We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't recommend this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Despite paying extra for a superior room with a terrace we ended up with a comfort room and small balcony. We booked through hotel.com, they were not helpful and the staff at the hotel were in denial that there was a problem. Poor service and location. Breakfast was small. Lots of hidden extras with using Internet, parking, air con doesn't work if you leave the room or open door on balcony. To end on a positive note, room was big and clean and if you stand on the balcony the views are great.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PelosiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms were a good size especially for Europe. But the bathroom had a really strange smell. When they checked it, they said they couldn't smell it! It wasn't a bathroom-type smell, just something strange. Was there throughout our entire stay (3 days). Breakfast was very nice. Not an American breakfast but still nice. Croissant and coffee were quite good. Best croissants we had during our two week stay in Italy. We personally didnt like the location. We knew it was higher up in Positano but were told they had a shuttle. Well the shuttle has very limited hours and was not very convenient. One staff member spoke good English, the others not so much, which made getting informaiton rather difficult. All in all, a nice place but I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to friends. If you want a good location near shops, restaurants, etc. or a convenient way to get there, this is not the place to stay! They have a nice terrace with a hot tub, which we did not use but heard others complaining that it was cold, which it was. One more thing, if you are out on your little balcony, the air conditioner automatically shuts off! Also, when you leave for the day, they turn the A/C off, which makes room quite warm when you return and then if you want to go outside to enjoy the view while the room cools off, you can't because the A/C cuts off too! You have controls in your room to adjust the A/C while you are in there but I dont think they control anything. It seems to be controlled by the front desk!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1129path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really not guest-centric. Quite far away from where all the action happens, which can be a good and a bad thing. The hotel didn't really let us know how the bus system worked, so we had to figure it out ourselves. Beautiful view. Felt they overcharged us for things - We opened a small bottle of Prosecco from our mini bar, and it was off so we left it without drinking it. The next day when we checked out, they insisted we pay for it, even though we had not touched it. We hired a car, and they charged us for a 24hr parking in their garage, even though they had organised for the car hire company to fetch it that same afternoon. The staff were very unhelpful when we checked out...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great week in Positano. Position of hotel good for getting buses to Sorrento and along the coast to Amalfi. Be prepared for steps. The hotel offers to drive you down the town at certain times during the day a much appreciated service and the buses are regular and run on a loop around positano so you can always get back to the hotel without climbing the dreaded steps. Our room was light, airey and clean with a great view from the balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Premium customer service from the friendly staff, who were always willing to answer all queries with excellent advice. Great location with a bus stop 50m away and a convenience store and bar just as close.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poz327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ver clean, super friendly and great views. The location is very convenient for buses traveling along the coast. The breakfast is simple but you can enjoy it with amazing views of the sea. The staff are great and provide lots of helpful tips and recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Interior is newly decorated. Beautiful view of the coast and Positano village from our balcony. Centrally located if you are there with a car and want to drive to other destinations in the Amalfi coast, but far to walk if you want to go to the beach. Breakfast is very limited, wifi is expensive (and did not work). It is not a resort - although it says there is a restaurant (you have to be shuttled to the restaurant) and spa (it is not on site). Great Trattoria walking distance (exit hotel and walk to your right - it is on your left-hand side)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBdiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#22 of 38 in Positano
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#11 of 38 in Positano
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#5 of 38 in Positano
1,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Albertina
Casa Albertina
#31 of 38 in Positano
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marzoli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Positano
#21 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $289 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marzoli Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant boutique hotel Palazzo Marzoli is an old historic home of the late'' by an intimate 600 A charming resort, an alternative to the traditional hotels in Positano, which is a perfect blend of luxury, technology and ricercatezza.Ampi and light to spaces reserved for guest rooms, all with sea view with bed and breakfast.Il relay mode, in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, is furnished with taste and attention to detail: dominate the whiteness of the wall and blue ceramic tiles and complements '' arredo.Completamente renovated respecting its original architecture, as evidenced by the capitals of the facade and the portal'' s era, the Palazzo Marzoli resort is the ideal location to spend a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Marzoli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marzoli Resort Hotel Positano
Palazzo Marzoli Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing