We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Try to get a room - it is worth it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mary Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Mary Suites
Ranked #1 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Try to get a room - it is worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I m not going to write a long review, if you are lucky and get space then make sure you stay at this incredible little space, it was the BEST of our entire trip to Europe a true gem and wonderful to wake-up in he mornings. Perfect dinner recommendations and helpful genuine hospitality, we love every moment at Villa Mary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapeTownTravelafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
382
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I'm happy to say that Villa Mary is the best place we have stayed in Europe.

From the moment we walked through the door, we were warmly welcomed and felt totally relaxed. Our room (Venere) was clean and beautiful; high ceiling, comfy bed, good shower and a priceless view.

Tiziana recommended we go to Il Ritrovo for dinner with friends. She arranged the shuttle bus to pick us up... we were spoilt by the staff at the restaurant and the food was INCREDIBLE.

Nothing was a bother - on our third night, we wanted to stay in and enjoy the outlook from our balcony and Tiziana organised delivery pizza for us.

From Naples you can catch the train and then take the SITA bus from Sorrento or pay a fixed price for a cab - you can arrange for approx 85 Euros.

Thank you Tiziana and Antonio. I hope we return in Summer!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilFool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in the Venere suite at Villa Mary for 4 nights and had an absolutely amazing stay.

The rooms are wonderful - clean, comfortable, nicely decorated, spacious, nice bathroom, comfy bed. The view from the balcony was stunning - overlooking all of Positano and the Mediterranean. The breakfast is good, a typical Italian breakfast of croissants and breads.

Tiziana and Antonio are superb. They were so friendly and made us feel so welcome at their home and in Positano. For activities and dinners, they gave us recommendations, made reservations for us, and helped us with all of our needs. I truly felt that they went out of their way for us and were just wonderful.

Onto my "but...". Positano is on a mountain, so expect walking up hills and stairs wherever you stay. However, I think (I'm not exaggerating, I truly do think...) that Villa Mary is the highest hotel/B&B in the town. My husband and I are fit and in our early 30s. But we counted 483 stairs from the beach to the villa, plus more than 300 other uphill steps to take. It's quite a hike. There are definitely other places to stay much closer to town, and around a little more activity, so I think the location is just ok for Positano.

That said, if you're up for burning off the calories of amazing Italian meals, I would highly recommend staying at Villa Mary!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wow! We loved Villa Mary!!! We received a very nice welcome from Tiziana when we arrived.. She is so friendly and was prepared with a map and directions to help us during our stay. We only stayed there one night, but she told us of a local festival in town which we really enjoyed! At night we slept so well, with the balcony door open and the fresh air coming in. The bed was very comfortable and everything was very clean. And we loved the fresh pastries and tea/coffee for breakfast with a beautiful view. What a nice spread! Very good service, very friendly, we would certainly recommend Villa Mary to others! Also, we stayed in the Minerva room and thought it was very nice. We didn't feel we needed to upgrade to the other suite. Easy to communicate with in advance and while there! Lovely place... thanks Villa Mary and Tiziana!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HZNoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Villa Mary is by far the best place I have ever stayed. Tiziana has made a perfect home away from home. The room was impeccable! Beautifully decorated with many places to put our things. Great amenities, tv, fridge, hairdryer. The bathroom was equally nice, large and beautiful. The view from the terrace was amazing and to be served breakfast there every morning was fantastic. Constantino was attentive to our needs and kept the room perfect. Tiziana took the time to guide us on how to maneuver the town and transportation. We certainly got our exercise in Positano but the info she provided on bus service was perfect! Her recommendations were also spot on.
We really appreciated her kindness and availability at all times, it was fantastic! I highly recommend Villa Mary to anyone visiting Positano, you won't regret it. Thanks so much to Taziana, Antonio and Constatino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deg0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was my boyfriend and I's first time in Positano and we absolutely loved it! We arrived around 8 pm at night and Tiziana and Antonio greeted us and made sure everything was ready for us upon arrival. They were very warm and welcoming in making us feel adjusted and informed of all the different places to visit and recommendations for restaurants and tours. Tiziana booked two of our restaurants for us during our 4 night stay there and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Venere room which was lovely with everything so clean, white and crisp. Our balcony was to die for...we absolutely loved sitting out there enjoying the delicious breakfast every morning! So nice if you wanted another espresso or if you needed any cutlery for a late night meal, they were so accommodating! The bus stop is right outside of their place once you walk in the back area to go down the stairs..we walked everywhere in Positano and it takes about 15-20 minutes to walk down where it starts getting busy. We absolutely loved our stay here and we hope to some day come back soon! Thank you again for such a wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: the venere was wonderful for us! great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I and our son and daughter-in-law stayed at Villa Mary for 4 nights. Both of our rooms were beautifully decorated. The view from our terraces were breathtaking. Breakfast was served every morning on our terrace and more than adequate. The rooms were well appointed with all the amenities you need when traveling away from home. Tiziana was very helpful and gave us a detailed orientation upon arrival of the restaurants and sites to see in the area. She took care of our every need; made restaurant reservations, suggested car service, laundry service, and helped us organize our visit to the various sites. I would HIGHLY recommend the Villa Mary if you are traveling to Positano. If we ever return to Positano we won't hesitate to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Venere Suite which was more than adequate. Our son and daughter-in-law stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#6 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#4 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#7 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#20 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mary Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mary Suites

Property: Villa Mary Suites
Address: Via Liparlati 53, 84017, Positano, Italy (Formerly Villa Mary)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a recently renovated 19th century Mediterranean residence, Villa Mary B&B offers a peaceful and relaxing stay in the pearl of the Divine Coast, immersed in a worldly atmosphere of almost magical features, composed of intense scents, warm colors, age-old traditions and deep emotions. Welcome to Villa Mary. Welcome to Positano. Villa Mary B&B is composed of recently remodeled double bedrooms, elegantly furnished with no detail overlooked. Large and bright, each has its own bathroom with hydro-massage tub or shower, hair dryer, air conditioning/heat, in-room safe, satellite TV, and private terrace from which you can admire the enchanting Positano bay. The rooms' ample space allows for the addition of an extra bed. Breakfast is served in your room or on your private terrace between 8:00 and 10:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Mary Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mary Hotel Positano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing