We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a long walk to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Marzoli Resort
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Positano
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Firstly, the Palazzo Marzoli is extremely clean and the staff are very friendly. The room we had was quite large and had a wonderful view. The only thing you need to be aware of is the long walk down the streets and stairs of Positano to the beach. It might not be so bad at other times of the year, however we were there in the heat of summer so it was a real struggle. The point of going to the beach is to cool down so to have to walk the long distance home totally defeated the purpose of going to the beach as a long cool shower was needed on our return. You can catch the internal Positano bus which only stops a few meters from the Hotel but it only runs every 30 mins and in the peak season is packed and cannot take all passengers that want to travel on it which is a bit inconvenient. The breakfast provided is ok ... European breakfasts are very different to how we eat at home (ie. I would never normally eat something sweet for breakfast) ... breakfast consisted of a Crossiant (the Italians refer to them as Cornettos); yoghurt; orange juice; and tea or coffee. I would recommend that if you ask the hotel to arrange any of your transport etc, to get a quote from other providers (there is a place on the left as you walk down to the beach). On a number of occasions I found a signficantly cheaper quote elsewhere and when I mentioned the price difference to the hotel they agreed to do it at the cheaper price. In terms of restaurants in Positano, we had some great meals at Fornillo (mid way up the hill); and Buca di Bacco (down near the beach). You really can't go wrong in Positano for food ... it is all pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Marzoli Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 368 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

For the seasoned traveler who expects superior accommodations and service, Palazzo is your Hotel in Positano. This hotel features spectacular views and services that far exceed any other hotel in Positano. This hotel is located near Restaurants, nearby shops, this jewel of a hotel cannot be surpassed by any other hotel there. A definite for the elite traveler. The decor of the rooms in blue and white have been decorated in excellent taste. It is a little bit of heaven and you will surely return to this beautiful and highly recommended Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner Suites
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeU444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had an excellent experience at Palazzo Marzoli! My husband and I spend our one year anniversary on the Amalfi Coast and chose to stay in Positano as it is one of the more tranquil towns along the coast. Palazzo Marzoli was the perfect hotel for us. Our room was very clean and spacious and we were served breakfast every morning on our personal balcony facing the water. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in answering any questions we had about transportation, activities, etc. The bus stop is just a few steps away from the hotel and allows you to access the center of Positano as well as all of the other towns lining the coast. If you're willing to reach the heart of Positano on foot, just be ready for hundreds of steps. It's a beautiful walk but certainly takes a toll on your calves. Overall, we would highly recommend Palazzo Marzoli, especially to those wishing to have a private, romantic stay on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bollicinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We picked Palazzo Marzoli because it was the best rated Tripadvisor hotel still available with only 1 month advance of our mid-July trip to Positano. We booked the "Jacuzzi Suite" and glad we did. Great room and pictures on website of the Jacuzzi and view are 100% accurate. Had been looking at other hotels close to the city center that were almost double the price and felt we got a good mix of luxury and value at Palazzo Marzoli. The staff was ridiculously pleasant and made the stay a joy. The room itself was nice and clean, solid 4 star - not 3 and not 5. The terrace was huge and the jacuzzi was a great soak for our tired legs.
Speaking of tired legs, that is the one big decision to make when staying at the Palazzo Marzoli - to take the bus to the city center/beach or to walk? The walk down is about 25 minutes and fairly easy if you're in reasonably good shape. We found it was a great way to see more of Positano than we would have otherwise had we stayed in a hotel in the city center. Walk back up can take anywhere between 15-60 minutes depending on your endurance and fatigue level. If you want to "earn" your meals then skip the bus, skip the winding Viale Pasitea (road that leads down to city center) and take the steps. We gorged ourselves on food and wine and still probably lost some pounds on the trip since more often than not we took the nearly vertical steps back from the beach/city center to the hotel. Since it was approx 95F in mid July we were drenched by the time we got to the hotel and enjoyed a cold dip in the jacuzzi. Another couple we were staying with had already been touring Europe for 10 days by the time they got to Positano so took the Inter-Positano bus for less than 2 euro per person per day when going to the city center.

Couple of other notes/advice on Positano:
We picked Palazzo Marzoli because it was the best rated Tripadvisor hotel still available with only 1 month advance of our mid-July trip to Positano. We booked the "Jacuzzi Suite" and glad we did. Had been looking at other hotels close to the city center that were almost double the price and felt we got a good mix of luxury and value at Palazzo Marzoli. The staff was ridiculously pleasant and made the stay a joy. The room itself was nice and clean, solid 4 star - not 3 and not 5. The terrace was huge and the jacuzzi was a great soak for our tired legs.
Speaking of tired legs that is the one big decision to make when staying at the Palazzo Marzoli - to take the bus to the city center/beach or to walk? The walk down is about 25 minutes and fairly easy if you're in reasonably good shape. We found it was a great way to see more of Positano than we would have otherwise had we stayed in a hotel in the city center. Walk back up can take anywhere between 15-60 minutes depending on your endurance and fatigue level. If you want to "earn" your meals then skip the bus, skip the winding Viale Pasitea (road that leads down to city center) and take the steps. We gorged ourselves on food and wine and still probably lost some pounds on the trip since more often than not we took the nearly vertical steps back from the beach/city center to the hotel. Since it was approx 95F in mid July we were drenched by the time we got to the hotel and enjoyed a cold dip in the Jacuzzi after rinsing off. Another couple we were staying with had already been touring Europe for 10 days by the time they got to Positano so took the Inter-Positano bus for less than 2 euro per person per trip when going to the city center.

Couple of other notes/advice on Positano:
1. Getting to Positano - don't try the land route by anything other than car. The commuter train, and connections through Sorrento only do if you are a college kid with a backpack. If you have suitcases pay for car service from Naples airport or take a ferry. We used Salvatore from La Mammola and got a very comfortable ride in a new MB E-Class from Naples airport to Positano for 100 Euro. http://www.xploreamalficoast.it/
2. If you have experience with a motorcycle or scooter then rent a scooter and go to Amalfi/Ravello. Unbelievable trip. We rented a scooter from our driver Salvatore from La Mammola in downtown for 60 Euros per day. This included pickup/dropoff to Palazzo Marzoli. Decent 125hp scooter. More than adequate for me and my wife on the back. Best meal of the trip was lunch at Villa Maria in Ravello. Thermonuclear basil and cherry tomato “garnish” on our pasta dishes stole the show.
3. If you are into hiking then do the Path of the Gods hike with Lucy – www.zialucy.it – as your tourguide. You could do the hike yourself but nowhere near as educational and for 35 euros per person it is a steal. You visit an old abandoned monastery in the mountains and get some of the best views on the Amalfi Coast.
4. If you arrive/leave by ferry you will need a porter to get larger suitcases to your hotel/ferry as cars cannot make it all the way down to the dock. Porter fee for bags is about 7-8 euro per bag from hotel to dock.
5. If you are in your 20s or 30s for an interesting show check out “Music on the Rocks” down by the main beach. It is a dance club literally in a cave right off the beach. Tons of young Italian men dancing up on American girls…not really sure where the American men or Italian women were. Standard US club/lounge music and pay for drinks with drink tickets. Party gets started at around midnight.
6. Best pizza in town is down near the dock at the bar under the Covo dei Saraceni Hotel. As good as anything we had in Naples. Chez Black’s pizza is pretty good too but the setting is slightly more pricey but you get more attentive service.
7. Made one call from our hotel phone to our tour guide Lucy for about 5 minutes and got a 17 euro phone bill on checkout. Not a huge deal so we didn't object, but just an FYI to maybe not use the telephone.
8. Every day we would take some of the beverages out of the mini-bar to keep our own locally purchased cheaper drinks cold. Every day before the maid cleaned up the room we swapped back the mini-bar drinks so as not to incur a charge....however were told at check-out we had taken 2 drinks. Upon notice from us that we had not consumed any minibar drinks, just removed them temporarily to create space, we were quickly credited back the charge. Just an FYI to pay attention.
9. The free included breakfast had the fluffiest yet lightest croissants ever. They were excellent and actually didn't feel as unhealthy as the butter-laden ones we normally get in the US. If you wanted eggs or any protein I believe it was an additional 6 euro or so.
10. Daily Internet has to be paid in cash and costs 10 euro for 24 hours. Wireless didn't work very well for us in the room however the wired connection was good enough for us to do Skype with the kids on our laptop. If you only have wifi then signal might only work on patio.
11. When you get into the room you have to call the front-desk to turn on the AC and set the temp. The thermostat in the room seems to only work once activated downstairs.
stairs.

Room Tip: Get the Jacuzzi Suite
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Domain123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very friendly staff, easy access to the bus, clean and quiet rooms with a nice breakfast. Stunning views! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKNYC314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay at the Palazzo Marzoli Resort in Positano.
We had an immaculate room on the third floor with a nice balcony and phenomenal view of the town. A continental breakfast of yogurt, a freshly baked croissant, juice, toast, and a beverage were served daily on the balcony. It was a lovely start to each day....sitting on the private balcony gazing at the quaint homes and Bay of Naples. All staff members were pleasant and helpful. However, Daniella was an outstanding concierge. She was always available to help with any requests. We were thoroughly delighted with her restaurant recommendations and received special treatment when we arrived at these restaurants. Daniella requested tables with magnificent views for us and arranged transportation to and from many of the restaurants. When we had difficulty printing boarding passes, Daniella went out of her way to help us. She proudly shared information about local religious feasts and helped us to learn more about the local culture. Daniella became a friend to us and someone that we looked forward to talking to every day. We would highly recommend Palazzo Marzoli.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

a nice b and b.
not sure about a resort. no bar/restaurant.
quite expensive considering the outskirts location.
friendly staff, good views. Very good customer service.
Not possible to walk back from the beach in the summer, unless you are very very fit.
Hotel transfer service seems to work well though.
Try Bar Internazionale on the corner for an authentic feel and drinks at real world prices.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank GStar1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#9 of 38 in Positano
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
0.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#19 of 38 in Positano
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
I Giardini dei sensi
I Giardini dei sensi
#28 of 38 in Positano
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posa Posa
Hotel Posa Posa
#27 of 38 in Positano
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Agavi Hotel
Le Agavi Hotel
#14 of 38 in Positano
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marzoli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marzoli Resort

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 334, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Positano
#21 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range: $191 - $1,411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marzoli Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant boutique hotel Palazzo Marzoli is an old historic home of the late'' by an intimate 600 A charming resort, an alternative to the traditional hotels in Positano, which is a perfect blend of luxury, technology and ricercatezza.Ampi and light to spaces reserved for guest rooms, all with sea view with bed and breakfast.Il relay mode, in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, is furnished with taste and attention to detail: dominate the whiteness of the wall and blue ceramic tiles and complements '' arredo.Completamente renovated respecting its original architecture, as evidenced by the capitals of the facade and the portal'' s era, the Palazzo Marzoli resort is the ideal location to spend a holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Palazzo Marzoli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marzoli Resort Hotel Positano
Palazzo Marzoli Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing