We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Evening To Remember”

Ristorante La Sponda
Ranked #6 of 88 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $84 - $169
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Charming restaurant in the heart of Le Sirenuse Hotel. The restaurant is entirely lit by 450 candles. The cuisine is contemporary Italian, using only the freshest local ingredients. The view is breathtaking as is the impeccable service.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Evening To Remember”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was looking forward to dinner at La Sponda after reading so many wonderful reviews and it didn't disappoint. We had the tasting menu and the food and wine were excellent. For a special dinner, I would definitely recommend La Sponda.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DottiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    108
    58
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful dining in Positano!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A good pal suggested we stop here for lunch and I'm glad we did, as it was one of the most fabulous meals and dining experiences I've ever had. Le Sirenuse is a "Leading Hotel of the World" so I didn't expect it would be bad:-) The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful and dining at La Sponda offers panoramic views of Positano and beyond. We were greeted by the elite of waitstaff who make you feel like you and the experience while dining is the only thing happening in the world. The menu is equally phenomenal and naturally, the wait staff explain things in a way that somehow vastly accentuates what's in print. We ordered the ravioli and a fish with grilled vegetables to split. We were then surprised with a gazpacho with ricotta to start our meal. This was by far the most divine gazpacho I've ever had. Then, we received our ravioli course. Next to Ravioli Mimosi in Rome (Taverna Trilussa), which is in a class of its own, this was AMAZING ravioli. We then recieved a nice green salad with tomatos and our fish. The server garnished the fish with fresh olive oil and it topped the charts of the best plate of fish I've had in a long time. This is a truly phenomenal experience and I highly recommend you check it out. It's definitely spendy, but worth the experience. We wanted to get back in the evening to experience dinner and the ambiance at night, but were unable. They have it all lit up and I can only imagine that it's nothing short of spectacular. Bon apetito.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lulugrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Live band at table and fine dining?”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The restaurant is good and has its one star. This is a bit of a surprise - this is my first experience with fine dining and the mediterranean version of a mariachi band which we spent considerable effort not making eye contact with to avoid them playing at our table. The food is good but unneccessarily sophisticated and complex for a region like campania with such wonderful ingredients and simple dishes. This was not amongst are best meals whilst there but the most expensive. Views are great, wine list somewhat uninspired. Sommelier redeemed himself with a winetasting which you should try if you stay at the hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere....average food...”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Since we were staying at Le Sirense, we were totally impressed with everything about the hotel.

We decided one night to "dress up and splurge" at the hotel restaurant, La Sponda. Amazing amosphere with over 400 candles that are lit nightly.

The prices were up there.....especially the salads (at over 30 euros) and the desert....ice cream for 25 euros....($30.00)....I don't think so.

Prices aside, the food was pretty average looking and tasting. For far less money, go down the hill and eat at the restaurants along the beach. May not be as pretty inside...but good food, oceanview and 1/3 the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank awinrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pricey, glamorous, & excellent!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fabulous food and impeccable service. A misunderstanding as to the price of the Pescato Giorno was quite a shock- and I take responsibility for not clarifying what seemed to be too-good-to-be-true. And it was! Gorgeous view of Positano's beach and the sea below.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kirkkirlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Sponda also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Ristorante La Sponda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing