We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with excellent views and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rifugio degli Dei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rifugio degli Dei
Ranked #16 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
La Plata, Argentina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place with excellent views and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed in Rifugio degli Dei along with my wife, during 3 days, last week of October.
Many things have been said regarding the stairs, and they are an issue if you are not in the mood for walking and climbing a lot. But, to be honest, walking and climbing is an everyday activity in Positano and surrounding towns. The whole Amalfi Coast has been literally bult vertically, so steps and long stairs are the most common thing in the region. Be prepared for a lot of exercise.

But...every effort has its reward. The views from the room, the breakfast courtyard and the private terrace are outrageous. The service given by the Fusco family is unbeatable, the cakes, jams and other sweets home-made by the family mother are out of this world.
The room itself is comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped. You have everything you need, even if you want to cook your own dinner.
The nights are very silent, appart form the birds, you can't hear a thing.
And when you get up and open the room window, the view is breathtaking.

The B&B is not located in Positano itself, but approximately 1 km away, in Arienzo, you can reach Positano centre easily by foot, or you can take the local bus, which stops exactly in front of the entrance stairs.
There's a beach just crossing the street (going down several steps, of course!).

To sum up, I strongly recommend the place, though not to old or poorly exercised people.

Room Tip: We stayed in Afrodita suite, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fercini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
164
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We visited the Rifugio in July with our parents, and our toddler (20 months). We all shared an apartment and did not feel cramped at all. My parents praised the sofabed (definitely none like it in the states), and the linen sheets were such a luxury. Linen sheets on a sofa bed..and they looked pressed too! It is apparent that this family works extremely hard around the clock to make every detail just right. Our son loved the animals, and Simone was so sweet with him. Davide gave us wonderful reccommendations EVERY morning. Dinners were shared on our very own patio every evening. One night we made an egg frittata from the farms eggs, potatoes, onions, zucchini and basil...unbelievably delicious. We had a really special and priceless time here. The stairs were a bit rough with a toddler, but we did it...and for the memories it was worth it. I really thought I was in great shape, but stairs I guess are a different story for me. My legs shook after coming down (I was carrying a near 2 year old). The positive aspect of the stairs was it kept us from heading out in the evenings. We really relaxed, and took the view in. Please oh please start offering half board! To try a dinner from Anna would be a dream come true.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We can't wait to go back! We have just spent a wonderful 4 nights here enjoying the hospitality of Davide, Paulo and Anna - a family who made us feel so welcome. We were greeted at the bottom of the steps, directed us skilfully into a car parking space (no mean feat!) and our luggage was whisked away. Love how they have an electronic pulley from roadside to Rifugio, the only way to do it!

After escorting us to the top of the steps, chatting all the way, homemade limoncello and lemon cake was ready and waiting which we enjoyed hugely whilst Davide took time to tell us about the area.

Our apartment was huge, clean, comfortable and exceeded expectations. It had air-con, a safe and windows opened electronically. The farmhouse has been meticulously renovated with great attention to detail and with high quality.

We cooked in our kitchen each evening and sat on our own terrace and drank in the view as well as the wine! The fridge is stocked and re-stocked with the best. Honey from their own bees, blueberry licqeur to die for, limoncello, biscuits, olive oil - all homemade- and local wine, beer, water, soft drinks. All at good prices, so you must try them.
In the morning ... well, I gasped when I opened the shutters to see the view! I won't forget that moment, photos can't do it justice. It just got better as we went for breakfast on the terrace - there's a real farmhouse feel with the homemade/homegrown fruits, breads, cakes, croissants, juice. Rich, delicious coffee was from an espresso machine but Davide would provide hot milk if required. I loved how everything was served in brightly coloured local Amalfi coast ceramics. All enjoyed with the most magnificent view I've seen.

Loved the animals, so I was taken to see Julietta the pig with her baby. The cats, and the cute Jack Russell dogs were there to meet but not if you didn't want to!

Rifugio is in a perfect location - away from the main bustle of Positano but close enough to walk - 10/15 mins and you are in amongst it all... with a spectacular view all the way. The bus stop was at the foot of the steps, so one day we jumped on one when we were in a bit of a hurry to catch the ferry to Capri. That day trip I'd highly recommend, we had an amazing day and saw more breathtaking sights on the island, taking the chairlift to the very top. Leaving was difficult, but how good was it to come back to Rifugio? Suffice it to say, we didn't even go out for a meal, such was the tranquility and view from our own terrace!

Arienzo beach, immediately below Rifugio, is a wonderful find. Quiet, with a wonderful beach bar lovingly tended. They provide chairs and umbrellas at a reasonable price and we had the most relaxing last day there. Next time we go, we'll visit more places, including Pompeii, but we'll definitely return to Rifugio degli Dei in Positano. It just can't be possible to find a better place.

Just one warning, take insect repellent. We succumbed to mosquito bites as we hadn't taken any. Oh, and the stairs.... you do need some fitness...(I had sore calves on day 2.. but it's okay to stop and gaze at the view as you catch your breath. By our 4th day, I didn't need to stop, it's great exercise and It is MOST definitely worth every step when you get to the heavenly refuge and view at the top.

Room Tip: Each apartment would be wonderful. I particulary liked ours as it was at the very top and so nobody...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful week staying in Refugio degli Dei. Having read all the positive reviews, I had extremely high expectations and did not think they could be met but they were exceeded! I can only echo all the positive comments received on here so far:
- Davide and Ana are amazing hosts and play a huge part in making the stay so comfortable and relaxing. They go out of their way to help you in making plans for restaurants/trips etc and are extremely friendly and welcoming.
- The steps are well worth it for the view, the photos do not do it justice. The location is just the right distance so you do not feel swept up with the tourist crowd but can easily walk in and out of town as you please.
- The whole area is just perfect! All the fresh growing produce which the family share with you could not be better. Ana's cakes are a delight! I loved that there were animals around, if you are an animal lover, there are loads here! If you are not, they would stay out of your way. e.g. You rarely see/hear the three pigs unless you want to as they are very shy and need some coaxing from their shelter. The dogs Sheila and Nana are great too!
- Our room was immaculate, we stayed in Poisedon which had a private terrace as the other rooms do. It was a lot larger than I was expecting and even nicer than the pictures on the website suggest.
STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE THE CHANCE!! I cannot fault the B&B, it is such a brilliant place!!

If you are pondering over whether Positano is the right location, I had the same thoughts. Rome was the only place in Italy I had visited so I had a lot of places to choose from. I am really happy with this choice. Positano is extremely pretty and smaller and less touristy than Sorrento (an hour away on the bus). You have the option of the beach (the one very close to Rifugio degli Dei is the best as it is practically empty!) and endless pretty walks. You are also in easy reach of other towns/islands (Ravello, Amalfi, Capri to name a few). Pompeii is close enough for a day trip, we went to Erculano which is a smaller version and more compact and I would recommend it.

This is rather a rambling review, I wanted to try and capture the best bits, there are just so many! A couple of tips if you do choose Positano:
- Take insect repellant, we didn't put this on on the first day and regretted it!
- Try and time your flights/transfers so you stay at the B&B for as long as possible! Our departing flight was around lunch time so we thought we'd save ourselves the early morning and stay the last night somewhere cheap in Naples. This was horrible compared to what we have been used to at Rifugio degli Dei!

Thank you Davide and Ana for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We loved our time here near the end of our Amalfi coast tour. We wanted something quiet and this was perfect for us - out of the busy Positano but close enough to walk into town (we're 61 and 47 so no problem!). Davide and his mother Anna looked after all our needs and were extremely attentive. The views were breathtaking and we thoroughly enjoyed our private patio and had made our own dinner and enjoyed the view. They were both very helpful with recommendations for day trips and even called to help arrange a cooking class (Donna Rosa - amazing). I would love to go back and highly recommend Rifugio degli Dei

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMwoolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are looking for paradise, you have found it at Refugio Degli Dei! My husband and I just returned from our 11 day stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We have done a lot of traveling and have high expectations. The Fusco family exceeded every one of them! This was the best vacation in our life! Often it is the people that make the difference and the service is consistently a 5 star level. It is obvious that this family really enjoys hosting guests - it shows in everything that they do! At every turn, they went above and beyond to make sure that every detail was taken care of. We wanted something special for our 25th anniversary and we feel like we found our own little paradise! We stayed in Dioniso and enjoyed the privacy of our own terrace, wifi was great (even on the terrace), the room was immaculate, gleaming and much bigger than they show on the web, amazing water pressure in the shower. They are very insightful and engage on the level that you desire, never imposing as some B&B's do. Davide & Anna handled our dinner reservations, car hires, set up our scooter (dropped at Refugio for us) and gave us a wealth of information to make our daily adventures as fun and easy as possible. Ottavio shared his limoncello with us and even brought us to Amalfi when we ran into a problem with the bus schedule. Anna even taught me how to make her delicious lemon cake! There were a couple of unexpected surprises - great safe in the room, ac in living room and bedroom, hairdryer in bathroom, jam packed mini frig with tons of goodies - drink and eat them all, best prices around, located across the street from Arienzo beach (the best in the area - quiet and beautiful). It was a 1 km walk to town. It was great to be away from all the busy "touristy" area of Positano, very scenic and free shuttles for dinner at night - La Tagliata, Il Ritrovo or walk to Bar Bruno. Yes, there are stairs, big and little, with a walkway in between, but with this view, who bothers to count! Just treat yourself to homemade limoncello when you reach the top :) And no worries, everyone stops to rest here and there along the way! This is the perfect place for couples looking for a romantic place and still be able to be active (hike/swim) or go into Positano for more excitement. It is hard to describe just how amazing Refugio is - just GO!!! You'll be so happy that you did! We can't wait to return again!

Anna, Ottavio, Davide - grazie per averci fatto sentire così speciale!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K&E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This place is simply spectacular. From the moment we arrived, Davide and his family made us feel like we were at home. We were greeted at the bottom of the stairs and as soon as we got to the top Anna had some cake and a drink there waiting for us (Anna is an exceptional cook, her cakes were all amazing). Our room was beautiful, with a kitchenette, a wonderful view of Positano and a private terrace! We were only in Positano for a few days, yet decided to spend one whole day just lazing around our room it was just so lovely. Finally, breakfast was so yummy! It varied slightly everyday which was great but there was always lots of cereals, fruit, yogurt and toast and some days there were crossiants or eggs. Our minibar was also incredible, there was homemade biscuits, honey from their own bees and lots of other yummy things, at such cheap prices! Lots of water and homemade lemoncello too! I guess that I should also point out that the stairs were not a problem. It is an easy walk up to the bnb from the main street, however if you are less than fit you can always stop for a minute and admire the view while you catch your breath. I honestly could not reccomend this place highly enough, there is simply no other option for accomodation in Positano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
1.0 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
1.1 mi away
Conca d'Oro
Conca d'Oro
#21 of 39 in Positano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#17 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Positano
Hotel Royal Positano
#38 of 39 in Positano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday House Gilda
Holiday House Gilda
#3 of 48 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maliosa d'Arienzo
La Maliosa d'Arienzo
#29 of 48 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rifugio degli Dei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio degli Dei

Property: Rifugio degli Dei
Address: Via Arienzo 43, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Rifugio degli Dei” rose from what was an ancient rural house built in the middle of the 8 century by our great-grandfathers, who, with knowledge and passion, were dedicated to the cultivation and care of the vast olive groves, gardens and animals that surrounded this special place.Ideal for an holiday in Positano, it was perfectly reconstructed in 2007 and particular attention was paid to preserving the architectural character typical of the Amalfi Coast and of Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Rifugio degli Dei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing