We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant! Good service! Excellent food!”

La Taverna del Leone
Reserve a Table
Tue, 7/16
8:00 PM
Ranked #4 of 94 Restaurants in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $225
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Historical mediterranean family restaurant since 1965, featuring passion, authentic food from local ingredients and warm hospitality
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This family owned restaurant is cozy yet elegant. Had such a wonderful dinner here, with amazing food complimented by great service. Definitely a MUST visit when in Positano. They offer a shuttle service which is a big plus.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank margotbasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (850)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

9 - 13 of 850 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2019

We had heard about this restaurant and it made our short list while in Positano. We talked to one of the Il San Pietro employees at the pool and he said he liked it a lot and had been there the night before for dinner. We decided to go and after dinner decided to would go back a second time. Everything about it just excellent. The atmosphere, the service, the food. Its all very, very good. While you're eating you can look into the kitchen where dinners and desserts are being prepared. The prices are very reasonable too in my opinion.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X7906NOjosephf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

While on our honeymoon trip we stopped at la taverna del leone for dinner one night. This place was incredible and a highlight of our trip. This family owned place is a classic in positano and we were treated with incredible warmth.

We ordered the 6 course tasting menu and every single dish was amazing. The fresh olive oil and addicting breadsticks to start could have been a meal on their own. The chefs combine traditional Italian food with creative ideas to create an amazing symphony of flavors. This food will cause you to pause every bite to enjoy and taste so much so that my husband and I frequently forgot what we were discussing before the dish arrived. The highlights were the beef carpaccio, octopus (we had octopus at 6 restaurants in positano and this was by far the best), lobster ravioli and the buffalo ricotta cheesecake.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

We decide to eat dinner here after reading amazing reviews on TripAdvisor. Call me crazy but I was not blown away by the food. There were a few other places in positano we dined at with 5 star reviews. This restaurant is on the outskirts of positano and driver will pick you up on the outside of town but not from your hotel.

We enjoyed a pizza that was tasty. The fish Ragu pasta was fine, but very salty. My husband had a lamb dish which was much different than he expected and was not crazy about. The atmosphere is nice. In hindsight we may should have ordered zucchini flower appetizer as I read that this dish was great. Unfortunately I would not go back as I did not love the food and location is somewhat inconvenient.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank beth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giuseppe_Guida_Leone, Direttore at La Taverna del Leone, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2019

Dear Beth,

Thank you very much for the time you invested in coming to our restaurant and to rate us. Your feedback is very important to us and it helps us improve every time!

Regarding your points, I am very sorry you did not enjoy some our our signatures. The tagliolini with fish ragout is a classic, and we already addressed the issue with the chef about the excessive saltiness. Please accept our apologies for that but, in the meanwhile, we also remember you did finish the whole plate and did not express any criticism at our questions. We could have easily prepared another plate for you...

As for the lamb, the menu clearly says "Low-temperature lamb shoulder, peppermint blue potatoes", suggesting a low-temperature cooked piece of meat, thus tender and soft. What was not clear in that? If you help us understand, we could change and improve in the future. Also, what did he not like about it? Our regular guests have always expressed great appreciation for this plate.

The location is unconvenient, very true, that is why we offer a shuttle service from the edge of town and that is why we try to give our best every day to deliver the best experience to our guests and to reward them from the "journey" they overtook to arrive. I am very sorry this did not happen to you but, at the same time, I do think we could have improved your meal if you had opened yourself more to our service staff and if you had expressed these criticisms on the same night.

Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

Our best meal in Positano! Do yourself a favor and trust in the chef with the 4 or 5 or 6-course selection. It's very affordable and just what you want. Tell your server your preferences and they will customize the most amazing meal for you. Every bite was heavenly. We sat right in front of the kitchen and watched the chefs prepare every meal so gracefully. Our waiter was awesome! Great service, great food!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelTater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna del Leone also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast

Been to La Taverna del Leone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing