We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Restaurant”

Ristorante La Sponda
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $85 - $169
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Charming restaurant in the heart of Le Sirenuse Hotel. The restaurant is entirely lit by 450 candles. The cuisine is contemporary Italian, using only the freshest local ingredients. The view is breathtaking as is the impeccable service.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First Class Restaurant”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We visited this restaurant based on other reviews, and our friends made reservations for the same evening! The service was exceptional from the time we walked into the restaurant until the time we left. No detail was left untouched as our wait staff made certain all was taken care of. The wine steward helped pick a very good wine with little fuss. The food was excellent and I'm not quite sure what could have been better, although my meal was not in my "top five" of all-time....I'm not quite sure what was lacking but it was not much. Our Brazilian friends also enjoyed the meal and all four of us had a wonderful time. The location and view of the restaurant is spectacular, and the ambience and setting is beyond excellent. Our next trip to Positano we would like to stay at the Hotel (Le Sirenuse) as well as visiting the restaurant again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    108
    58
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“One of our best meals ever”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This restaurant is really, really good. By far the best meal of our two weeks in Italy. It leaves the other Michelin star restaurant tried a distant second. We rated it highly amount the best meals we have had in London, New York and sydney.

The view and atmosphere are sublime.

The service was excellent and the food superb.

The hero dishes of our night were the fish broth first course, the lamb secondi, the sea bass secondi and the magnificent cheese platter.

We had well recommended local wines by the glass with each course.

Two tips - save your pennies as this is very expensive.

Have a drink at the bar first. The view is to die for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KK_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Truly a lovely and memorable meal in a beautiful candle-lit setting. The lamb confit was splendid, as were the tortellini and risotto. Great bread service too! Waiters were very attentive. Not to be missed in Positano!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It is about the experience!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

An unforgettable dining experience in which the food might have been slightly overshadowed by the magical atmosphere (fresh ingredients with inspired presentations but a couple of misses). Splendid décor (The restaurant is lit by four hundred candles - all real, and all hand lit - every single evening), great service and a trio of musicians who serenaded us for wedding anniversary. Yes there is great food all over Italy so it wasn't the food that impressed us as much as the memorable three hour dining experience and, yes, we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A real treat: the view, the service, the atmosphere, the food!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our evening at La Sponda was so much fun that it's hard to remember all of the wonderful details this many months later. Starting out for a cocktail at sunset on the terrace looking across Positano and the brightly colored cliff homes and the sea was breathtaking, and cannot be replicated properly in two dimensional photos.

The interior of the restaurant is beautiful and romantic with vines growing inside, climbing up stucco walls, columns and arches. Honestly, one of the fondest memories of eating here was the trio that walked around singing and playing Italian folk music.

The service was extremely professional and without flaws. Their appearance and manners were impeccable and they worked hard to accommodate any request.

The food was as you would expect in a well known establishment like La Sponda, perfect in every way and served like a fine piece of art.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Sponda also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante La Sponda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing