We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Positano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Next2

Next2
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $65
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A gem in Positano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We came based on a recommendation and we were not disappointed! First off, service was fantastic. Marco, our waiter was so passionate about the food that I could honestly taste the dish as he described it. I work in the restaurant business and only wish I could clone this guy and bring him back to work in my establishments. The food was phenomenal and a nice change of pace from the rest of the offerings you will find in Positano; very creative and modern while still keeping the roots of traditional Italian cuisine...which is a difficult task to accomplish.
We had the trio appetizer, tomato salad, cannelloni and the fish of the day. Everything was top quality...the only problem was that we over ordered but couldn't stop eating due to the deliciousness! We were unfortunately too full to order dessert but they looked great. Lastly, the owner, a young woman by the name of Carmela, is super interesting and extremely attentive - It was such a pleasure chatting and getting to know her. If you are in the mood for a delicious meal and a wonderful ambiance then definitely check out Next2.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank natdev84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    217
    75
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great food and great staff. Very good wine list. And a modern menu. Everything was great and the wine indication according to what we ordered were perfect. The setting is very beautiful. We had dinner outside wich was really nice.

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank DiogoAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

One of the best meals we had in all of Italy. Good service And great food! What more can you ask for!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank photo1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very mediocre.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that the owner of the restaurant alone might be worth going to this restaurant. We went to this restaurant with high expectations based on friend reviews as well as tripadvisor reviews, however we left feeling quite disappointed. Our salad arrived before our starter, then our dinner arrived before ever getting the starter. Then our dinner was sent away so that we could get the starter (which was just OK--quite bland---we had the trio of starters), finally our dinner arrived and it was very fishy. We were informed that the lobster was very fresh, but it tasty old and not good.

This all being said, the owner (a lovely woman in her early 30's) was extremely attentive and came to our table to ask about our dinner and then offered us another item or dessert. We opted for a dessert and it was fine. She was very very friendly and sweet, I'd like to sit and chat with her for quite some time actually. But unfortunately, the food was not great. At all. I'm hoping this was a fluke, because based on the reviews, this place should have been quite good.

One suggestion to the restaurant--to improve the ambiance, I suggest using cafe lighting instead of the bright LED/white bulbs, this would add much to the lovely atmosphere you already have.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stacysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
468 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Upscale and creative!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant sits on the main thoroughfare in Positano. So, be careful when exiting the taxi! The restaurant has a light and airy feel and the staff are very accommodating. Every appetizer we had was excellent. The salad was divine and not the typical version you would find in Italy (carrots, corn, dry, etc) . . . this one was well dressed with goat cheese, fresh tomatoes, figs, etc. Really tasty! The fish was also excellent! The waiter did an excellent job of filleting the fish and we enjoyed every morsel. They did not have the wine we wanted, but we were still pleased with the wine they chose for us and it was not a cent more than our original selection. In all, I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Positano for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Next2 also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Next2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing