We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Villa Mary Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mary Suites
Ranked #1 of 53 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Loved staying at Villa Mary! Perfect room and location. After traveling in Italy for 2 weeks, we were so glad to have a quiet B & B with breakfast on our own terrace. We couldn't have asked for more thanks to Tizianna!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LV2Travel_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    22
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
427
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was the best place we stayed in Italy! The bathroom was much bigger than most Italian hotels and it was very clean. The bed was comfy and the balcony was breathtaking! Stay in the Diana room. (there are only 3 rooms here) The only downfall is the steps into town but this is positano they are known for steps!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDamian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We went to Positano for our honeymoon. The whole stay was amazing! The villa was located on one of Positano's hills, giving a fantastic vie to the sea and the town. Our own private terrace was amazing, service excellent! Mary is a lovely lady who realy did make our stay special.

I would highly recommend Villa Mary.
On our way home (sweden) we stayed in Rome for our last night at a 4 star hotel, and it did not even compare to Villa Mary's service, class and finess.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurakelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights and had a fabulous time! The owners of Villa Mary were so friendly and helpful, whilst being professional. The rooms were stunning and very well kept. They discovered our bar fridge wasn't working in the morning and it was replaced by the evening - they really look after you.
We stayed in the Diana room and it was gorgeous! A very large room, with a huge bathroom and sizeable terrace overlooking the view of Positano.
The b&b can be hard to find but carparks are even harder. Parking is expensive in the town but the operator will pick up your car from the b&b and then drop it up when you want to use it again. Saves you walking down the hill too. We would love to visit again, but will probably take the ferry or a shuttle to Positano - you don't need it when you're there.
Positano is stunning and this B&B is the perfect place to stay. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMMGirkin
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is one of those places you hesitate to tell anyone about... in case you can't get a booking next time.

Our stay here was magnificent. If you arrive by ferry from Salerno as we did, there is a luggage service on the beach. I wouldn't recommend trying it yourself. It was a little hard to find the hotel, as Positano is very windy and everything is a bit hidden, but with a little help from the friendly locals we found it and our luggage had already arrived.
Firstly, Tiziana, the hostess, couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. She was just lovely. The rooms are simple but very clean, specious and comfortable.
The view from the balcony is so spectacular i literally had trouble leaving the room.
This is where breakfast is served too, which is magical.

One of the things i enjoyed most was winding down the hidden stairs and pathways to the beach for dinner. (This is where most of the restaurants are.) We were given some vouchers from Tiziana and all of these restaurants were great. If you aren't fit the walk up and down could be a bit much, but there are regular buses.
Also great location if you want to visit Amalfi or Capri.

We really enjoyed our stay at this warm and friendly place. Would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMMGirkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Our trip to the Amalfi coast would not have been the same had we not stayed at this charming B&B set in the hillside of Positano. The room was the cleanest and had the best linens of all the hotels we stayed on our 25-day vacation all around Italy. High thread-count sheets, down comforter, embroidered coverlet... ahhhhhh. The room was only enhanced by the amazing view of the town and sea. Our private terrace, where breakfast was served each day, looked toward the sea, but your gaze fell first to the beautiful bougainvillea, flowers and palm tress that perfectly framed the view.

As pleased as we were with the room, it didn't compare to the hospitality served genuinely by our hostess, Tiziana. She greeted us at our arrival with a beautiful smile, juice and snacks, then showed us our room and amenities. Throughout our stay she was extremely helpful with information for our excursions and restaurant recommendations, and also arranged our transport from Naples to Positano and back again in a private car. Email communication before our trip was consistent, thorough and insightful. I mentioned breakfast, right? Well it wasn't until the 3rd night, while complementing Tiziana on the amazing spread each morning of yogurt, cereal, breads and pastries, that we found out she makes the pastries herself! Cream-filled, heart-shaped donuts, bite-sized lattice-topped pastries filled with chocolate and raspberry jam... it made the climb from the beach to the Villa Mary each day (sometimes twice!) worth the extra calories!

Speaking of the climb, yes, Positano is all about the stairs, so you need to be aware of that when visiting here with luggage or just for a walkabout, which is really your daily workout. I think we lost count of steps from the beach to our room at about 770. But once you got here, the climb was forgotten as you took in the view. We met a couple of new friends whose hotel was along the beach who probably never had the opportunity to experience the view we had. Pity for them. In the mornings, the clouds brushed our rooftop, and at night you could count the stars -- and almost touch them.

If want to be near the hustle and bustle of the tourists, stay near the beach. But if you want something special, stay at Villa Mary.
www.villamary.it

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, ca
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Two thumbs way up! Wonderful B&B. Tiziana, the owner, made us feel at home. Breakfast on the terrace every morning, a breathtaking view. Who could ask for anything more!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afarfaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.4 mi away
Pensione Maria Luisa - Amalfi Coast
0.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#10 of 38 in Positano
869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 38 in Positano
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 38 in Positano
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#3 of 38 in Positano
1,249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#1 of 38 in Positano
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mary Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mary Suites

Property: Villa Mary Suites
Address: Via Liparlati 53, 84017, Positano, Italy (Formerly Villa Mary)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a recently renovated 19th century Mediterranean residence, Villa Mary B&B offers a peaceful and relaxing stay in the pearl of the Divine Coast, immersed in a worldly atmosphere of almost magical features, composed of intense scents, warm colors, age-old traditions and deep emotions. Welcome to Villa Mary. Welcome to Positano. Villa Mary B&B is composed of recently remodeled double bedrooms, elegantly furnished with no detail overlooked. Large and bright, each has its own bathroom with hydro-massage tub or shower, hair dryer, air conditioning/heat, in-room safe, satellite TV, and private terrace from which you can admire the enchanting Positano bay. The rooms' ample space allows for the addition of an extra bed. Breakfast is served in your room or on your private terrace between 8:00 and 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Mary Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mary Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing