We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”
Review of Il Canneto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Canneto
Ranked #35 of 48 Positano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very pleasant stay in a secluded comfortable guest house. Friendly atmosphere, surprisingly cool and neat, large room and bathroom. Leo and his family are excellent hosts. They just know what to do. Good connection by bus with the crowded Positano center, beach and marina. We'll keep a lovely memory. Grazie! Manuela & Noro

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

don't expect any luxury BUT: rooms are spacious and clean, the service is very nice and the view is wonderful (look at the picture with the view from our room!!)

the walk down to Positano is so romantic (go on the left when you exit the hotel, the way down to Positano is longer but the panorama you'll admire is certainly worth the effort)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Losfortunatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

we went to the amalfi coast for easter 2011. stayed at this gorgeous b&b. everything was just perfect. the b&b is very clean, quiet, and not far from the beach (by bus and walking). just outside there is the bus stop for the busses to amalfi and to sorrento.
People there have been very very nice.

Hope to go there again... SOON!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berkeley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My girlfriend and I flew into Italy on the 1st of August, we rented a car and drove to the Amalfi coast where we took residence at the Pensione "il Canneto" for 4 days...As far as bang for your buck goes, this place is a shining star! If you are looking for super fancy and on the water..this place is not for you...But if you like a kind friendly family owned place with wonderful terrace views of the sea and valley with terrific food, then this IS the place for you. I am a person who requires air conditioning, and although the place does not have air conditioners, I must say that they are not required as the evening air coming off the water is wonderful and cool..

The food is terrific, if you want a menu with a big selection, then go to a restaurant. This place makes several terrific things a day, and that is what they serve...you only have to say "I'm Hungry, I want to eat." they will tell you what you are going to eat....and you are most certainly going to love it! Everything is fresh and made daily...nice coffee, beautiful sea food, and terrific pasta dishes. This place is located about 8 minutes outside the main center of Positano, it actually sits on top of the main zone of Positano, with a wonderful view of the valley below. Theres a bus that stops right at the hotel to take you into town, it comes every 15 minutes and is super convenient. The management will supply you with bus tickets, I think they give them to you for free, as I didnt see a charge for it, and we took this bus a few times a day...I can't stress how nice this place was....its definitely not for someone who needs all the bells and whistles though..but for us, it was perfect....

Also, to comment further on the food, it seems that most locals passing thru Positano stop at the restaurant/cafe at "il canneto" as there is always someone eating up there...Leo, the owner/manager doesn't speak the best English, but is an absolute sweet heart, and will try his hardest to get what you need..Hand signals tend to work best if you can't handle the Italian.

Thanks "il Canneto" for a wonderful escape! See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickyexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

the food was fantastic, nice bedrooms and the staff was always very kind. it's a little far from the centre of positano but the bus stop is just on the other side of the road and they've also got private parking which is a great thing because in positano parkings are very espensive. by the way, price is also very good

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_In_Time001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2009

The resort is not comfortable and too far from the centre, without air conditioning

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendi20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canneto, Responsabile reception at Il Canneto, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Sir,
i'm sorry for your review. Yes we don't have the air conditioning, but this year we have modernize the all rooms, now are comfortable.
Unfortunately the distance from the center it's the same, 15minutes by foot, or 5 minutes by local bus (we have a stop in front of us) .
We hope see you again for change your opinion.

Thanks, Best Regards

The Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.0 mi away
Maison Liparlati
Maison Liparlati
#18 of 48 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
B&B Mamma Rosa Positano
#2 of 48 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dimora Fornillo
Hotel Dimora Fornillo
#32 of 48 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Le Terrazze
Casa Le Terrazze
#14 of 29 in Positano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Teresa
Casa Teresa
#26 of 48 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence La Dolce Vita
Residence La Dolce Vita
#11 of 29 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Canneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Canneto

Property: Il Canneto
Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 87, 84017, Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence is located by the main road of Positano, probably at the most peaceful part of Amalfitanian Coast. Being close to the canyon and to the stream "la Cascata" brings more freshness to the rich vegetation of this oasis. It is easy to reach, avoiding the busy road to the centre of Positano and easy to park using our quests parking. The place is managed by the family and one can appreciate it seeing beautifully arranged garden and the most important is our cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Canneto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing