We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is about the experience!”

Ristorante La Sponda
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $83 - $166
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Charming restaurant in the heart of Le Sirenuse Hotel. The restaurant is entirely lit by 450 candles. The cuisine is contemporary Italian, using only the freshest local ingredients. The view is breathtaking as is the impeccable service.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It is about the experience!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

An unforgettable dining experience in which the food might have been slightly overshadowed by the magical atmosphere (fresh ingredients with inspired presentations but a couple of misses). Splendid décor (The restaurant is lit by four hundred candles - all real, and all hand lit - every single evening), great service and a trio of musicians who serenaded us for wedding anniversary. Yes there is great food all over Italy so it wasn't the food that impressed us as much as the memorable three hour dining experience and, yes, we will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therese P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    106
    57
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A real treat: the view, the service, the atmosphere, the food!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our evening at La Sponda was so much fun that it's hard to remember all of the wonderful details this many months later. Starting out for a cocktail at sunset on the terrace looking across Positano and the brightly colored cliff homes and the sea was breathtaking, and cannot be replicated properly in two dimensional photos.

The interior of the restaurant is beautiful and romantic with vines growing inside, climbing up stucco walls, columns and arches. Honestly, one of the fondest memories of eating here was the trio that walked around singing and playing Italian folk music.

The service was extremely professional and without flaws. Their appearance and manners were impeccable and they worked hard to accommodate any request.

The food was as you would expect in a well known establishment like La Sponda, perfect in every way and served like a fine piece of art.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelekeWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's all about the ambiance!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Looking for a romantic dinner? This is your restaurant. Looking for a restaurant if your little brother is buying? Definitely the place! Pricey. My husband and I have dined in swanky restaurants in Paris and Italy but never been to a place like La Sponda that is lit by hundreds of candles. So beautiful, romantic and the view can't be beat! The food was delish, service superb and the ambiance is over the top. Hubby, brother and I very much enjoyed our dinner here but they could probably lose the live serenade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came here for our anniversary dinner in Oct. I called ahead and asked for a special table for two and explained that it was our anniversary. They understood and said they would take care of everything and make it super special.
We arrived well before everyone. Our reservation was at 7:30PM. I believe I recall asking to be sat outside with weather permitting. We were not sat outside, although the weather was fine. There were people already seated out there but I assume that because the thought that it might rain they were not seating anyone else out on the patio. Made since, although frustrating at the time, it did rain later that evening.
In the restaurant we were sat at a table for two towards the end which faces out onto Positano. The windows/doors open up. Ask them and they will do it for you. It was so hot in the restaurant we had to open one. The ambiance here can not be beat. If you want romance, intrigue, swanky Positano style then you have come to the right place.
We ordered the following: 2 bottles of water (7E each), 1 glass moscato (13E), 2 glasses pinot nero (26E), appetizers (Prawns 36E) and (Crab Cake 30E), breaded sea bass 44E, roasted duck 40E, 2 deserts totaling 46E and fettuccine lobster 44E. Total was 293Euros.
The food was delicious and the deserts were even better; however, I am going to save you some money with a few tips.
They bring you out a tiny little appetizer to get you started so skip ordering your own. Always ask by the glass otherwise they will bring you the bottle. They also provide a little tray of mini deserts complimentary so skip the ordering of deserts too. They provide a bread basket and a complimentary veggie dip w/veggies. Also, they asked us if we wanted coffee and we said NO but they gave it to us anyways and didn't charge us for it. Plus for your anniversary they will bring out a larger desert for you to share with your loved one so don't order your own as we did. That would be my only complaint is that they let us order our own deserts without telling us they were bringing something special to the table. We assumed they wouldn't do anything for us like that primarily because we waited a while before placing our order after our meal was done.
Altogether, I would say this was an amazing place but if I ever end up back in Positano I will skip La Sponda. It's one of those things that you should do once if you can then you will probably be done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank R-N-JTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“They've thought of everything!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

From start to finish, our evening was superb! Champagne, amuse bouche, house appetizers, local ingredients, impeccable service, white table cloths and candlelight all overlooking Positano. It doesn't get any better! Go for dinner or have a cocktail in the afternoon on the terrace- you will be treated as the most special guests.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Sponda also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante La Sponda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing