We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved our 6 day stay at this charming hotel. It was spotlessly clean, the rooms were spacious, and the views from the the balconies were spectacular. The breakfast was more than adequate for us. We loved being away from the crowds in the town and beach area. A good walk or bus ride away.
The staff, Carla, Eva, Vito were amazing and couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
The description of the connecting room was ambiguous, and not what we expected, so be careful if booking this. Carla and her staff were able to rectify the situation and change our accommodation .

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    73
    45
    23
    36
See reviews for
63
206
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee FL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

First I want to say that, when it comes to hotels, to me newer is better. I never really got the whole concept of old charm, that is until I stayed at Palazzo Marzoli. Everything about this hotel screams old world charm, and yet it's beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and perfect in its simplicity. The obvious winner is the amazing location, but then you pair that with excellent, attentive service and the experience becomes magical. The rooms are simply decorated with beautiful dome ceilings painted in the traditional white. Beds are comfortable and everything smells clean and fresh. The large terraces perfectly enhance the view. You will love sitting here at any time and just enjoying the magic of Positano and the Amalfi Coast. The bathrooms are a perfect mix of modern and old. The only negative if you can call it that is you can hear the old plumbing from adjacent rooms but that only adds to the hotels charm. Finally, the ladies at the front desk were extremely helpful and professional and made our stay even more magical. They made dinner arrangements for us with a local restaurant (ask them about it, you will love it) and they even had someone pick us up and drop us off. We highly recommend this hotel. (Ps. I wish they wouldn't charge for wireless Internet, the ten Euros per day is not really necessary)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I definitely didn't realize how far up this hotel was from the beach. But the hotel itself was very nice. the staff was friendly, curtious and helpful with directions, taxis and dinner suggestions.
If you're going to Positano for the beach I would avoid this hotel...unless you're up for a lot of expensive taxi rides or walking up a lot of stairs. If you like the stairmaster, this would be for you. They do offer an occasional shuttle but it comes so infrequently that unless you're great at planning and can stick to it, it might not be worth scheduling around it.

Room Tip: The room we had was gorgeous! I think they all would be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was one of the easiest hotels to find in Positano & we didn't have to lug our luggage up massive lots of steps or anything like you'd have to do at other hotels there. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the stunning view!! The Rooms were very clean & tidy, the beds were comfortable. The balcony was AMAZING and the best part of the whole hotel!!!

Everything was ideal and very Italian and just what we were looking for. The complimentary shuttle was great, although we'd walk into town every day (maybe a 10-15 minute walk Max), then at the end of the day we'd catch the shuttle or bus home. Very Easy.

The staff were amazing and nothing was a problem. The 24 hour wifi we paid for was great and not overly expensive and nice to have. The breakfast was adequate although we learned quickly to put the time we wanted breakfast 15 minutes after when we'd want it as it always arrived early, which was all good.

I'd go there again in a heartbeat. It's not cheap, and people were saying it was outside of town, but honestly we needed the walk after all the fine food and wine we were having!!! It was the quiet retreat in a busy place! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywood
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was a delight to rise above the busy town of Positano to the calm of the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The views from the rooms were breathtaking. The local bus passes the front door - don't even think of driving in Positano during the summer...One piece of advice - if seeking adjoining rooms check that they are separate - something got lost in translation here - but the general atmosphere of the hotel made up for that. Carla is the only Italian we have met who speaks Irish Gaelic !

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are not too noisy and have great views -higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelSHolywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located high above the town, but the views are spectacular. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We had a room with a balcony where we were served a continental breakfast every morning. The bus stop for the local town bus as well as for the SITA bus is just around the corner. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle several times a day down to the shop and beach area. A staired footpath down the hill is directly across from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSB33702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a great few days at this location. After leaving Rome this was a nice place to relax and enjoy some down time. Excellent view of the ocean and a pleasure to dine on our little patio every morning for breakfast. Excellent staff and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#31 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montemare
Hotel Montemare
#25 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#18 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#39 of 39 in Positano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marzoli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Property: Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Positano
#18 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marzoli Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant boutique hotel Palazzo Marzoli is an old historic home of the late'' by an intimate 600 A charming resort, an alternative to the traditional hotels in Positano, which is a perfect blend of luxury, technology and ricercatezza.Ampi and light to spaces reserved for guest rooms, all with sea view with bed and breakfast.Il relay mode, in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, is furnished with taste and attention to detail: dominate the whiteness of the wall and blue ceramic tiles and complements '' arredo.Completamente renovated respecting its original architecture, as evidenced by the capitals of the facade and the portal'' s era, the Palazzo Marzoli resort is the ideal location to spend a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Marzoli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marzoli Resort Hotel Positano
Palazzo Marzoli Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing