat screen tv on the wall and a king size bed and a large sofa. The bathrooms were very nice, good size for Europe, and looked like it was brand new -- I believe this hotel is only about 2 years old. They also had a large jacuzzi in the hotel, but we did not use it as we were there in December.

LOCATION - The steps to get down to the beach, albeit a long walk down, are close to the hotel entrance. The SITA bus stop, which took us to Positano (beach), Amalfi (great shopping!), Sorrento (to catch the trains to Naples and Pompeii), and the ferry to Capri was about 20 steps from the front entrance also. There is an awesome restaurant up from the hotel that we ate at for 2 nights of the 4 we were there. We even sat at the bus stop for an hour to watch the locals interact, as they kind of used it as a meeting spot to hang out during the day.

STAFF - We can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. Although the owners (husband and wife) spoke limited English, we could easily get our point across to them and friendly is friendly in any country! They went out of their way to help us figure out places to eat, sightsee, and get around -- the husband even ordered a car service (free) to take us to a recommended restaurant and the wife found the timetables for the ferries to Capri, so we can plan ahead. Every day we came back to the hotel in the evening and they asked us how our day was and what we enjoyed -- very hospitable. Felt much like a B&B, as much as it was a hotel (only 8 rooms, I think).

All in all, I have been excited to go back to hotels I love because of the comfort and quality of the room, but the service here really made it stand out to other hotels I have stayed at in Europe. Of course, it did not hurt that we got a great rate for going in the offseason...I hope to be back again as it is such a beautiful and romantic area!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travaille2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#30 of 39 in Positano
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#26 of 39 in Positano
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#39 of 39 in Positano
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#16 of 39 in Positano
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marzoli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Property: Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Positano
#18 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marzoli Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant boutique hotel Palazzo Marzoli is an old historic home of the late'' by an intimate 600 A charming resort, an alternative to the traditional hotels in Positano, which is a perfect blend of luxury, technology and ricercatezza.Ampi and light to spaces reserved for guest rooms, all with sea view with bed and breakfast.Il relay mode, in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, is furnished with taste and attention to detail: dominate the whiteness of the wall and blue ceramic tiles and complements '' arredo.Completamente renovated respecting its original architecture, as evidenced by the capitals of the facade and the portal'' s era, the Palazzo Marzoli resort is the ideal location to spend a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Marzoli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marzoli Resort Hotel Positano
Palazzo Marzoli Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing